We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, over-priced, over-and-done.”
Review of Kooma Restaurant

Kooma Restaurant
Ranked #67 of 256 Restaurants in West Chester
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Glen Mills
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Over-rated, over-priced, over-and-done.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We dined at Kooma with a party of 8 on a Friday evening in Lent, looking for a healthy fish meal.
Our party had many assorted a la carte spring rolls, California rolls, Boston rolls and Shrimp tempura rolls which were expertly prepared without significant delay. The restaurant appears to have staffed the sushi bar with a sufficient number of sushi chefs to accommodate the full restaurant in a timely manner. Most of the sushi chefs wore mouth-visor, cough/breath guards to minimize exposure of food (nice precaution, well appreciated).

The bibambopp was tasty and hot but the Korean Go Chu Jang sauce was too sweet, unlike that served in Korea. The soy sauce was entirely too salty and lacked umami flavor. The seaweed salad was too sweet as well. The regular sashimi pieces were cut entirely too large and not of good quality fish for $28.

The atmosphere, although vibrant and a hip crowd, was entirely too noisy and not pleasant for conversation. The drink menu featured many Martinis, however, when ordered they were not available; nor was a standard Mojito due to lack of fresh mint on hand.

The dessert menu was very limited to ice cream and caramel cheese cake. No coffee was available, only green tea. The kids’ drinks arrived in plastic pint-sized take out containers slit for a straw.

If it's winter, ask for a table away from the front door; the constant cold draft was unbearable.

Metered street parking was available on Church Street.

If I wanted to spend this amount on sushi, next time I’ll make the trip to Philadelphia to Morimoto. The check was approximately $500 for a party of eight...in West Chester? Please.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genochemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    30
    8
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia,Pa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

They food was great. Lettuce wraps were awesome. They take reservations and I suggest you make them. The decor reminded me of a place that would be in New York city. Service was good. Would definitely go back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
191 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

007, Wilmington, and Spider rolls are all outstanding.
Service was a mess. Saturday night wait of 45 mins to get food but none of us complained and the girl that served us was very nice so that made it easy to deal with. If you like a hip atmosphere and are willing to pay a bit more I'd recommend it for the rolls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kielar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Love the martini's!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I like the new location, it's a little more out of the way off the main street but it's very large and nicely decorated. We sat in the bar area and had drinks and a quick meal. I love martini's at Kooma however they were out of some ingredient's, which was disappointing, but overall they have a large selection of martini's on their drink menu. Great service, food, and atmosphere.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMK0485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“OK Food. Really Rude Bartender”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

The food was OK. Nothing spectacular but not bad either. But the bartender who handled my carryout order was exceptionally rude. He slammed the card back and didn't utter a word. Almost ignored my presence. But then, to double check, I asked my brother who had placed the order. he said the same thing. I don't know if this guy was having a bad day or if he's always like that.

I called to report the abusive behavior. They took my number and said the Manager will call back. never heard from anyone. I'm not going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NilesD72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kooma Restaurant also viewed

 
West Chester, PA
 
West Chester, PA
West Chester, PA
 

Been to Kooma Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing