We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not 3 Star Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites West Mifflin
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Southeast USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice but not 3 Star Hotel”
Reviewed April 25, 2009

Very clean hotel, great breakfast bar with hot and cold items. The fresh fruit was nice also. Our room was on the back side of the hotel near the elevator so it was not quiet. A heavily traveled road is extremely close to the back of the hotel. If it weren't for being right next to the elevator and a room on the front side of the hotel we would have slept well. The linens were very nice and plenty of bath towels. Check-in and check-out went smoothly. I would stay here again but request a room away from the elevator and on the front side of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SoutheastUSACarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    61
    25
    11
    9
See reviews for
107
24
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2009

We had booked a handicapped accessible room because our daughter is in a wheelchair. We were very pleased with the accessibility of the bathroom. The roll in shower was wonderful for her. We did have to move the small tables from in front of the pull out sofa to allow her to move freely around the room. The room was a little smaller than I had expected, but it was big enough. It would have been nice to have a dining table as well as a desk but there simply wasn't enough room. Our first night was eventful. We had to call 911 from our room due me experiencing a severe low blood sugar. The hotel staff sent someone down to the room with candy to try to help get my blood sugar up while waiting on the ambulance. The next day they asked to see how I was doing. The cleaning lady was very nice and friendly as well. She stopped to see if we wanted our room cleaned just before we were leaving for the day or if we wanted her to come back. She also asked if we needed anything. I told her we were a little short on towels because there were four of us in the room and it was set for three. When we came back the room was cleaned up and set with extra towels and soaps. She even put my daughters little stuffed animal on her bed. All the problems that arose from our stay came from other guests, not the hotel or staff. During our stay a busload of teenaged Canadian basketball players were also staying. They were loud, rowdy and everywhere. Breakfast was impossible as they hogged the food. One woman stood in front of the waffle iron all morning making waffles for thier group. You could not get near breakfast. As soon as the sausage and eggs were set out this group ate it all. The business center was constantly "in use" by this group of kids. The hotel pool and spa had to be closed down for our entire stay because of something this group did to the pool. It was very disappointing because one of the very reasons we chose that hotel was the indoor pool and spa. The hotel staff did speak with the adults with the group after the first day and it did seem to help but whatever they did to the pool they did both days. The breakfast area was not being hogged the second day. They got thier breakfasts and moved on, allowing other guests to eat. The first day they were hogging the breakfast area the entire time breakfast was served. The hotel staff was very friendly with us, despite the fact that thier nerves were obviously getting fried by this group.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCPWonderWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2008

My famliy with two young kids, stayed for four nights. When we first arrived, the room we were given had several problems. The shower water backed up, the refrigerator wasn't cold and one of the phones didn't work. I asked to move and a very accommodative staff member made sure that the new room was in perfect condition, and it was. However, I didn't like the layout. They crammed a king size bed into a relatively small space and there was a couch with a only a twin pullout bed. Also, the king bed was so close to the A/C, that it blew directly on us if we ran it while sleeping. In addition, the room faced a noisy road and we could here the traffic at all times. I was told the other side of the hotel was not much better because Walmart trucks would come at 6:00 AM to deliver, and that would be very noisy too.

The pool and hot tub were a good size, especially for a family with little kids. There was too much chlorine in the pool the first day, but this was corrected and it was fine after that. Overall, the hotel cleanliness was very good. The breakfast lacked much variety, especially with the eggs, but there was plenty of food. The hotel staff was very firendly and courteous.

Overall, it is an average hotel that is OK but is nothing special.

  • Liked — The pool, the cleanliness, and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — The room and the breakfast buffet
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Snocohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2008

I stayed here with my family on a trip to Kennywood and Sandcastle. After a day at Kennywood we went to check in, knowing I had a guaranteed reservation on my credit card. I was told that the hotel was overbooked, but they had a room for my family on the other side of Pittsburgh (Neville Island). This would be a one hour drive without traffic and a 2 hour drive to get to Sandcastle the next day. Although they would have charged my credit card if I didn't show up, they had no room available for my reservation. I told them they needed to find a better option, but they insisted the hotel had no rooms. After 15-20 minutes of standing in the lobby saying I was not going to Neville Island, the staff suddenly "found" a room on the third floor.

Even worse, when we finally got into our newly found room, there was a pair of underwear from a previous guest laying on the floor behind a chair. Not sure how that got past housekeeping.

Although the staff was courteous, I would not trust this hotel with a future reservation. When travelling it is important to me to know that I actually have a place to sleep, not just a meaningless guarantee that is only good if they happen to have a room when I try to check in.

  • Disliked — They don't honor their reservations
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennywoodVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This hotel was above average for meeting basic needs, but many of the "extras" that make it a 3-star hotel fall short of the mark.

The outside of the hotel, parking lot, and lobby look like that of a newer hotel. The rooms are clean, well-serviced, and appear to have been recently renovated. The rooms are not suites, but larger rooms with an area that houses a microwave, refridgerator, and wet bar. The king suite has a quarter wall between the bedroom and living area with a sofa bed, chair, and wet bar area. Both rooms share the same television, which sits between on a swivel base. The beds were very comfortable. My only complaint about our room was that the air conditioner was placed very close to the side of the bed and blew cold air directly in the face of the person sleeping on that side of the bed. There was no way to adjust the air flow.

The pool had very bad ventilation, which caused our eyes to sting after only 5 minutes. We left immediately and reported it to the front desk clerk, who assured us she would report it to the maintenance team. The workout center was small, but had newer equipment. Each treadmill had it's own television screen!

The breakfast was buffet-style, with a waffle station. Unfortunately, the way the buffett was set up meant that you either had to cut in front of someone to fix your plate, or wait while waffles were being made. The food was average, but the selection was good.

There is no wireless Internet in the rooms, but the wired connection was a decent speed.

The staff at the hotel were excellent. The front desk was always well staffed and the employees were pleasant and informed. The market off the lobby was very convenient with a great selection of snacks, microwave meals, medicines, and bathroom essentials. They were a bit overpriced, but not ridiculously so.

All in all, it would very easy for management to make a few fixes and bring this hotel up to a high rating. Even with a average rating, it's probably your best deal in the West Mifflin area (for Kennywood and other local attractions).

  • Liked — Clean, newly renovated rooms
  • Disliked — Air conditioning blew cold air on sleepers, pool not well ventilated, buffet line was awkward
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CafeLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
keedysville, md.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Stayed here on our annual 4th of July trip to Kennywood. The daytime hostess was not real friendly, but evening hostesses were great! You must take advantage of the free shuttle bus service. We used it several times for park visits. We were dropped off at the front gate and picked up there also! Each driver was awesome. They all seemed to like driving the shuttle as it got them out of other hotel duties. You must eat at Linguini's. We had the best wood fired pizza and the prices were cheap. The hotel recently received a total renovation so everything was quite clean and nice. The continental breakfast was above average as it had sausage patties and pre cooked egg patties. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the SpringHill Suites and had a great time at Kennywood.

  • Liked — Proximity to Kennywood
  • Disliked — Traffic noise at rear of building
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4clingans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Don't expect to hop off the highway... this place is about 35 minutes of hard, depressing city driving away from the Turnpike. We chose it for its relevant proximity to Kenywood and the zoo. There is plenty of mega-mart shopping very close though, which is handy if you forget something or want to load up on snacks.

I'd say this hotel lives up to Marriott standards... the rooms are smaller studio "suites". (When I was a kid, suites meant more than one room.) The carpets were clean without stains. There were no funny smells. Our bathroom had slightly worn fixtures, but was serviceable.

I read some people had problems with the water pressure and hotness. We had plenty of hot water, the problem was the cost: whenever anyone in a room near ours uses the water, we hear it!

The pool is dinky but clean. The water is highly chlorinated and very warm (almost as warm as the jacuzzi). There were plenty of towels.

We ended up facing the highway side, but didn't hear any trucks or lots of noise. My complaint was around light pollution... like many hotels they beam spotlights right at the windows and the curtains never really close all the way.

The parking lot feels safe and is well lit. It's a bit of a challenge getting in the parking lot, so be careful.

They did indeed get new beds. Firm, yet soft... in other words very comfortable. The bedding was also comfy. The sofa bed was also in good shape.

  • Liked — Pool
  • Disliked — Smaller rooms
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank advantage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Mifflin
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/West Mifflin
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Mifflin
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Pittsburgh - West Mifflin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in West Mifflin
113 reviews
4.4 mi away
Courtyard Pittsburgh West Homestead/Waterfront
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Pittsburgh - Munhall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites West Mifflin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites West Mifflin

Property: SpringHill Suites West Mifflin
Address: 1000 Regis Ave, West Mifflin, PA 15236-1449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Mifflin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in West Mifflin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites West Mifflin 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your SpringHill Suites West Mifflin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites West Mifflin Hotel West Mifflin
Springhill Suites Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing