We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kennywood-the best amusement park on Earth.”
Review of Kennywood Park

Kennywood Park
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kennywood is America's Finest Traditional Amusement Park! Located just outside Pittsburgh, PA, Kennywood offers a unique mix of classic rides and modern thrills, including six roller coasters, a 14-ride Kiddieland, and several attractions that cannot be found anywhere else, including the newly revamped Noah's Ark, recognized by "Amusement Today" as the world's best walkthrough/funhouse attraction for the past six years. Kennywood's three wooden coasters have all been designated Landmark rides by the American Coaster Enthusiasts (ACE). Founded as a trolley park in 1898 and named a National Historic Landmark in 1987, Kennywood guarantees unforgettable fun for all ages. The experience goes well beyond the rides, as guests enjoy homemade fudge, Deep Fried Oreos, tasty funnel cakes, and Kennywood's world-famous Potato Patch fries! Whether you're celebrating a birthday, having a party, hosting a company picnic or family reunion, Kennywood has large and inviting private party areas with delicious meal options to please even the pickiest eaters.
WV
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kennywood-the best amusement park on Earth.”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been going to Kennywood since I was very young. It is a very special place to me and I love taking my young son there. Kennywood is about traditions and fun...and it delivers. There is something there for all ages, and their kiddieland is excellent as well.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank angelene175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    313
    104
    58
    37
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

The new rides meet the old here! The Potato Patch is great, but be prepared to stand in line. There is Kiddie Land for the little ones and some great roller coasters for the bigger ones. However, it has become very expensive. There no longer is a general admission ticket for those who do not ride. The price of a one day ticket has gone up dramatically over the years. As with all amusement parks, food in the park is expensive. So, it can be a very expensive for families. There are picnic areas so you can take your own food. It can also be dirty. There is a fee for parking, and if you hit a busy day, you may have a walk from the parking areas to the gates. I would like to see the water rides expanded. Many, many years ago, there was a swimming pool. It would be great to see that back again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Irisheyessi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas Spectacular”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went for the first time to the holiday lights display. It was so nice . It was like you were in a winter wonderland. They had cookie decorating, celibrity reading of t'was the night before Christmas. POTATO PATCH FRIES! Need I say more haha! The petting zoo area was very cool. The train set up you could walk around was really neat too. Will definitely go back next year!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PghTraveles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“It's all about Tradition, Families and Friends”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Sure, there are better rides and better parks in the world. But nothing comes close to the tradition of Kennywood. It's much more affordable than other amusement parks. Some of the roller coasters are a bit tame, but much fun, and there are plenty of them. A great place for all ages. Especially good for family reunions and high school reunions. Plenty of pavilions to have a picnic. Good food places, too. Special rates for nightime, seniors and school groups. I've loved Kennywood for over 60 years!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank GardaGal0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, West Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“I love Kennywood Park”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are a forth generation family going to Kennywood. Wonderful place to take the kids and enjoy the day. The resturant food is average, but we like it.

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kennywood Park also viewed

 

Been to Kennywood Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing