We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location but not great, high quality experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Warner

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Warner
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Convenient location but not great, high quality experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Unwhelmed given the hype, Grand Opening and lack of decent hotels in downtown West Chester. I found the environment too sterile and lacking character. The lights need to be changed since every light is fluorescent and it is too bright. This sends a message that the ownership is penny pinching and looking to cut costs rather than invest for strong customer service, a great product and unique experience. The front lobby sets the stage for an underwhelming experience. Management needs to create a warm and inviting atmosphere. This clearly lacks the invitation. The one positive is location- great and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your remarks regarding our hotel. We are pleased that you found our location to be convenient. We are working to make our lobby feel less sterile when you enter the hotel. We have added some nice touches to the lobby and are continuing to do so. We hope that you will visit us again during your next trip to West Chester. Thank you for taking the time to write this review as it helps us continue to improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    72
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
55
5
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Suburban NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

When I saw that a hotel was opening up in West Chester, I thought that this would be my ticket....I typically stay 2 nights per week in the area and would like another option rather than driving. Given all the hoopla surrounding the opening, I would have expected more. While the hotel is nice, it's VERY ordinary, nothing better than a Holiday Inn Express or Marriott Courtyard.

Rooms: clean, roomy, nice desk, comfy chair, which is a nice change from many places. Bed was fine, nothing special. The room had a huge empty area in it, like they oversized the room for for the furniture.
Bathroom: very nice with lots of room. Nice large vanity.
TV: Acceptable. No channel guide, Standard Def only, which in this day-and-age, is pretty cheap.
Temperature: typical wall-controlled, blowing unit under the window. I hate them, but it's normal.
Parking: nice that you can park under the hotel for free
Breakfast, Bad. Not even close to a Comfort Inn. "Pastries", toast, and drinks. Seriously cheap. Don't waste your time, I didn't.
Pool? It's more like a bathtub....

Will I come back? Maybe. Would be nice in the winter to eliminate snowy driving issues.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCTraveller82012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
First and foremost please accept our sincere apology for the average stay you had at our hotel. We value and appreciate your thoughtful review and want to assure you that it is our primary goal to ensure all of our guests have a spectacular stay.

Regarding your comment about the TV Channel Guide I am happy to tell you we have added them in every quest room. We have also upgraded the breakfast that we offer to include some additional items including yogurt, cereal, and a make your own waffle station.

Thank you for being one of our first guests. It is guests like you who let us know when we fall short of your expectations who allow us to continue to refine our product and service offerings. Please know we hope you will consider staying with us during your next trip to West Chester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

We recently stayed at Hotel Warner during their opening weekend and were very pleased. The hotel was running at 50% capacity but we did not hear anyone while we were there. Rooms were also very spacious and we had ample room to move around once we stepped out of bed unlike other chain hotels. The bed was very comfortable and a king size. Great TV, mini fridge, safe, and very spacious bathroom including a large shower. Views from the rooms were not fantastic but you are staying in the middle of downtown. We were able to walk to our restaurant and back in no time at all. Great place to stay in you are in the West Chester area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bradhorse314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa S, General Manager at Hotel Warner, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for being one of our first guests and for taking the time to tell others about your experience. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience one of the town’s great restaurants and we hope you come visit us again soon and experience more of what West Chester has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
1.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham West Chester
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in West Chester
3.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Concordville Hotel
5.2 mi away
Sheraton Great Valley Hotel
6.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Warner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Warner

Property: Hotel Warner
Address: 120 North High Street, West Chester, PA 19380
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Warner 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Warner is West Chester's only downtown hotel and ideal location for your visit to West Chester and the Brandywine River Area. Plus, we offer a deluxe complimentary continental breakfast, free WiFi as well as a fitness and business centers. Enjoy our gracious hospitality, stunning rooms, and the historic charm of downtown West Chester's numerous shops, great restaurants, sidewalk cafes and attractions all footsteps from our door. The Hotel Warner is the only hotel in historic West Chester Borough and the ideal location for your business trip, a leisurely weekend get-a-way or group outing. So, come be our guest! Stay with us and walk to over 65 restaurants, dozens of shops, art galleries and eclectic boutiques, just footsteps from the Warner Hotel. Stroll our historic streets and discover the rich architecture and vibrant past of this nationally acclaimed neighborhood.The Hotel Warner is also perfect for business trips and group gatherings. With private onsite meeting space for 60 guests and additional facilities for nearly 200, the Hotel Warner is ideal for intimate gatherings, board meetings and social retreats. Spend a few nights with us and explore our many historic sites and fabulous attractions. The Hotel Warner is only minutes from West Chester University, SAP Corporation, Depuy Synthes, Brandywine Airport, Longwood Gardens, QVC Studios, the King of Prussia Mall, Brandywine River Battlefield, Valley Forge National Park, Sight & Sound Theater and Lancaster Amish Country. So, be sure to include the Hotel Warner in your future travel plans. We are ready to take great care of you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Warner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing