We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has become my favorite place in town”
Review of Billy Burger and Bakery - MOVED

Billy Burger and Bakery
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Description: Billy Burger and Bakery is located off of Rt 23 in Elverson, PA. We are easy to get to from the PA Turnpike as well(Morgantown Exit). Everything on our menu is made fresh daily and on site. Both owners,Bill and Sally McConnell are there each day creating, baking and cooking. The staff is friendly and are willing to help you any way they can. Billy Burger and Bakery has received the BEST OF 2012 for BURGER AND DESSERT COMBO, 2013 and 2014 best burger from the a pestigous regional publication MAINLINE TODAY MAGAZINE. Chef Bill is well traveled Chef. A 1983 graduate of 'The Restaurant School at Walnut Hill College in Philadelphia. Bill was an Executive chef in Philly for over 17yrs and has worked and explored cuisines in Puerto Rico, South and Central America, Washington,D.C.,Cape May, N.J. and more.Please feel free to call us or just stop in to see and taste what we are about. Thank You!!
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This has become my favorite place in town”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Billy is a great chef! Beside the first class burgers, the comfort food is the best. I have been eating there at least once a week for months. Best day was when I was sick and had to go out for food. Billy took one look at me and asked if I was ok. He went in the back and came out with the BEST homemade tomato soup I have ever had. Oh, and don't forget the great desserts. My favorite keeps changing - right now it is chocolate cake with the fudge icing!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 629Phila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best burgers and baked goods ANYWHERE”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

This place makes the best burgers I have ever tasted. The specials are a unique blend of gourmet and comfort food, guaranteed to leave you satisfied. It's a family owned and operated place, and after you've been there once or twice you're going to be a lifelong customer and feel like part of the family. We've been regulars for months, and are continually impressed.
If the burgers aren't enough to keep you coming back, the cupcakes, pumpkin cake with fresh cinnamon whipped cream and the homemade strawberry short cake will have you hooked. This chef and baker husband and wife team are incredible! I cannot say enough great things about this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdcviolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife and I eat here at least twice a month, usually once a week. Billy makes the best food either of us have had in a long time and the atmosphere is perfect. I love the specials, every one of which is imaginative and delicious. I have a food allergy, so I have some special dietary needs and Billy always does his best to accomodate. On the bakery side, everything is delicious I'm told (as I can't try them myself). My wife loves the strawberry shortcake. Make sure to get it before its gone.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh & Made to Order Burgers & Heavenly Sweets”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've been going to Billy's since they opened and the food has remained consistenly good. Great Specials, a wonderful array of sweet treats made by Sally, and Billy's char grilled Black Angus burgers. It's a tiny space for seating - but most good things come in small packages. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IslandJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Double Comfort Food”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Billy Burger serves up burgers cooked to order as well as some delicious sweets like cupcakes and brownies. There's only a few seats inside and few outside when the weather is good, so go early or off-peak. One of my favorites is the trucker burger, which comes with coleslaw and crinkle cut fries on top. The coleslaw is a real treat, tangy and crunchy the way it's the best. Plus, the burgers are made to order so they're fresh. Then there's the desserts, which are arrayed on the counter to lure you in. Don't resist. Pick one out and enjoy. Prices are also very reasonable, making this a convenient stop to stay on budget.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanNic44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy Burger and Bakery also viewed

 
West Chester, PA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing