We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well this isn't Mexico!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Sombrero

Red Sombrero
Ranked #106 of 252 Restaurants in West Chester
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
245 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well this isn't Mexico!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Family run...not a chain...decent Mexican but not memorable...especially after returning from Cabo! The specials are usually pretty tasty and the guacamole is good but expensive....you order and the they call your number....no real atmosphere...if your hungry and nearby..worth stopping but wouldn't go out of my way....

Helpful?
Thank Bowlerx_424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to write your review! We are a family owned restaurant that is dedicated to providing all of the local community with a great dining experience and delicious food. We want to make your experience the best possible! So any suggestions that you have feel free to let us know. We thank you for your business and hope to see you again soon for some of the new specials that we added to our menu! Best, Tom (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Ok. Overpriced. I'm absolutely sure there are better choices. The best part of the meal was the different salsas at the condiment counter.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom A, Owner at Red Sombrero, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We apologize that you feel some of our menu items may be overpriced. We always use high end ingredients with our recipes and look to engage the customer with a culture, and a unique dining experience. Thank you for your business we hope to see you again soon! Best, Tom A. (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not bad, there is better mexican in the area.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

With choices such as California Fresh and others in the area, this comes up a little short. It's not bad, so if I was in the same shopping center and wanted Mexican, I'd go here, I just wouldn't hop in the car and make a trip to dine at Red Sombrero. I think Chipotle is better in West Chester.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ken T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We have eaten at this restaturant numerous times and have never been dissapointed. Our favorites are the fresh salsa's and chips and the enchalada platter. We've also been pleased witht eh burrito's and chimichanga. The atmosphere is casual and offer byob.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank gmanonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Burrito”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2011

Haven't had a burrito in awhile and their's filled the bill.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank NoseyNeatnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Sombrero also viewed

 
West Chester, PA
West Chester, PA
 
West Chester, PA
 

Been to Red Sombrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing