We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Hickory Run State Park
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in White Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

There are many trails, for all levels. The park office us extremely helpful and Boulder Field is a must see!

Helpful?
Thank nikidee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    103
    18
    3
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bit of a drive to get there, and not clear from any maps WHERE exactly in the park Boulder Lake it is (it's a big park - by UK standards at any rate!) so takes a while to get there. Amazing sight when you come out of the forest and find the boulders right there in front of you. Well worth a vist.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Beautiful hikes”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

There are a variety of hikes in the park, some challenging, others relaxing. Especially like it when the waterfall has a lot of water in it, great sound!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Upstatelakelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osseo, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“I'm impressed”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a NICE state park. We have pretty nice state parks home here in WI, and I'm usually disappointed in other states, but not this time. The gal in the park office was very friendly and helpful and gave us a free park map. The port-a-potties at the office were clean and about as nice as a plastic outhouse can be, and the restroom/shower facilities at the campground by the CCC dam were really nice. We hiked the Shades of Death trail, Beach trail, Boulder Field trail, and Hawk Falls (x2). All trails were well marked and easy to follow. Boulder Field is pretty impressive, and if you're not up to the hike (6.6 miles round trip according to my GPS), you can drive right to it. I've seen more impressive boulder fields in the Colorado Rockies, but those are at the end of two hours on rough roads and 3 hours of hiking to nearly 12000 feet.

We also played two rounds at the park's 18-hole disc golf course, which is really well laid out, scenic, well maintained, and challenging yet fair. We could easily have spent our entire week of vacation in this park and not felt like we were missing anything.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Boulder Field is a lot of fun”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We go to boulder field to climb around when we visit the area. The drive in is nice and it is fun to climb around. There are some nice stops in and out of the park, including one really pretty pond.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CMennig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hickory Run State Park also viewed

Lake Harmony, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
Wilkes-Barre, Luzerne County
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Hickory Run State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing