We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kildare's Has Great Service”

Kildare’s Irish Pub
Ranked #42 of 256 Restaurants in West Chester
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Irish
Description: A good Irish pub is traditionally the cornerstone of the town. It is a place that can be a destination for multiple purposes, or no reason at all. The publican (owner) should be known to all on a handshake basis. Being involved in the community outside of the pub is a big part of this. From family lunches on the weekends to watch soccer on the big screen, to some questionable dance moves after the sun goes down, a good Irish pub has something for everyone. We have been under new ownership since July 2015 and new Executive Chef Stephanie Gray has created a great seasonal menu while keeping the traditional favorites.
Restaurant details
Description: A good Irish pub is traditionally the cornerstone of the town. It is a place that can be a destination for multiple purposes, or no reason at all. The publican (owner) should be known to all on a handshake basis. Being involved in the community outside of the pub is a big part of this. From family lunches on the weekends to watch soccer on the big screen, to some questionable dance moves after the sun goes down, a good Irish pub has something for everyone. We have been under new ownership since July 2015 and new Executive Chef Stephanie Gray has created a great seasonal menu while keeping the traditional favorites.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kildare's Has Great Service”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped by here with a party of 10 on West Chester University's Family Week End. Did not have to wait long for room to be made for us. Our server Tony was new, but he was very attentive and did a great job. The food is reasonably priced and very tasty. They have an extensive drink menu. All in all a great family meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 64kel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    27
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alva, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Gaelic in West Chester”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Great late night supper. Outside even though we were the only ones outside to be served. And super attention from ABBY.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“a little better than average”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband & I stopped by for lunch. Neither of us knew anything about the place, but it looked interesting from the outside, so we decided to give it a try. The decor is really cool. The place is a bit dark, but there's a definite Irish vibe going on. Lots of TVs (they were airing soccer games). Our waitress, Kelly, showed up right away & brought us our drinks quickly. I had the black & blue (Guiness & Blue Moon) & my husband had the Bloody Molly. He said his drink had a lot of flavor and ended up ordering another. Complimentary fish & chips were offered that day, so we ordered those. We also ordered two appetizers; the pretzel tower & buffalo shrimp and decided to split a reuben sandwich. The menu offers a variety of Irish dishes, along with burgers & a variety of salads & appetizers. We probably waited about 25 minutes for our food. Unfortunately, all of our food came out at the same time. We were hoping to get our appetizers first, so this is one reason I only rated the restaurant as average. The pretzels (3 of them) came with cheese & two types of mustard. The buffalo shrimp were small, but good. We were both disappointed with the reuben, though. Since we were at an Irish pub, I was really hoping for a good reuben. There wasn't much corned beef on it & I couldn't taste any sour kraut or 1,0000 island dressing. The fish & chips were pretty standard. Three pieces of breaded fish with a side of fries. Kelly offered us dessert, but we both declined. Overall, the food was average. It's probably a really cool place to drink & hang out; but if you're going for the food, don't expect anything extremely special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gottatip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Top flight beer list. A little weak on details (ripped stools, sticky bar, spotty glassware), but still a good stop for good food and well selected beer.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank EBA129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexburg, Idaho
Level Contributor
283 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Beautiful all the way around!”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Food was amazing, waitresses were amazing ( we had 2 for some reason) Price was great. The restaurant is loaded with cool Irish stuff... from Ireland. Guinness was great, little shamrock in the foam - what a touch. Ok, we went during the day, so I missed all the negative stuff other reviewers said about, "crowded college bar, blah, blah, blah." I didn't see any of that. Place was clean. It had great atmosphere. I want to go there everyday.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steveage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kildare’s Irish Pub also viewed

West Chester, PA
West Chester, PA
 

Been to Kildare’s Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing