We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brandywine Valley - Mini-Vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Brandywine Valley - Mini-Vacation”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Neil, Sandy and [daughter] Samantha are perfect hosts. From the time that you arrive to your departure, their intention is to cater to your needs. They offer a GREAT room where you have breakfast and may use at any other time for reading, relaxing, snacking, etc. [Incidentally, they also provide the drinks and snacks. Note - This room is the only place where Wi-Fi is available.]
Breakfasts are works of art! They also taste great, as well. The presentations may come "naturally" to people who have been in the restaurant and catering business but the fact that
they take the time and trouble to do it at their B&B is a credit to them.
It is a perfect area location - very quiet but close to anything that you want to do. [Also, it is about an hour from Lancaster, if outlet shopping is your pleasure.]

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pouchet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    21
    12
    3
    6
See reviews for
23
115
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I'm sorry to have to give the Whitewing a poor rating because at another time or in another room it would probably have been the opposite. The property is beautiful and the staff is friendly and eager to please. The breakfast was great and 24/7 area for coffee, tea, and light snacks was nice and the place is very well located relative to Longwood Gardens, the Brandywine River Museum, and restaurants in Kennett Square and Wilmington. The pool was nice and from the outside the buildings looked lovely BUT (sorry this is a big BUT) my husband and I spent two nights in late June 2013 and our room (the English Garden Suite which was approximately $290with taxes) was awful--extremely damp and mildewy. The was a door into the room had a screen and stationary side lights which meant that there were no operating windows in the room, i.e. windows that could be left open when the door was closed—maybe its the New York in me but I wouldn't feel comfortable sleeping at ground level with just a screen and no locked door. The room looked nice but in addition to no opening windows, the rug was actually damp to the touch and there was mold growing on the bathroom wall. The use of air fresheners to cover the mildew just made it worse. Using the air conditioner left us cold and damp. The location of the suite required navigating a picturesque little pathway around the side of the building and a few stone steps (3 or 4) that would no have been a problem except that the ground level lighting was out exactly where we needed it most. The inn keeper did change the bulbs but apparently that wasn't the problem and since he didn't test them we had the same problem our second night. The room was not straightened up very well- dirty glasses were left on the bedside tables, bathroom stuff wasn't refreshed, wrappers not thrown out in shower. So, maybe if we had had a different room or we had been there during a dry spell this review would have been glowing. As it happens I'd honestly have to say our stay was very disappointing and uncomfortable. I could have stayed home and slept in the basement.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the English Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy S, Owner at Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for highlighting so many positives about our property, staff and amenities
even though your stay was less than ideal. Our biggest regret to reading about the
issues with your room is knowing that we would have moved you to another suite if we
had been made aware of the situation while you were here. We have never experienced
the amount of rain we had in late June and did not know it would affect some of our
rooms the way it did.

The path lights should have been tested to ensure the bulb replacement corrected the
problem. It was a lesson learned for us and we apologize that our learning occurred
during your stay. We are also reiterating the cleaning requirements for room
tidying for our multi-stay guests with our staff. While we are sure it was an
oversight, reminding the staff will help ensure they remain focused on the customer.

We pride ourselves in our cleanliness and honestly believe this was a fluke.
If you are willing to give a stay with us another try, we would be glad to offer you
a discounted rate. We are confident that your 2nd stay will be surpass your
expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the inn in May while visiting the area. It was beyond our expectations for several reasons. Being tennis buffs it was the use of a tennis court that drew me to book the inn, but it was everything else that would have us go back. We stayed in a stable room and it was large and comfortable as well as clean. The room looks just like the picture on line with no hidden angles to make you think it is larger than it is. The main room is open all the time and there are snacks and coffee, tea, hot chocolate and (nonalcoholic) drinks available all they time. We were also told to use the kitchen if we needed it which is a good touch. The grounds are beautiful and the innkeepers quite friendly, but not intrusive. We did manage to play tennis in between the rain drops and we had a wonderful breakfast. There is more of a hotel feel as our room was separate from the main lodge so if you have never tried a b&b and would like to wean yourself in this is the way. Location is quiet yet really close to all the area main attractions. We had gone to visit Wintherthur and Nemours. We ate in Kennett Square which was also an easy drive. Stay and you will not be disappointed.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelwhenyoucan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Neil and Sandy Shortt are the innkeepers at the Inn at Whitewing Farm and try their hardest to make it a pleasant stay for their guests. The rooms are in various buildings on a former farm and our room was large, comfortable, very clean and outfitted with all the little things that help to make for a pleasant weekend stay: hairdryer; alarm clock; bottled water. The only part that would be helpful would be wi-fi in the rooms even though it is available in the main house.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAM6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a delightful breakfast, excellent accommodations, very helpful innkeepers and the grounds are like a park. The stable room was extremely clean with comfortable furnishings. Overall we
Enjoyed the inn tremendously

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Inn at WhiteWing Farm is simply a friendly and wonderful place to stay. The grounds are gorgeous, the breakfasts are delicious, and the owners are friendly and know how to take care of guests. We wanted to stay in a suite, but they were all booked, so we stayed in the Jockey Room. The room was quite large, very beautiful and incredibly clean. The bed was very comfortable and the shower hot and forceful (both things I love!). Even the soap smelled great! Rooms come complete w/ complimentary bottled water and mints! There are also snacks and soft drinks, tea, coffee and water available 24 hours a day. Being on vacation, and not eating meals at normal times, this was much appreciated! The breakfasts were beyond expectation; our first was fresh berry muffin, yogurt & granola, Belgium waffle and fresh fruit. Our 2nd day's breakfast included a fresh muffin, banana w/ coconut and sweet topping, scrambled eggs, sausage and potatoes. We've stayed in several B&Bs in our travels and this one is #1.

Room Tip: Only the suites have fireplaces if you're interested in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My family of 12spent the night at the Whitewing B & B. The rooms are beautiful and clean,each room with a private upscale bathroom. We also had a baby shower there the next day. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. My family experienced a wonderful memory. I am so thankful my experience at the B & B.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayjay35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
367 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
594 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
200 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites West Chester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Property: Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing