We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel but close to highway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean hotel but close to highway”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

This is a nice relatively new hotel and has very clean rooms. No problems at all with the stay.. Conveniently located close to split rock water park where we spent the two days.. My only comment is that our room was close to the highway so if you are averse to noise you may want to ask for a room that is not facing the highway.. Free Breakfast was good and hotel price was reasonable. We were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Chose rooms that are not facing the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    76
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
72
46
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

' Stayed here 2 nights en route and back to a tool warehouse in Muncy, PA. (Don't ask: my husband is a woodworker and does fine carpentry...I thought it would be a little adventure to drive across the middle of PA so he could purchase his "jointer saw" at the warehouse site itself...HA-HA)

Actually we had a fun little adventure; however, getting to this hotel was an unanticipated aspect of the "fun." As goes the euphemism in Maine: "You cahn't get theyah from heeah"

Now, I'm an "old-school" atlas kind of gal. Not having one with us, we relied on my pre-printed google map, and on our i-phones. Forget it! We drove at least 40 miles out of our way to get to this hotel.

Later, we overheard the kind woman at the front desk speaking to a client on the phone, explaining: "No, no, no. Don't follow your GPS. We do not have a physical address.... Do not take exit 273 off of I-80, take exit 277..." She then looked at us and we explained our wild goose chase, and she shook her head, and said: "Happens all the time."

Check your map, check your GPS, but by all means, TALK TO A REAL PERSON at this hotel to GET PROPER DIRECTIONS.

We had a large KIng (accessible) room. Only King they had left. Very clean, very spacious, with comfortable bed. I guess we were lucky to have had no neighbors the first night. The second night, at about 3 am, I awoke to hear a conversation next door. Really, the people were not screaming, just talking. I think the walls must be quite thin. Later that same morning: too much noise in the hallway from guests talking to each other and closing their doors.

Breakfast was okay. Hey, it's free. Scrambled eggs were good. Fruit juices, coffee, tea available. There were bagels, english muffins, cold cereal. The only fresh fruits were bananas, which I always find a disappointment. And the only yogurt was the low-fat aspartame-laced type (oogh--you can't have "real" yogurt?)

Pool / hot-tub in the late morning were quiet and relaxing.

For $135 a night, it was a typical chain experience that was cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dctrip96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This hotel was excellent in all respects for a trip with our Girl Scout troop. The hotel looks fairly new and the rooms were very clean. They assigned us to rooms directly across from the pool on the first floor. The staff was generous in letting us use the breakfast area for the group to eat pizza in the evening. Even though we checked out in the morning before going skiing and snow tubing, they let store some luggage until the end of the day. When we returned, we we allowed to use the restrooms and the lobby area to regroup prior to our trip home. The breakfast was good. In addition to toast, cold cereal and yogurt, there were scrabbled eggs, sausage gravy & biscuits, and a pancake machine that made pancakes to order.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_in_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Good value for the price -- clean rooms, nice staff. The breakfast was too mediocre to touch, but the coffee was drinkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators and on an upper floor for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menardjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

The property is new and looks great. But the staff was not very friendly at all. The young girl who checked us in was... um... wearing a t-shirt with a zip up sweatshirt on top, and no, neither of these articles of clothing were a uniform. Very unprofessional as a first impression. She was far from friendly too. Me and my husband asked if our room had a King size bed, and she told us they were sold out of King size rooms and that our room had two queen beds. We looked it up on the website and it said that they had Kings available, it was just that they only had King suites. Why couldn't she just tell us that instead of rudely telling us no??

The room was very clean though, kudos to the housekeepers. The bathroom was really great, and such a nice and relaxing shower. The whole room had high ceilings, which was also very nice and made it seem bigger. The beds were alright, not as comfy as I would have liked. The only thing about the room that really bothered me was the door frame had a gap from where the door met with it, so in the middle of the night I woke up to a bright light shining into our room from the hallway. It helped so I didn't walk into any walls on my way to the bathroom but it was kind of annoying when I was trying to fall back asleep.

Breakfast was good and the breakfast attendant was the nicest lady at the hotel. She was friendly to everyone and kept everything well stocked, even bringing more items out at 9:30 (when breakfast was supposed to be closing) because there were more people eating. So when I gave my service rating, I was not including the breakfast lady! She gets five stars!

Room Tip: Try to get a room that isn't too close to the lobby. Breakfast starts at 6:30 am and it got pret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveler9925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel was one of the cleanest I've ever been to. However, the majority of the Staff (on ALL levels) was UNWELCOMING, and VERY unfriendly! No greeting, no "hello", just stern looks! Here are the exceptions: the woman who regularly runs the weekday breakfast station was WONDERFUL!!; and the young lady on the late evening shift was kind also. Now, if good manners do not matter to you, then here's your place! Also, the pool was being repaired, and was supposed to be finished while we were there, but they pushed the date back a couple of times (call before you book!!). Well, we refused to pay their salaries one more day, so we checked out early and went to another area for a good hotel!!

Room Tip: We looked at a suite, which had a "fire-place" -- it didn't appear to be a real fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Clean, (typical) great HIE beds & bedding. Bathrooms immaculate & well stocked. Mirrored closed door squeaked awfully when opened. Was tempted to go out and get can of 4&1 oil! Heat/Air worked fine and relatively quiet. However as previous reviewers noted the walls and even floors are incredibly thin and not soundproofed. Could hear child crying nearly all night through walls right behind my headboard. Kid upstairs (found out later it was a kid and not a 1,000 pound elephant) jumping and running on upstairs floor till well past 11:00pm. Usually don't hear that through floors & walls of other HIEs. Ironically, 1-80 was right outside door, yet couldn't hear that! Go figure. Breakfast should begin at 6:00 to accommodate visitors early rising for Hickory Run & Ricketts Glen hikes. One lone, pseudo-dining room chair instead of comfy lounge chair as in other HIEs. Also this one has no microwaves or refrigerators in any of the rooms other than a suite. 24/7 available coffee was cold after 9:00pm. Not consistent w/most other HIEs in that respect. Updated? I suppose but not updated to the usual HIE standards I've come to expect.

Room Tip: Get one away from the loud "dinging" elevator. Ask for 3rd floor room unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikinghag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Haven
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
172 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
5.8 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in White Haven
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
11.0 mi away
Best Western Inn At Blakeslee-Pocono
22.0 mi away
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
Pocono Manor Resort & Spa
#2 of 2 in Pocono Manor
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Address: Route 940 @ I-80 & I-476, White Haven, PA 18661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Pocono Mountain, a completely 100% tobacco free hotel, the best place to Stay Smart in White Haven with easy access to the Interstate 80, Interstate 476 and Route 940 intersection. Our hotel is centrally located to take advantage of all the Northeastern Pennsylvania area has to offer. Area attractions include Split Rock Resort Indoor Water Park, Pocono Raceway, Jack Frost Mountain, Bushkill Falls, The Crossings Premium Outlets, Whitewater Rafting, Big Boulder Ski Area, Lake Harmony, Jim Thorpe, Mohegan Sun Casino and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing