We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very COLD!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

The hotel was one of the cleanest I've ever been to. However, the majority of the Staff (on ALL levels) was UNWELCOMING, and VERY unfriendly! No greeting, no "hello", just stern looks! Here are the exceptions: the woman who regularly runs the weekday breakfast station was WONDERFUL!!; and the young lady on the late evening shift was kind also. Now, if good manners do not matter to you, then here's your place! Also, the pool was being repaired, and was supposed to be finished while we were there, but they pushed the date back a couple of times (call before you book!!). Well, we refused to pay their salaries one more day, so we checked out early and went to another area for a good hotel!!

Room Tip: We looked at a suite, which had a "fire-place" -- it didn't appear to be a real fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    25
    10
    2
See reviews for
72
46
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Clean, (typical) great HIE beds & bedding. Bathrooms immaculate & well stocked. Mirrored closed door squeaked awfully when opened. Was tempted to go out and get can of 4&1 oil! Heat/Air worked fine and relatively quiet. However as previous reviewers noted the walls and even floors are incredibly thin and not soundproofed. Could hear child crying nearly all night through walls right behind my headboard. Kid upstairs (found out later it was a kid and not a 1,000 pound elephant) jumping and running on upstairs floor till well past 11:00pm. Usually don't hear that through floors & walls of other HIEs. Ironically, 1-80 was right outside door, yet couldn't hear that! Go figure. Breakfast should begin at 6:00 to accommodate visitors early rising for Hickory Run & Ricketts Glen hikes. One lone, pseudo-dining room chair instead of comfy lounge chair as in other HIEs. Also this one has no microwaves or refrigerators in any of the rooms other than a suite. 24/7 available coffee was cold after 9:00pm. Not consistent w/most other HIEs in that respect. Updated? I suppose but not updated to the usual HIE standards I've come to expect.

Room Tip: Get one away from the loud "dinging" elevator. Ask for 3rd floor room unless you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hikinghag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perryville, MD
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The Good...Clean, neat, no-smoking room. Staff is pleasant and attentive. Pool and hot tub are clean. Breakfast is filling with pancakes, eggs, sausage, different breads, juices, coffees, etc. Very satisfying and worth the "complimentary" label. Good, hot shower.

The Bad...walls are made out of rice paper. We heard our neighbors through out the night. In fact, Ringling Bros. were practicing the elephant routine at about 5:00 a.m.

I will stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byersfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after driving around Pennsylvania all day, and wanted to stay just outside the area of the outlet mall where we were headed the next day. We had no complains about the distance from the outlet mall, but this hotel really was in the middle of nowhere. We were expecting to maybe have some dinner options other than fast food, but there really weren't any within the vicinity of the hotel.

The hotel itself was clean, has well kept rooms, and a fairly large bathroom. It is comparable to other Holiday Inn Express stays we've had in the past. There was a pool that we didn't have the chance to use.

Our main complaint was with the families and children of the families that stayed in the hotel. People had no regard for other guests in letting their children run up and down the hallways late at night and early in the morning. We were woken up at night by kids screaming down the hallways and doors opening and slamming shut. We were also woken up first thing in the morning with these same sounds. I understand that these hotels are busier with kids and families in the summer, but people should be more courteous to the other guests and maybe the hotel should try to enforce this a little bit better.

The breakfast was very mediocre, just a standard continental breakfast with limited choices. The juice was pretty watered down. You had a choice of pancakes, bread, bagels, eggs, muffins, bananas, and some other items.

The hotel stay was just as we expected, nothing more, nothing less. It was clean and comfortable, although a bit noisy for our liking.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinPlusLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here Thursday and Friday night this past weekend for a quick Pocono getaway with our 2 boys. The hotel is centrally located for many different activities in the Poconos, and with it being located basically at the intersection of the PA Turnpike and I-80, the access is great. We did Camelbeach one day (a 35-minute ride), and Ricketts Glen State Park the next day (a 70-minute ride).

The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our room was spotlessly clean as were the bathroom and shower. The digital controls for the a/c unit were easy to operate, the a/c worked well (and this was critical on this weekend with 100-degree temperatures), and the a/c was not noisy. The breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. The food was average, but the folks working the breakfast area were very helpful and quick to replenish items.

The beds were very comfortable. One thing that would have made the sleeping better would be to have shades that blocked more of the light in the morning. These shades, fully closed, let quite a bit of light in.

The only down side to our stay was that on our 2nd night there, a group was having a bachelor party on our wing of the hotel on the 2nd floor. About a dozen guys in about 5 or 6 rooms, I'm guessing they were in their mid- to late-20's, partying pretty hard into the night. As we arrived back to the hotel after dinner, the group in the room next to us had apparently been smoking, which set off the hotel smoke alarm. The hotel manager came up and yelled at them, but they then continued partying, yelling, slamming doors as they moved from room to room. Fortunately, it didn't wake up our kids, and it wasn't so awful that it kept us awake, although it did wake us up once at 1:45 a.m.

In my opinion, this was random bad luck (who picks a Holiday Inn in the middle of nowhere in the Poconos to have a bachelor party??). It wouldn't keep me from staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t-chok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Pros: Nice hotel. The carpet in the hallways still had that "new" smell to it. Room was very clean. Nice breakfast buffet. Friendly staff. No noise from the interstate.

Cons: The hotel is actually located right off interstate 80 on SR 940 at exit 277 east of White Haven. I have no idea where the address "101 Holiday Dr." comes from on some web sites such as Yahoo travel. Programming Holiday Drive into our GPS took us several exits west of the hotel, into a gated community deep in the woods. The pool was very cold all week, so we weren't able to use it. The whirlpool never got very warm. Noise from guests in other rooms was sometimes too loud. If you are staying several days, there aren't many food choices in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFBOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We got upgraded to a suite, which was nice. Room and hotel overall was very clean and new-looking. I agree with the comment about the pool not being a major attraction (small and only 3-ft. deep). The spa never got hot. Also, the exercise room did not have any weight machines or even free weights. I think there would be room for a rack of free weights in the room. Free breakfast was good--the pancake machine was fun (although the pancakes that come out certainly aren't homemade-quality). Breakfast attendant was super friendly and encouraged us to take things to go. We would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cdjall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Haven
5.4 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
171 reviews
6.1 mi away
Pocono Resort Conference Center
21.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lehighton (Jim Thorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Best Western Inn At Blakeslee-Pocono
5.8 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in White Haven
453 reviews
19.2 mi away
Inn at Jim Thorpe
Inn at Jim Thorpe
#1 of 1 in Jim Thorpe
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
Address: Route 940 @ I-80 & I-476, White Haven, PA 18661
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Pocono Mountain, a completely 100% tobacco free hotel, the best place to Stay Smart in White Haven with easy access to the Interstate 80, Interstate 476 and Route 940 intersection. Our hotel is centrally located to take advantage of all the Northeastern Pennsylvania area has to offer. Area attractions include Split Rock Resort Indoor Water Park, Pocono Raceway, Jack Frost Mountain, Bushkill Falls, The Crossings Premium Outlets, Whitewater Rafting, Big Boulder Ski Area, Lake Harmony, Jim Thorpe, Mohegan Sun Casino and many others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing