We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We never get tired of Kennywood!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kennywood Park

Kennywood Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kennywood is America's Finest Traditional Amusement Park! Located just outside Pittsburgh, PA, Kennywood offers a unique mix of classic rides and modern thrills, including six roller coasters, a 14-ride Kiddieland, and several attractions that cannot be found anywhere else, including the newly revamped Noah's Ark, recognized by "Amusement Today" as the world's best walkthrough/funhouse attraction for the past six years. Kennywood's three wooden coasters have all been designated Landmark rides by the American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE). Founded as a trolley park in 1898 and named a National Historic Landmark in 1987, Kennywood guarantees unforgettable fun for all ages. The experience goes well beyond the rides, as guests enjoy homemade fudge, Deep Fried Oreos, tasty funnel cakes, and Kennywood's world-famous Potato Patch fries! Whether you're celebrating a birthday, having a party, hosting a company picnic or family reunion, Kennywood has large and inviting private party areas with delicious meal options to please even the pickiest eaters.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“We never get tired of Kennywood!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

We are very lucky to live 10 minutes away from a historical and 'super amazing' amusement park. We go yearly and send our older kids several times during the season. It is safe and there is something for everyone to enjoy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingfamily2216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    298
    95
    54
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kittanning, PA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I have been to this park more times than I can count and I always have a good but not great time. As others have said, it is very old-fashioned. Many of their rides date from the early 1900's. They have the only turtle ride (aka tumblebug) still in operation, and some of their other rides are one of a kinds, too. But they also have newer rides, including two steel coasters. They have a nice variety of rides, too; it's not all thrill rides. I do take issue with those who say it is clean and well-maintained, though. Compared to a carnival, yes; compared with one of the major theme parks, it is pretty dumpy looking. The food they sell in the park is pretty good, but the catering for company picnics and such is just awful! To their credit, they do still allow you to take a picnic, but you can't actually take it into the park with you. You have to go into a separate entrance to the picnic grounds and leave your cooler/picnic basket, then return to the main entrance and go through security. As the only amusement park in Pittsburgh, a lot of people (including me) have fond memories of this place, but if I lived closer to Hershey or Sandusky I would probably never go here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Beckybunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great park, Great views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had no idea what to expect at Kennywood. My first impression there was, "umm...we're walking under the expressway to get into the park? COOL!" it got better from there. The rides were all amazing. The food was good. And we lucked out that night because there was a parade of all the local high school marching bands. What an AWESOME idea to showcase them. My daughter was so amazed. Truly a great time. My wife still talking about it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank sabearfan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great park for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Bought our kids season passes and they definitely get there use out of them. The park is great for the whole family. I have boys that are 10 and 13 and they love the park. They have just the right amount of coasters and great thrill rides. My complaint would have to be paying for parking. If you go after 4 there is no fee. There are tons of people who come in later and park in all the paid parking spots makes me mad. My kids love the potato patch fries it usually takes forever because line to to long. Overall great amusement park very clean.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickypercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Amusement park in America”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If you a devoted fan of wooden and steel roller coasters, water rides, old fashion shooting gallery, good food and fun, then Kennywood Park is the place to go in the Pittsburgh area!! This park has been around forever it seems and has changed very little. Sure the dance hall is gone and the swimming pool is now the new old Kennywood but it's still great! The new attraction are thoroughly of this era but there are still two wooden coaster, a tunnel of love (Garfield themed, but you can ignore that. It cool on a hot summers day), and old western shooting gallery, a Hugh food pavilion (originally there I think), and Kiddie land. There lots to do, a great walking park if you don't ride (you still have to pay to even walk around, so you should maybe take a ride on the train). It's always clean and well maintained. There maybe nothing to high tech here but who needs all that to enjoy a good OLD FASHIONED theme park!, High tech is not everything. Remember wooden coasters were the ultimate thrill in early parks, so just come and enjoy something from the past!!!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennywood Park also viewed

 

Been to Kennywood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing