We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Reading
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We travel to this area 3-4 times per year, This was an awesome stay! Very clean, modern, safe area, very comfortable, helpful pleasant staff, and cost us 1/2 of what we normally pay for this area. We will stay here again for sure!

Room Tip: There are many in this area, what we normally have paid in the past was very high. This hotel is a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailinggirl4949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We deeply appreciate that your last visit was your best stay with us. We will evaluate what we did, as we want you to always have the same service and have an excellent stay. Our helpful staff will always do their best to ensure your stay wiil be as pleasant and comfortable as ever. We are delighted to know that your entire stay was worth spending. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 116 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Nice place to stay. We appointed clean room with nice kitchen and large bathroom. Only issue was it didn't have room darkening blinds. Bed was good and heat/AC controls worked well. Parking, check in/ check out were all painless. Nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H. Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for your time and effort in writing this review. We are delighted to know that your entire stay was pleasant. We want to maintain the cleanliness of our hotel to make your stay comfortable and convenient. Thank you for bringing to our attention that the rooms may need darkening blinds and we will have our staff evaluate the rooms for further improvement. We hope to delight and satisfy you more on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I really like this hotel. It is clean in every way. This is a relatively new hotel. The exterior is well kept. The interior common areas are clean and well maintained. The little on site convenience store is fairly well stocked.
My room was on the second floor. I had no issues what so ever. The bed and sheets were excellent. The. Pillows were comfortable and there were several models to choose from. All the appliances were spotless. The bathroom was clean. The vanity counter top is a little small but certainly workable.
The hotel is within walking distance to very good restaurants and pubs. There is an outlet shopping mall within a half mile easy walk. Cabs are available. There is a lot of boutique type stores along the main drag, Penn Ave.
One last thing, the hotel staff is very nice and very attentive. This is a nice Candlewood Suites

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

We wish to extend our many thanks for your time and effort in sending us a wonderful feedback. The maintenance and cleanliness of our hotel are always on top of our priority. It is good to know that you were able to walk around to see the boutiques, accessible restaurants and pubs to choose from. We are glad that you had an excellent stay in your room and appreciate that you find us a great performing Candlewood Suites hotel. We hoe to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights and I had no issues. I came across some others concerns of thin walls but I did not experience that. I did have a room that faced the railroad and interstate but the noise was minimal and did not impact my sleep at all.

Another comment was no breakfast was offered, I have never received breakfast at a Candlewood and I think this has to do with it being set up as an extended stay, although others still offer a breakfast- no biggie for me.

Rooms were nice and clean, staff was courteous, and really what more can you ask for. Decent workout room also. Overall, good stay and would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhioGuy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations with regards to the breakfast. We will have this concern of your forwarded to the staff and see what upgrades can be done with breakfast options. However, we are delighted to read that you found the staff and the rooms to be pleasant. We are very proud of our staff and it is lovely to receive kind feedback about how they made your already special day that little bit extra special. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for six days recently. Staff is very friendly and helpful Rooms are very nice, and come with full kitchens and refrigerators, which is nice when you are there for an extended stay. Only minor complaint I would have is floors and walls seem a little thin. It was never a mystery what the folks next to or above me were doing or watching on TV. Also found it just a little odd you had to empty your own trash ad get your own towels, but it was a minor inconvenience. Easy access to route 222, Reading Hospital, and several nice restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaceTrackHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for your taking the time to post a review of your experience at The Candlewood Suites. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding the friendly, helpful service that you received. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and we are delighted to know that you truly valued the attentions you received from the staff. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Candlewood Suites Reading in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visit this area on a somewhat regular basis to see family and have been sorely disappointed by pet friendly accommodations in the Wyomissing area. When I saw this hotel, I was eager to try it out, and I was very pleased with the outcome.
This hotel is only a few years old, which is always good. I am a bit of clean freak when it comes to hotels, and I found this one to be pretty good. I also thought the mattress was more comfortable than in many hotels.
The suite we had was not huge, but it was a good size. Also the bathroom was larger than I usually see in hotels. The suite included a full sized refrigerator, small cook top, microwave and dishwasher. This would be really great for extended length visits.
They do not have a complimentary breakfast here, but that wasn't a big deal for us. We often don't eat the complimentary breakfasts, and find them to be cheap and unappealing. There is free coffee available in the snack room. And there are inexpensive breakfast items you can purchase for breakfast, and snacks. I liked this set up just fine.
The staff at the desk were friendly.
I especially liked that you are not "penalized" for having a pet. In some pet friendly hotels, it seems they stick the pet owners in the worst and most run down rooms which I find insulting. Here, the room was a nice, normal room. There is a pet fee which was $75 for the entire visit. It may be steep if you are only staying one day. But many hotels charge a pet fee by the day, so if you are staying several days, as we were, it averages out to be ok.
I was initially worried about the location being so close to Reading, but in the end it seemed pretty safe, and we didn't have any issues.
All in all I was very pleased with this hotel and I will definitely stay here again the next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluemoonsymphony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us your review and thank you also for your positive comments. Your summary is very detailed surprisingly and we are very glad you enjoyed our amenities, staff and views! Once again, thank you for taking time to let us know your feedback…it means a lot to the entire staff. Your dear pets are always part of the excellent service delivery that we want you to experience. We appreciate the kind words and your willingness to stay here on your next visit. We hope that you and your family will come see us again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

My family and I stayed here to go to Kozair's Christmas Village. Check-in was easy and they had our room ready for us early. The staff was super friendly and very easy to talk to. The room was clean and spacious enough for us. My only complaint about this hotel is that they do not offer a Continential Breakfast. That may be asking for too much, but I feel that offering a breakfast has just become the industry norm. They do offer a snack store that is located in the lobby. It has the basic items to satisfy a snack craving. Just a short walk on the main drag are many restaurants, coffee shops and diners to eat at as well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjtravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMCandlewoodReading, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Reading, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback following your recent stay with us. We would like to send our deepest and sincere apology about the breakfast as we didn’t meet your expectations. As a much-valued guest, your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide .We are delighted to read that you found your room to be immaculate. It is always so pleasing to know that our staff build rapports with our guests, so that they feel comfortable when they stay with us. Again we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Reading
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Wyomissing
1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Reading
3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Reading Wyomissing
1.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
#1 of 7 in Wyomissing
744 reviews
2.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Reading Wyomissing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Reading

Address: 55 S 3rd Ave, West Reading, PA 19611-1246
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Reading
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in West Reading
Price Range: $97 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Reading 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We know what you need. Extended-stay travelers play by different rules and need a hotel that understands your unique needs. The Candlewood Suites, Reading, PA is designed with your travel needs in mind. Just minutes from downtown Reading and many local businesses such as Reading Hospital & Medical Center, Alvernia and Albright Colleges, we offer the amenities that make you feel at home. Our hotel features fully equipped suites with kitchens, room to spread out, space to work and space to relax. Plus, there's great shopping, dining and exciting entertainment at VF Outlet Village, Sovereign Center, and Goggleworks Center for the Arts just a short drive away. Stroll down Penn Avenue and experience the many unique shops and restaurants in West Reading. When it's time to get connected we know what you need free high speed Internet, cable, sports, and movie channels. And when you need to burn some energy the fully equipped fitness center will help melt the stress away. When you come to Reading, PA we know what you need. The Candlewood Suites is your best stay for a week, a month, or even a year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Reading Hotel West Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing