We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Reading
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Reviewed June 6, 2010

All the reviews are correct.....friendly service, great location, comfortable bed, clean, new, nice full kitchen with everything you need....the only things I were not prepared for was that since this was a suite, there is no daily room cleaning service...only on a weekly bases. I was staying two nights. I found this out by calling the front desk asking why my room wasn't made up, and why I didn't get new towels. He told me that I needed to either bring the dirtly towels to the front desk OR they will send someone up to give me clean ones.
Also I was shocked to learn (after being out all day) that my room door did not "self lock" when I left for the day. I had to re incert my key card into the door car reader to lock the door when i left the room. Maybe this was a malfunction...I didn't ask...
Other then these two issues, everything was fine and would stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to your comments in it help us improve the service we provide to our valued guests. We apologize for the inconvenience regarding the towel and the door lock. We will have this immediately checked by our staff and make necessary steps to ensure your safety and comfort. We are delighted to know that regardless of the minor issues you certainly had a great stay. We are very excited to welcome you in your future visit and hope you’ll appreciate the changes we made for a more likely stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 117 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2010

We had a sudden family function to attend in Reading and needed to find a good hotel that was pet friendly. We wanted all five travelers to be able to stay in one hotel, with three rooms and but since two were already on the road with pets, we really needed for them to be able to bring one dog and one cat. The Candlewood Suites came up on an internet search for pet friendly, and when we read the reviews we decided all of us, including those w/o pets, would stay there. It turned out to be a great decision.

The hotel is right at the edge of downtown West Reading, conveniently located between 422 and 222 Bypasses. Because it's right in a nice little downtown area with unique shops and lots of good restaurant choices, it turned out to be the perfect location.

The exterior of the building is not impressive, but the suites themselves are very nicely appointed. The east side rooms also have nice mountain and Reading views. We ate several times at the 24 hour diner a block away, and had an excellent, leisurely, late night meal at the Italian restaurant next to the diner. Downtown West Reading is also filled with good shops for unique clothing, art and antiques.

The Candlewood's little Cupboard store for microwaveable frozen meals and quick yogurt, coffee, bagel, or other snacks was a great convenience. Free interent access in the business center made staying in touch easy.

We didn't use the gym, but a lot of folks did -- we got our exercise walking downtown. Primarily a business traveler location, there is a laundry as well.

About the only negative we can dredge up is that the hotel doesn't have an ice machine because the refrigerators have ice makers, but those are turned off when you arrive. The front desk came to our rescue by having a bag of ice in their freezer, so we got some until the room icemaker started producing. The closet is a tad small and there was no luggage rack on which to put a suitcase. Nor do they have shampoos and similar things offered by standard hotels, but I'd sacrifice that any day for the comfort and common sense provided by Candlewood. We'll look for other Candlewoods in future travels, even if we don't need to accommodate pets on an emergency basis.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willtravel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thank you for appreciating our pet-friendly hotel. Pets are precious part of our family so to leave them behind will be very saddening. We always want to also consider our pet-loving guests to have a convenient stay. We would consider making changes and upgrades from the comments you made regarding ice machine, luggage rack as well as amenities that give a great stay. We hope to welcome you in your next visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2010

We stayed here for one night to see a concert at the Soverign Center. The hotel is minutes from the arena. The hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel looks brand new. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms are set up for a long stay. They have a full refrigerator, microwave, kitchen ( fully equipped with plates, cup...etc) sink and stove top. Very clean and brand new. For this type of hotel class it's a 5 star. Recommend for anyone seeing a concert at the Soverign Center.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler24NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Please accept our sincerest thanks for your time and effort to send us your review of our hotel. We are very delighted to hear that you had a great stay and were assisted appropriately by our efficient staff. We are continuously doing our best to achieve the satisfaction of our valued guests. We are very much honored that you recommended our hotel as a great place to stay. We hope to have the honor to serve you even better on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2010

We stayed 2 nights for my nieces wedding. The suite was roomy and it was nice to have 2 rooms in our suite. Bed very comfortable, room clean, everything was new. The most impressive thing was the friendliness of the front desk clerk. There was a blizzard that weekend, and the front desk clerk cleared the snow from guest cars the next day, which is above and beyond.
The only 1 minor complaint is that the shower pressure was very weak, other then that an excellent stay! We would (and will) stay again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happycamper96Ct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our staff. Your comments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always an honor to receive positive feedback. Let us know of your next stay to serve you even better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2009

I stayed one night at the Candlewood Suites in Reading while visiting family. The hotel is fairly new and the room was pristine. Beautiful kitchen with granite countertops, roomy microwave, and a good selection of cups, dishes and flatware. The bed was very comfortable and loaded with pillows. Spacious bathroom with plenty of hot water and a granite sink top. It was a very inviting hotel room. The lobby is very basic, but there is a small fitness room and laundrette. The items in the "Candlewood Cupboard," such as cold sodas, candy, chips and cookies, were all reasonably priced. Ample parking, too. The front desk clerk who checked me in was very friendly and genuine, as was his morning counterpart. A terrific place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrestoTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

We very much appreciate your time and effort to write us a review. We are continually doing our best to provide our valued guests with a great stay. We hope that will have an even better stay on your next visit at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We stayed at the Candlewood while in town for a concert. It was only 2 minutes from the old downtown district of Reading. There were a few eating establishments near by and many quaint little shops. The hotel itself was A-1!!! Loved it! I had read the one and only review here on Trip Advisor and decided since it was a new establishment it would be ok for just an overnight trip. The rooms were clean from top to bottom and had every ammenity possible. The bedding was o-so comfy!!! Probably one of the top five beds and pillows I have ever had in a hotel! The staff was very friendly and helpful giving us directions to the concert and recommending other things to do in town. I wouldn't give a second thought to staying here again and I only hope that if I ever stay in another Candlewood Suites it will be as good as this one.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caseynicole79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2009

This hotel has only been open for one month and it was a great place to stay for our trip to the Reading area. The rooms are sparkling clean and the staff is very eager to please. The beds are very comfortable and the rooms are set up with a complete kitchen. Like most Candlewoods, there is no breakfast at the hotel but there is a good 24 hr diner within walking distance. Hopefully this hotel will stay up to these standards as they start to get busier!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarinFrisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Reading Wyomissing
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Price Range: $98 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing