We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel and Pet-Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel and Pet-Friendly”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We've stayed regularly at this hotel for the past 7 years, when visiting family in the area. We like to bring along our small dog, and this is one of the very few hotels in the Pittsburgh area that is pet-friendly as well as somewhat affordable. It's gone through its ups and downs over the period we've been staying there, but over the past few years we've found that the staff seems to make a genuine effort to please. Yolande and Ray at the front desk are always pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping and breakfast bar staffs are friendly and do a good job. I agree with lcbooz that the addition of a pool would improve the facility, however it is already not inexpensive at $133/night AAA rate, plus $10 for our dog, and I fear that with a pool it would become even more pricey. The new Holiday Inn Express at the nearby Waterfront is less expensive, but not pet-friendly. I'm a Priority Club member, but usually have to ask for water and snacks. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone traveling with pets!

Room Tip: I always request a room away from the elevators. I do not recommend rooms on the 1st floor. They wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenbeepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear ellenbeepa,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our valued guests, to let us know how we
are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    34
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
42
24
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elkridge
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed here when returning home from a family event. It had been several years since we had stayed here. This is a bit of an older property but I remembered that service was very good here and that they take pets, which I appreciate, even though I did not have my dog on this trip. I may have been recognized as a Gold member when I checked in, I don't remember what was said, however, I did not receive water or anything from the front desk and every HIE I have stayed at recently has done so. I definitely suggest to management that this policy be implemented. I stayed at 3 IHG properties on this trip and the bed in West Mifflin was definitely the best. In the morning, I was a bit disappointed that rubbish containers inside and out were overflowing and the dining room attendant seemed to be somewhat disengaged from his job. I am not sure I would stay here again as there are other hotel chains in the immediate area. I would appreciate hearing from the GM about my concerns.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back of the hotel. The parking lot in the back was not too full so it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth57Elkridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a three-night stay at the Holiday Inn Express in West Mifflin, PA. Our first floor room was quiet, clean, comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfast area was well-stocked with the usual cold items, eggs, bacon, etc. Staff were all friendly and helpful. I believe this property may recently have has some renovations because the lobby and breakfast areas were clean, bright and attractive. We want to give a special shout-out to the maids who took good care of our room for the three days we were there. The only downsides would be for anyone looking for a pool and/or exercise area. This hotel has no pool and the exercise area has a single treadmill and only two other pieces of equipment which I find a bit unusual for a property as large and otherwise excellent. Still, Holiday Inn Express rates a big thumbs-up from us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcbooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express West Mifflin last summer on the way back from the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal while visiting relatives in Bethel Park and picking up our dog and cat at a local kennel in South Park. We didn't check in until very late. I remember it was about 8:30PM. We wanted to hurry to our room, but the front desk clerk kept us waiting disputing with us about a deposit we had to make on the room for fear we might trash it. This is a motel policy which I don't encounter very often but which I disapprove of. As if that weren't bad enough, the next morning life was made very hard for us tourists. The breakfast room was jammed --- and not by tourists! No! The room was filled with geeky engineers having a conference in a room just down the hall from where we were sleeping. And they decided to have breakfast during a break in the proceedings. Where did they come from? The nearby Bettis Atomic Power Laboratory, of course. Not that I have anything against Bettis. Far from it! My father used to work there for many years before he retired. But should the Holiday Inn allow the motel to be dominated by non-guests? I don't think so. The presence of the engineers also made it difficult when it came time to pack up the car and leave. Our Labrador Retriever, who is rather excitable, had to hurry past the conference room.

Room Tip: Stay in a room away from the conference room. You'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear LCargillTucson,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. I apologize that this visit was a disappointment for you particularly with the service received upon check in and breakfast conditions being sub par. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests. We will certainly use your comments to improve on our efforts.

Again, thanks for the candid review and my apologies for the inconvenience experienced.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The hotel is stuck in a drab time-forgot-this-hotel era .

Carpets are soiled; room walls are so thin that a telephone conversation can easily be heard in the adjoining room.

Flat screen TV, but it is bolted into an old, dark chipboard type armoire, which somehow is supposed to function as a wardrobe.

Housekeeping need to be alerted as to bathroom floors being dirty, soiled carpets and hallways that are filthy.

Air conditioning is extremely noisy - impossible to sleep with the unit on.

The fitness centre is a joke. Two treadmills and a cycle machine in a room the size of a walk-in wardrobe- that is it.

The staff at chck-in, are friendly, and that's about it

Room Tip: IF you have to stay at this property, then top floor, away from any trash shed pickup area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PBRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear PBRD,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced over the room and hotel conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We will use your comments to improve our efforts as your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Poor Experience. I stayed two nights. The first night the room was very cold when I checked in and it took 6 hours for the weak heater to bring the room to a comfortable temperature. The second night a dog in the room across the hall barked every time someone walked down the hall. After two hours I called the front desk and was informed this was a pet friendly hotel and that the barking was acceptable. I moved to another room on a different floor which had a very loud heater. There are several other hotels in the area that provide a much more pleasant experience

Room Tip: avoid the 4th floor which is designated as "pet friendly". Check heater before you unpack...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpnyguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear cpnyguest,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am very sorry for the problems you experienced in your room and for any inconvenience caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is my third trip in less than two years for family funerals. Each time the staff has been very kind and friendly. The rooms are clean and anything extra that I asked for was promptly delivered. Breakfast is hot and fresh and there is always coffee . Hopefully I won't be cack too son"

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ofrann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Mifflin
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites West Mifflin
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/West Mifflin
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in West Mifflin
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall
1.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - West Mifflin
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Waterfront-West Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin
Address: 3122 Lebanon Church Rd, West Mifflin, PA 15122-2602
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Mifflin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
**** Please note that our Holiday Inn Express and Suites will be under renovations Beginning in February 2015. Our staff is committed to ensuring that your stay will still be enjoyable and that you will still have full access to all of our current amenities. Please contact the hotel for further details. **** The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites-West Mifflin is nestled in the beautiful South Hills Area. The hotel has metropolitan furnishings and a friendly, well-trained staff. The hotel is adjacent to the Allegheny County Airport and minutes from Jefferson Regional Medical Center and UPMC McKeesport in addition to local shopping and dining. Attractions close by include Kennywood Amusement Park, Sandcastle Water Park, The Waterfront Shopping Complex, Station Square Shopping and Bessemer Court Entertainment/Dining and Century III Mall Catch a game with the Pittsburgh Steelers at Heinz Field, Pittsburgh Penguins at Mellon Arena & Pittsburgh Pirates at PNC Park all only 15 minutes from the hotel. Come, Stay Smart with us, and do not forget our free Express Start breakfast buffet with warm cinnamon rolls and our signature Smart Roast coffee. We offer the most flexible and spacious meeting facilities in the West Mifflin area. We offer a ballroom, hospitality room and boardrooms with breakout space for 10-200 people with free parking. Call our sales department today to schedule your event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel West Mifflin
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Holiday Inn West Mifflin
West Mifflin Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing