We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Milton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went in assuming they were just standard rooms and to our suprise they are actually mini suites , We were inpressed they had a small kitchen plus a small front room with couch TV dining table and chairs .The room also had a decent bathroom and finally a bedroom of nice size . When we asked about the price we were suprised to hear it was $55 plus tax . We found it to be a great value for the money. We were very suprised to see a actual stove , microwave and sink. You could literally stay in the suites for an extended amount of time .We definetley are going to go back...

Room Tip: Dont judge the location by driving by .We almost made the mistake but my wife said lets check it out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Harry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
We would like to take a moment to personally thank you for your awesome review of the Econolodge Inn and Suite - Whitehaven PA. We look forward to your return visit every time you come in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    17
    8
    8
See reviews for
14
18
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milton, PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We were looking at some motels in the area to stay in when we come back to that area, seeing which would be the best for us and check out the rates. well i said lets go look at the econolodge ,my hubby was like im sure its going to be like the other rooms a bed , dresser. ya know. wow were we surprised. Lady took us to a room, opened the door and i was floored. It was a tiny apartment, really! I was like so adorable. you walk in and there was a living room, across room was a small dining table and chairs, a kitchen, a bath and a bedroom.. it was so adorable. i was like ok, im afraid to ask the price of it. lady laughed and said its $55 a night. REALLY! thats it!? wow awesome. well needless to say i got the card for the place and when were back in the area we will def stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed here for a weekend visit in August. This is an older place, but the people running it were very nice. The breakfast was average (cereal, waffles, and packaged pastries).

Due to its lack of a physical address, you won't be able to find the place with your GPS. It is not located in the cluster of hotels right by the I-80/Turnpike interchange. It's actually several miles from there although it is marked. Be sure to take the directions with you before you go. It is about 5 miles from White Haven and Hickory Run State Park, which is much further than I realized.

I was in a suite, which had a kitchenette, couch, dining area, etc. The room was older but clean and well maintained. The electronic door lock died while I was staying there, but the manager was very helpful about getting it fixed. Otherwise, I had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pedal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviwhitehaven, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your response. We are glad to hear you had a great time at out hotel, and I am happy to hear that the staff we friendly and responsive to your needs. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Couple going to the Wine festival at Split Rock Resort which was close by and needed a night to get a few hours sleep. Management there was fine, not really any problems with check-in, or the quoted price we received with the on-line booking. The price was not different at all. Mostly the problem we encountered was with the room. First of all, it was the middle of June, rather warm weather, and there was no air conditioning to be found in the room, either central or window air.
This made for a very uncomfortable night for sleeping, with a very warm room temperature. Secondly this was supposedly a one bedroom suite, with a stove top and a microwave and a small refrigerator. One problem was there was nothing to be found in the suite to use for cooking. No utensils, plates, cups, pots or pans. No dish towels. Also a leaking faucet at the kitchen sink. Found an unopened small bottle of spring water in the refrigerator, which leads you to believe that the room was not thoroughly cleaned. We had purchased a microwave meal at a local grocery store and luckily we had with us some plastic utensils or we would have had to eat our dinner entree with our hands.

The continental breakfast was not too bad for a smaller hotel chain, with quite a few options for people to choose from.

The condition of the room was the deciding factor in the poor rating, otherwise would have been an average rating.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bosox24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I booked a suite at this motel for the Pocono 400 weekend as we wanted a place within decent driving distance from the raceway with a kitchenette to try and save on meals. I took all the bad reviews with a grain of salt - I feel that everyone deserves a fair chance to prove themselves. You know what? We were pleasantly surprised! The customer service at this motel excelled and the place was clean with large suites that were more than adequate for our needs! The owners are very nice people and go out of their way to make your stay a good one! The microwave in our room did not work - we got in late and called the front desk at 10:00 PM to notify them. The owner promptly brought us a replacement! The woman at the front desk upon check in gave us some very good tips on where to shop for groceries and get the best prices! There are many stores within a 20 minute ride - including a Walnart and Shoprite - and there is a beer distributer, Dunkin Donuts and a WAWA within a 5 minute drive. Hot coffee, cereal, bagels, juice and waffles served up at 8:00 AM. There is also a coffee maker in the room and they supply the coffee and condiments. The drive to the racetrack is about 12 minutes if there is no race traffic going into the Raceway. A few tips - bring your own pan if you want to cook and some paper plates and plasticware and you will be all set!! We would definitely recommend and would stay there again!! This is not the Ritz Carlton - so if that's what your after - choose another place! This is a very comfortable, simple, family oriented motel and the owners are trying very hard to make it right for your stay. Give them a chance - we did and we are not sorry - very enjoyable weekend!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uptownie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2012

we had 4 rooms on president day weekend while printing the direction read the review skeptical to stay on our visit we found the place different than the review.rooms were huge probably we needed only 2 rooms it is perfect place for families,it is very quiet and clean away from major highway though it looks olds.we enjoyed the hot waffle in the breakfast.we will be certainly back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard_myers1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Let me start by saying my first choice for a hotel was the Holiday Inn Express down the road. Unfortunately the weekend I stayed was the same weekend the Pennsylvania 500 race was being held at the Pocono racetrack. I'm not a NASCAR fan and was not there for it. The Econolodge was the only hotel available at short notice. To be brief, the rooms are very old, they have an unpleasant smell, and they are dirty. This is the kind of motel that you would see in a Quentan Tarantino film in the middle of the desert. At check in, I noticed a pile of dirty towels on top of the breakfast tables that guests would use the next morning. I didn't check out the breakfast because I couldn't wait to check out. While the staff were awfully nice people, the hotel is awful.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Forza_Nico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near White Haven
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
Comfort Inn-Pocono Mountain
#2 of 6 in White Haven
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites White Haven - Lake Harmony
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn Pocono Resort
Quality Inn Pocono Resort
#3 of 3 in Lake Harmony
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Blakeslee-Pocono
5.9 mi away
Country Place Inn & Suites
Country Place Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in White Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
5.2 mi away
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
Mountain Laurel Resort & Spa
#5 of 6 in White Haven
3.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Address: 981 State Route 940, White Haven, PA 18661-3471
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Luzerne County > White Haven
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in White Haven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near to Jack Frost, Big Boulder Ski area, Pocono Raceway, White water rafting, Jim Thorpe, Blue, Wine festival, Split Rock, Lake Harmony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites
Econo Hotel White Haven
Econo Lodge White Haven
White Haven Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing