We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will go again, but will be prepared.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kennywood Park

Kennywood Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kennywood is America's Finest Traditional Amusement Park! Located just outside Pittsburgh, PA, Kennywood offers a unique mix of classic rides and modern thrills, including six roller coasters, a 14-ride Kiddieland, and several attractions that cannot be found anywhere else, including the newly revamped Noah's Ark, recognized by "Amusement Today" as the world's best walkthrough/funhouse attraction for the past six years. Kennywood's three wooden coasters have all been designated Landmark rides by the American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE). Founded as a trolley park in 1898 and named a National Historic Landmark in 1987, Kennywood guarantees unforgettable fun for all ages. The experience goes well beyond the rides, as guests enjoy homemade fudge, Deep Fried Oreos, tasty funnel cakes, and Kennywood's world-famous Potato Patch fries! Whether you're celebrating a birthday, having a party, hosting a company picnic or family reunion, Kennywood has large and inviting private party areas with delicious meal options to please even the pickiest eaters.
Dennison, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Will go again, but will be prepared.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We really loved Kennywood, with a couple of exceptions. Our first complaint was that we arrived bright and early at 10:30 when the park opens. Well, most of their rides don't open right away, and they don't tell you that on their website, so we ended up wasting around a half an hour sitting around. The good coasters/rides don't open up for an hour or so after opening, nor do the concessions. I don't understand this?
The one coaster we wanted to ride, Phantoms Revenge, was having problems for most of the day and kept closing. When it was open, the line was loooong. They don't post the wait times like most parks do, and we waited for over an hour and a half in this line. The next time we go, I will definitely spend the extra cash and purchase the "Front of the Line" passes.
The kids did enjoy the rides, and most of the lines moved quickly. There are a lot of trees in this park, which is nice because when you do wait, you are shaded for some of the time.
The "kiddie" part had a nice selection of rides and games.
Be prepared to get wet on the log rides. They were so much fun!!!
Overall, a great park. If it wasn't for them not having their attractions ready at opening time, I would have given it 5 stars.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaileeandjtsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    298
    95
    54
    34
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Middle Island, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

liked visiting where I used to live seeing family and going to eat n park and just visiting I hate the drive to Pittsburgh but when you get there its a lot of fun go to kennywood great rides and great icecream to

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank matt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic yet modern, a unique park with a lot of charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Kennywood is a very unique park. It first opened as a trolley park in 1898, and has kept a lot of fun, historic attractions that you can find few other places, such as the Kangaroo, the Turtle, and the Whip. Their Noah's Ark attraction is the last of its kind in the world, and the Racer roller coaster is only one of two existing continuous track racing coasters; the other is in Mexico.

While they have many older rides, they also continue to update the park with the latest technology and quality new rides. Ghostwood Estate is their shooting dark ride; it uses a trackless ride system that is found in few other dark rides. It also has great theming and amazing detail.

They have a well-rounded coaster collection; the aforementioned Racer, two thrilling but still family appropriate wooden coasters the Thunderbolt and Jack Rabbit, the Exterminator indoor spinning coaster, Phantom's Revenge which is a tall, smooth, non-looping steel coaster, and the newest coaster, Sky Rocket, which is a launched, looping coaster. All of the coasters are fun, and none of them give you that awful head-banging feeling.

Kennywood is also a great value. Whereas big chain parks often charge $15 for parking, parking at Kennywood is free, unless you want preferred parking. Free parking isn't much further than the preferred parking, and if it's a really busy day and you have to park in the top lot, there is a chairlift to take you to the park's entrance. You can also obtain discounted park tickets from Giant Eagle supermarket, and they also have a military discount.

I have been to over 70 amusement parks in 6 different countries, and Kennywood remains a favorite. :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good but just ok”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

First off the best day to go on is a Thursday it was not packed at all and I figured since its late August it wouldnt be too bad. But half the rides were shut down? This made it difficult to rate it fairly. We also tried the famous potatoe patch fries and they were just ok, nothing special. I would reccomend you spend they money on the pizza vs the fries. The funnel cakes were funnel cakes just like anywhere else. The rollacoasters were fun and there was no wait in line as it had been raining all day off and on but finally cleared up later in the day. Another reason for the bad review is I was disappointed to see while the rides were going and stopping the employees were on their cell phones (this happened on mulitple rides with different employees) now to me that is not a safe practice to be set. Last the parking was good as its free so easy to access and not that busy as well. We also seen people carrying in coolers? didnt know that was allowed so if so maybe bring your own cooler as it would save on the cost of food, $6.49 for a frie? Crazy...they were good but not that good.
My favorite ride was the Jack Rabbit. Its a coaster small but fun.
Overall I would probably go back but hope it improves a little.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank AceRecruiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best park in or near Pittsburgh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We went to Kennywood on Wed. 8/21/13. The weather was perfect, the lines weren't too long. They had a parade, flowers/shrubs were all full and beautiful. Clean park, kid friendly. Only negative is the bottled water is $3 ea. and the food is pricey. On the flip side they allow coolers and food so you can bring your own. We did bring a small cooler with wheels full of water, it was hot so we drank all 7 bottles..... would have cost $21 to buy it there.
We had a great time, can't wait til next summer to go back again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dana1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennywood Park also viewed

 

Been to Kennywood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing