We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late lunch with a friend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Side Bar & Restaurant

Side Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 252 Restaurants in West Chester
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Late lunch with a friend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Food was good as were the drinks. Staff was friendly and helpful. I would go back and recommend it as a place to try while visiting West Chester.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank StateCollegegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    24
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best beer selection in WC, OK food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Unquestionably the best beer selection in West Chester. Bottle and tap selections change frequently. Good happy hour specials. The food is in theory intetesting, but nothing special. Downstairs is often crowded and tough to get a seat.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
186 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Had dinner there on Friday. (Free parking in West Chester on Friday nights) Weather was bad so we ate inside on the second floor. Waitress was very helpful. Noticed other wait staff also being very helpful and attentive to their tables. Nice beer list. Wine list was small but good. Very eclectic menu and lots of different twists on dishes like the grilled calamari. Fantastic. I had the duck which was done very well. So many great options on the menu that it was hard to choose. Would definitely visit again. Bottom floor is a typical bar scene. This is a fun place for a nice dinner or a just pint with friends.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank evansvuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Nice Place for Sunday Breakfast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I were running an errand and decided to stop for a late breakfast on a Sunday morning based on what other patrons were having as we walked bye. Glad we stopped. We had a nice relaxed breakfast and mimosas. Food was very good, service was a bit uneven. My wife's entree was delivered about 4-5 minutes before mine. The staff seemed to be more interested in the Restaurant's softball team which was gathering than delivering outstanding service. Not sure if we will return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EduardTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“an afternoon visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Our first meal here was for brunch. This time we came abck for lunch with family visiting for a birthday party. There were no available outdoor tables as it was an incredibly nice Saturday afternoon, so we wound up having the second floor to ourselves. That of course meant we could control the temp and music levels. The specials and regular snadwich menu was extensive enough for all 6 of us, and there wasn't a soup, salad or sandwich that did not go unappreciated. The second half of my lobster salad sandwhich was just as good the next day at home. Good choice of local and national beers, Service was friendly, timely and efficient.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andrew p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Side Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing