We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at this B & B it was wonderful
The room was large very nicely decorated
It was a great night sleep
The breakfast and service was outstanding
The location to long wood Gardens and the local Winery's was great as we'll
We are hoping to come back with a few friends this fall

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
255 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Sandy and Lance, thanks again for your hospitality. Having stayed in all three building now, all are very nice, we feel that the Carriage House rooms are the best for our taste. Just the right amount of space and very cozy. Lance always make a special breakfast. It is like staying with some good friends. The barn area is great to just sit and have a cup of 24 hour coffee or tea.
This is located just a short drive to Longwood Gardens, where we visit for a few days- check out the Longwood Gardens membership if you visit for a few days.

Room Tip: All building are nice, but we like the Carriage House rooms- just the right size, a real B&B fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Horton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

We love the Inn at Whitewing Farm. Beautiful, well kept property; friendly, responsive owners/managers and services; great and healthy breakfast; quiet, comfortable, spacious and attractive room (Clydesdale); very nice bathroom amenities. We most definitely plan to return again and again, and we hope to see the Fox running on the adjacent property too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had picked this inn since it was near Longwood Gardens. It is a series of buildings with a large dining and sitting area with a library. Coffee and tea was available twenty four hours a day, which we appreciated, since we are early risers. Sandy and Lance were friendly and interacted with the guests very well. The food was very good and nicely presented. The inn has plenty of open area for you to stretch your legs. We had one of the two rooms down at the pond. Is there anything better than a cup of coffee at 6 AM, sitting outside looking at the pond? The room was simply and tastefully decorated. We will be back in August for Pat Metheny and Bruce Hornsby at Longwood Gardens. We enjoyed the pond room so much we upgraded our room to the pond room again. This B & B is in the upper tier of B & B's we have stayed in.

Room Tip: If you can get the pond room get it. It is so quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank artskillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

If you are looking for a lovely Bed & Breakfast in a beautiful setting owned by wonderful people in West Chester County.... look no more. I had a friend arriving from the U.K. and needed a special place where I could take her sightseeing and enjoy upscale lodging as well. I made the perfect choice!
Sandy & Lance will make you feel like family. And where you may be expecting a typical continental breakfast found at many B&B's, get ready for a "Lance 3-course delicious breakfast", differing each day. Always fresh baked muffins, biscottis, tea, coffee, hot chocolate at your disposal. This family goes out of their way to make your stay special. We stayed four nights in the Paddock & Jockey rooms. Beautiful, clean wonderful rooms.
I will be returning to this Inn to see our new friends......!

Room Tip: I'm sure all the rooms are lovely. The Pond rooms will require a bit of a walk with luggage. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornermarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

This property is misnamed as a B & B, it really is more of a standard inn experience. The landscaping on the historic property is pretty though the property is hard to navigate and our room while clean and attractive, was inconvenient to the main dining area where they have things for guests. The whole B&B is done in the style of a motel. The property is difficult to navigate and signs are misleading (e.g., main house is private property where guests are not supposed to go, but there is a big sign for it.) Note that the pool shown on the website, which appears to be part of the guest experience, is with the main house and appears to be private. During our stay, though it was in the front of the property and very visible it was quite dirty. One of my kids commented on that and said, "Ewww!"

I was the guest of honor at Inn at Whitewing for our family's celebration of Mother's Day. However, I really felt like an unwelcome guest at a party when we got to Whitewing Inn.

When our family arrived one of the innkeepers was outside and was in the middle of doing something. He stopped very briefly to greet us, went back to what he was doing immediately and apparently we were not given complete directions.
We were directed to take any of the parking spaces by the innkeeper, but later had an uncomfortable confrontation when a guest got upset that he felt we were in the parking space for his room. Also, we were not informed that the barn area the main area for guests (more on this in a moment).

After we got settled and were waiting for a few minutes for my husband to finish in the bathroom, I wandered around the property with my kids to the sign for the "main house" since there was a private party using the barn area, which as it turns out is the ONLY central building for all of the guests. (As I said earlier, the rest of the property is motel style.)
I wanted some area to hang out since our stay was short husband to finish in the bathroom but there wasn't anywhere.

We walked to the main house along the walkway, went to knock on the door, were barked at by a large dog, and the innkeeper's wife ran of the main house and demanded to know who we were. I said we were guests of the Inn. She said rather tersely that the that the main house was private property and told us we were welcome anywhere else on the property. Then her husband, the other innkeeper, sprung at us from the woods, startling me, and asked what was the matter upon seeing I was upset. I explained what had happened and was again tersely told that his wife would not have yelled at us and rather condescendingly that his B &B is well regarded on TripAdvisor (the suggestion being if I didn't like it was MY personal problem and not the lack of service). He also stated that our family was welcome to make other arrangements, though I had not asked about that. He directed us to the barn (which was where the wedding party was).

When we got to the barn, about a half an hour after the private party was supposed to be over, we had to walk by the wedding guests who were still there staring at us, apparently for nothing, because the snacks that are usually out for guests were not out. The innkeeper followed us and told us about what was available and started putting stuff out, but we did not stick around.
Limited facilities in barn area included a dining room area, a library upstairs that contains very few books (according to my daughter and son, who went there later), and I was told, "a private area".

On our room: we had the largest room (Clydesdale). It is standard junior suite size (just came from the Hilton and can verify this); however beds brought in were singles so kids were cramped in smaller than normal beds. This is not a full suite, which would have a door separating the rooms.
There was enough room for four in the room but our quarters were a little cramped. (The kids' beds were right up against the furniture). The bath is not a full bath (just a stall shower) and was in need of a remodel because of cracked ceramic tile and a problem with the counter in the bath. The room had
no B&B extras (such as a mini-frig. DVD player, or robes). It had a very small TV, Internet access, and a hairdryer.

This is not a good place to stay for families, and given the unwelcome atmosphere, I would not recommend it for couples either, since it did not make me feel like getting romantic. Despite the hefty price tag, I felt we would have had more room and felt more at home at a hotel, though we have stayed at many B & Bs in the past and usually adore the "grandma's house with antiques" atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank busy_b_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Stunningly beautiful grounds. Impeccable rooms. However, the best part of our seven day experience was the helpfulness of the cheerful owners and staff. They were charming and most informative - even directing us when we got lost on near-by country roads. Complete escape...

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank james H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Property: Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing