We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a let down”

Top of the 80's Restaurant
Ranked #15 of 26 Restaurants in West Hazleton
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“what a let down”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

We were there 2 Christmases ago for a group party, after the chefs had been changed and were extremely disappointed! The prices are high, but the taste of what we got was a real
let down. What they have there is a great view, but unless the chef is again new and a whole lot
better than the person cooking about 3 years ago, forget it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harriet776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced - the view can only go so far!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

An expensive restaurant should be remembered for the food - the view should be secondary! No sides offered except a soggy baked potatoe - salads are extra, vegetables are extra, gravy is extra - so basically for $30 you get meat and a soggy potatoe - the decor needs to be brought out of the 70's and lose the Piano player! Service was good - the wine list was horrible! You have a gold mind here, I strongly suggest you invest in a make-over and bring the food menu up to the same standard as that of the view!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Betty934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Overpriced View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

The view is spectacular with a cozy atmosphere. However pricey for the size of the portions served. The food we did get was very good, with the exception of my pasta which was overcooked. Would visit again for the view, but too expensive for smaller servings.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ldr26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
391 reviews
277 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great Fall View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

The food was very good and attractively served. The wait staff is understaffed...our harried waitress forgot our salads. The pumpkin soup was served in a real pumpkin which was fun and delicious. The bread was soooo good! My salmon was served on spinach with artichokes, black olives and tomato/ fingerling potatoes. I thoroughly enjoyed my dish. My friend had chicken with chestnuts. The chicken medallions were good, but the chestnuts were "greasy" tasting. We did not have dessert because of our dieting, but the selections looked good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gwenrich8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great View OK Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have gone here several times over the past 2 Years. If you want a beautful view in any season this is a place for you to go. Service here is anways of the hightest quality. Unfortunatelly the quality of the food has gone done on just 2 years. Two years ago I would have given it an excellent mark. Was just there last Saturday and again disappointed with the food especially with the fact that you are paying NYC prices. If the prices were 1/2 of what they are the food that I got would be what I would expect.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John41354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the 80's Restaurant also viewed

West Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
West Hazleton, Luzerne County
 

Been to Top of the 80's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing