We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice for small town visiting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Warner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Warner
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great choice for small town visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

First time staying at the Hotel Warner and I was not disappointed. Front desk personnel very friendly. I was able to check-in early (noon instead of 3 pm). Room was clean and modern. Convenient mini-fridge with complementary bottles of water. They have free breakfast in the morning which I did not try. The key to staying here is location. I parked in their hotel garage ($20 per day) but it was well worth it. I could literally walk to every place I wanted to visit in town. Surprisingly it was a quiet sleep even though you're located right on High Street. I will definitely be staying here again for my annual trips to WC to visit friends and family.

Green Features: Awesome that they have recycling bins in every room and participate in the re-use your towel program.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience. I am happy to hear that we were able to get you checked in early and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town visiting friends and family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
55
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Our 2nd time staying here. Very nice place. Very conveniently located to all the restaurants. In fact, this hotel had a discount card for many of the local restaurants. They will give you as many as you want ( you need 1 for every restaurant you go to). They also have really yummy popcorn in the lobby in the evenings.
I was disappointed that the pool was closed while we were there!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dana9880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for being a repeat guest and for writing a review. I am glad you had time to enjoy some of the excellent restaurants that West Chester has to offer within walking distance of the hotel – at a discount. We are looking forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

No complaints here. Loved my stay at Hotel Warner and would recommend it to anyone. Convenient location with plenty of choices for great restaurants, entertainment, and shopping. The rooms were spacious and clean. I had no issues with heat/air or noise. The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The hotel is aesthetically appealing.

Green Features: Nice to see recycling bins in every room. I also noticed the solar panels on the roof from the parking garage. Hats off to Hotel Warner for the environmentally-friendly practices!
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bianca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for recommending the Hotel Warner. I am happy to hear that you noticed and appreciated the green practices the hotel has put in place including the recycling program and solar panels. Some less noticeable but equally important green initiatives include the geothermal heating of the public space and the Clean the World toiletry recycling program we participate in, which sanitizes and ships the unused portions of soaps and shampoos to people in need. We are looking forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
93 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

The only hotel downtown West Chester with a perfect location for exploring this cute and lively college town. Large, nicely decorated room. Comfortable bed. Did not hear any noise from other guests. BUT, I got little sleep because the heater in the room was so noisy. Continental breakfast was included, but selection was quite disappointing. Front desk friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
I am sorry that the heater in your room was loud and appreciate you for bringing it to our attention. We have completed some maintenance on the unit so no other guests will encounter the same issue. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I began to search for pricing & reviews for this hotel on the internet. The hotel was in a perfect location for us. My son is a West Chester University student & has had several concerts & orchestral events in which we have previously attended. We had stayed in the Exton area previously (8-10 miles away) & decided with the impending winter storm forecasted & hour of the concert we wanted to stay closer to the university this time. I found different prices on some sites with basically all good reviews too. I decided to stop the pricing game & called the hotel for their best price. They stated they could not match the lowest price I found. They said to "grab" that price. So,I did. The reservation process through that web site went very smoothly.

Our check in process @ the hotel went smoothly also. I showed the e-mail from the booking web site & explained the web site had spelled our last name incorrectly & the friendly gals @ the service desk said no problem & fixed the spelling in their files. We stated to use the credit card info from the web site we had used to make our reservations for any possible incidentals incurred.

The room & bathroom was very clean, spacious, had nice décor & the bedding was comfortable. The heating unit did blow colder air @ times-as some reviews previously stated- no big deal for us though. Free continental breakfast was satisfying.

Now the but.....As we checked out "Tony" stated there were charges that were added to our bill. I did understand that there were taxes & also we did decide to use the hotel parking. When we were told the $ amt. it equaled the $ amt. for a night stay. It was $10.00 actually cheaper than what the other web site had ALREADY charged us for the night stay. We questioned as to why we were being billed again. Tony stated he needs to make sure we (the hotel) are paid because we did not receive the web site's payment yet. I booked this room on Saturday-the day before. Now the hotel itself actually charged the same bankcard for the night stay. We were being doubled billed & wanted to know why. Tony stated again he needed to make sure the hotel gets paid. We were confused & concerned. Tony stated when were receive our billing statement from our bankcard & if there were 2 charges for the night he then can ask his manager to refund us but he needed written proof. Fortunately the bankcard we used had a bank branch across the street & we went to see if were DOUBLED BILLED. We were. We were given a copy of the charges & went back to Tony with his proof. He stated he had to wait until 3pm when his manger came on duty before he can do anything. (it was 1200-noon) He did have Supervisor included on his name tag. He copied the e-mail from the web site I used. He then stated not to use the web site for booking reservations. Remember, I was told directly by the staff of the Hotel Warner to "grab" that lowest price on my web site I found because they could not match it. But that proved untrue when we checked out. We left with our proof & awaited a phone call. Our home was 80 miles away. I had to shortly return to the hotel because Tony did not copy the bank's statement of the double charges. I was very frustrated & concerned about a possible scam. We arrived home @ 3:45pm. No phone message from the hotel. We called the hotel & Sam a supervisor stated she was aware of "our situation". She stated she was on the night we checked in & did not remember seeing or e-mail from the web site for our paid reservation but everything will be taken care of. She did call about an hour later & stated we will be getting a refund.

NOW> I felt were we treated like criminal's. No apologies for the wasted time & frustration we went through. Tony was not rude but talked to us like we were uneducated people. He showed no concern. We did not receive proper customer service. He was concerned more about the hotel. Even with the written proof he offered no concern or apology for our "situation". It's a shame the stay was fantastic but it was not worth the hoop jumping we did..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jak4302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Excellence is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to constantly improve our hotel and to provide a memorable positive experience to our valued guests. Please accept my apologizes for the issues you faced at the hotel regarding your billing. Payment can get a bit complicated when dealing with a third party booking website but that is certainly not your issue to deal with. I have personally re-trained the front office staff regarding the third party website and how to handle these types of issues should they occur again. Again, I apologize for difficulties you faced with your billing. We hope you will give us another try the next time you find yourself in the West Chester area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My hubby and I needed a getaway from the kids and our busy lives, so we planned a overnight getaway at Hotel Warner. We checked in a little after 3pm. We parked in the parking lot which is less than a half of a block away. Our parking was validated for what i thought was free but was actually $5.30 with tax which was much better than $20 to park in the hotel's parking lot. The room was amazing, very very clean and comfortable. Loved the king bed and shower. The staff was very friendly. The free breakfast spread was great as well, my only suggestion is that there was only 2% and skim milk, they should offer whole and soy milk. I had a toasted bagel but there was only strawberry cream cheese a male worker insisted on getting regular cream cheese for me and wouldn't take no for an answer (so helpful). My hubby had a waffle made on the waffle maker topped with strawberries. It was great to have a non stressful experience. We will make this a regular getaway from reality.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MrsStrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for making the Hotel Warner your regular getaway from reality. I am pleased to hear that you found the room amazing, clean and comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the breakfast great. We are looking forward to your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed here overnight due to a predicted ice storm that would have prevented me from getting to work in a nearby town. Sure enough, the storm took down power in most of the county, including to the hotel. Woke up in the dark expecting a bad morning, but found good emergency lighting guiding me to the stairs and, even more important, to their breakfast room where they had good, hot coffee and as much of a breakfast as they could manage without power. They handled the crisis well. Should also mention that there is covered parking both at and near the hotel, so I did NOT have to scrape ice off my car. And there are a number of good restaurants within walking distance -- when the town isn't shut down by ice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Warner and for taking the time to share your experience. We strive to take care of our guests under all circumstances and I am happy to hear that we were successful under this difficult circumstance. I will be sure to share your comments with the staff. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
6.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warner

Property: Hotel Warner
Address: 120 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Warner 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Warner is West Chester's only downtown hotel and ideal location for your visit to West Chester and the Brandywine River Area. Plus, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi as well as a fitness and business centers. Enjoy our gracious hospitality, stunning rooms, and the historic charm of downtown West Chester's numerous shops, great restaurants, sidewalk cafes and attractions all footsteps from our door. The Hotel Warner is the only hotel in historic West Chester Borough and the ideal location for your business trip, a leisurely weekend get-a-way or group outing. So, come be our guest! Stay with us and walk to over 65 restaurants, dozens of shops, art galleries and eclectic boutiques, just footsteps from the Warner Hotel. Stroll our historic streets and discover the rich architecture and vibrant past of this nationally acclaimed neighborhood.The Hotel Warner is also perfect for business trips and group gatherings. With private onsite meeting space for 60 guests and additional facilities for nearly 200, the Hotel Warner is ideal for intimate gatherings, board meetings and social retreats. Spend a few nights with us and explore our many historic sites and fabulous attractions. The Hotel Warner is only minutes from West Chester University, SAP Corporation, Depuy Synthes, Brandywine Airport, Longwood Gardens, QVC Studios, the King of Prussia Mall, Brandywine River Battlefield, Valley Forge National Park, Sight & Sound Theater and Lancaster Amish Country. So, be sure to include the Hotel Warner in your future travel plans. We are ready to take great care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing