We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Newton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 West Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Haslett, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Very Friendly Place”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This B&B is literally right alongside the GAP trail, and walking distance from a decent enough eatery, so it could not be more convenient. The host was extraordinarily friendly and fun to chat with, and she made a delicious and filling breakfast right on time in the morning. The room was tidy and clean, although it did smell a bit musty. My travel companion's room did not have that issue, so that might have been a recent development isolated to just the one room. The only bothersome issue was that the town warning siren went off at around 5:30 am, and it was so loud it woke the whole house up (it probably woke the whole town up)! I thought there must be a tornado or a fire, but whatever it was, it wasn't either of those. I wouldn't expect this to be a normal occurrence at that hour, and I think any B&B in this town would suffer from the same issue. But overall, this was a very good place to stay, and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid #2 due to the musty smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdewaal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissMary55, Owner at Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. My apologies for the damp smell. I will be checking that regularly and making sure the window is closed when it's damp outside.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    21
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
38
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This was my first stay at this B&B. The premises were clean and neat. Easy walking distance to restaurants and drug store. Nice and quiet neighborhood with B&B positioned right along the Great Allegheny Passage Trail. The host was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but not a wow. Cons to this B&B were that the common bath had very sensitive shower handles that could leave you with a stream of cold water if you shifted a fraction too far and the shower head shot water up over the top of the shower curtain. Pricing seemed a little high.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stickbuilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This B&B could not be more convenient for GAP cyclists. Just opposite the W. Newton trail visitors' center, it is maybe about 25' feet from the trail. We stayed in the original house, which is spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. Our upstairs bedroom had a private bath. After a hearty breakfast of oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, juice, coffee, we were ready to tackle the last miles of our return to Pgh. Overnight, our bikes were safely stored in a well equipped garage, complete with garden hose and bike pump. Mary Lou was a gracious and kind hostess in all respects. I'd gladly stay at Bright Morning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

House was clean. Service was excellent. One problem. I could not find 1 smoke detector in the entire house. Sleeping people need the protection of smoke detectors!!!!!! I hope this review brings this issue to the attention of the proprieters and it gets corrected.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jrd7791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissMary55, Owner at Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
All of our guest rooms now have smoke detectors. Your safety does matter to us and you got my full attention. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My sister and I stayed at Bright Morning B & B twice, the first and then the last night while bicycling the GAP trail from Pittsburgh to Cumberland, MD. Rob and Mary Lou were terrific hosts. The first day it rained almost the entire day and they were most welcoming upon our arrival and got us set up so we could hose our bikes down and take care of our soggy clothes. Our sleep was great and the breakfast was a great presentation and delicious. Our second stay there the sun was out and I was able to sit on the porch and watch the people go by on the GAP trail. Wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Mary Lou & Rob have done a fantastic job remodeling the house next to their original B&B. We had the pleasure of staying at the newly open Annex Inn during our overnight bicycle trip on the Great Allegheny Passage from the Point in Pittsburgh to Ohiopyle. The entire house had a very charming & welcoming feel. We felt right at home from the moment we stepped in the front door. The rooms in the Annex Inn are warm & comfortable. After a day on the trail the first thing I wanted to do was take a shower. I was not disappointed. The shower was warm, the water pressure was perfect. We slept like babies in the comfortable bed. Their breakfast was the perfect way to fuel up for the ride to Ohiopyle. This was not our first stay at the Bright Morning & it will definitely not be our last.

For anyone wanting to experience the GAP, the Bright Morning B&B and the Annex Inn in West Newton is the perfect place to stay for a Pittsburgh out and back. Pedal to West Newton, spend the night, & pedal back to the 'burgh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiYaLater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My husband and I biked the PA side of the GAP for the first time this June. We stayed at several B&B's this was a great choice. It was just a few feet from the bike trail. There was a nice restaurant and several stores within walking distance. The hosts were very friendly but we didn't see too much of them -they let you have your privacy.We stayed in the Aryes Room. It was clean and the bed comfortable there was a private bath attached. There is no air-conditioning but the ceiling fan was nice and kept the room cool.The breakfast was homemade and tasted good we had poached eggs on a slice of very thick french toast and bacon. We chained our bikes under their back porch. I think they are revising their web site so the info was a little hard to find but it was worth calling!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValB304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Newton
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 7 in Belle Vernon
69 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Belle Vernon
Hampton Inn Belle Vernon
#1 of 7 in Belle Vernon
318 reviews
19.8 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
No photo provided
Clarion Inn Belle Vernon
#5 of 7 in Belle Vernon
2 reviews
16.3 mi away
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
Connellsville Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Connellsville
222 reviews
8.9 mi away
Inn At Lenora's
Inn At Lenora's
#1 of 1 in Perryopolis
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bright Morning Bed & Breakfast
Address: 127 Jefferson Ct, West Newton, PA 15089-1121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Newton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Newton
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing