We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't agree with previous poster more”
Review of Red Sombrero - CLOSED

Red Sombrero
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
West Chester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't agree with previous poster more”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We used to pick up from red sombrero on a weekly basis. Food was always super fresh and piled high with great ingredients....tons of cheese, FRESH veg, and white meat chicken I guess a new owner took over and the place has completely changed. Quality has gone way down hill.
Very disappointing as this was one of the few non- chains out out here .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Mike. We would like to let you know that although the ownership has changed, the former owners still work in the kitchen and prepare the food exactly as they had. We did not change any of the ingredients or Red Sombrero menu items, only added seven more types of burritos and fish tacos. We will always remain dedicated to cooking the most delicious Mexican cuisine and providing the most excellent customer service! We hope that you can recognize that we have not changed any cooking style or ingredients, because we truly hope to see you again soon! Best, Tom Amodei (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookhaven, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Family-owned?" Not anymore?”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been coming to Red Sombrero for years, and have always loved the friendly service and our favorite - the veggie burrito bursting with roasted sweet potatoes, squash, beans, etc. Our child (5) always adores the soft taco with chicken. We hadn't been here for several months and discovered new owners. Our burrito was still good, but the meat in our child's taco was greasy - not the delicious grilled chicken of the past. It seemed to be mostly dark meat and was decidedly smaller in portion size. We also had a Taco al pastor and the pork was greasy as well.

To be fair, I do think the owners seemed overwhelmed by a successful groupon promotion, as the place was very busy.

We reallymissed seeing the familiar faces at the register (some of whom were still there in food prep) - we always assumed they were family members. Will probably come back and give it another go.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello Lisa. We would like to let you know that although the ownership has changed, the former owners still work in the kitchen and prepare the food exactly as they had. We did not change any of the ingredients or Red Sombrero menu items. We have only added seven more types of burritos and fish tacos. We also will be remodeling the interior because it has not been done in over ten years. We want to only enhance the dining experience that the Red Sombrero offers guests, because we will always remain dedicated to cooking the most authentic Mexican cuisine and providing the most excellent customer service! We hope that you can reconcile the situation you encountered and remain faithful guests, because we truly hope to see you again soon! Best, Tom Amodei (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New Owner- Not the same..”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We learned a month or so ago that Red Sombrero has a new owner, since then nothing has been the same there. He made new menu additions, okay. But every time we have ordered since he has taken over our order is either wrong or missing items (new people are answering the phone, including the owner himself). This never happened before, and we usually pick up food once a week. In addition to that, the quality of food has decreased; they now mix dark meat chicken in with the white, so the majority of your taco or burrito is all dark meat (gross) and the salsas are all thinner and watered down. Very disappointed with the new owner so far and how he has ruined Red Sombrero.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank GattoBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We are disappointed to hear that you are unsatisfied with your visit here. We have added a couple new menu items which we felt many people would enjoy! We have had a conversation with the staff about all orders for no future mistakes. If you would like to give me a call at (610) 455-0900, and ask for Tom, that way we can follow up and speak about which areas you feel need special attention. We are dedicated to providing the most excellent customer service and making this the best dining experience available, so we are open to suggestions. If you would rather email, my email address is thomamo@comcast.net. We thank you for taking the time to provide this feedback and we hope to speak further on this topic to ultimately improve our restaurant for all of our great customers. Best, Tom A. (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Well this isn't Mexico!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Family run...not a chain...decent Mexican but not memorable...especially after returning from Cabo! The specials are usually pretty tasty and the guacamole is good but expensive....you order and the they call your number....no real atmosphere...if your hungry and nearby..worth stopping but wouldn't go out of my way....

Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are a family owned restaurant that is dedicated to providing all of the local community with a great dining experience and delicious food. We want to make your experience the best possible! So any suggestions that you have feel free to let us know. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon for some of the new specials that we added to our menu! Best, Tom (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Ok. Overpriced. I'm absolutely sure there are better choices. The best part of the meal was the different salsas at the condiment counter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LLTwigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We apologize that you feel some of our menu items may be overpriced. We always use high end ingredients with our recipes and look to engage the customer with a culture, and a unique dining experience. Thank you for your business we hope to see you again soon! Best, Tom A. (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sombrero also viewed

Kennett Square, PA
West Chester, PA
 
West Chester, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing