We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Whitwing was ok”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Chester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Ranked #1 of 10 West Chester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Salem, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Weekend at Whitwing was ok”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Whitewing Farm is beautiful and for visiting West Chester and attractions like Longwood it does not get any better. However, we booked the Pond Room, and found out when we arrived that we had been moved. This put a damper on our visit as we had booked this specific rooms months before. Typically in these types of small renovated hotels, the rooms are very different and thus can create different experiences. There was barely an apology for the change, and factually they could have called us and told us ahead of time. Additionally, small things were missing that when you are charged $200 a night should have been there - like variety at breakfast. We did enjoy our stay, but are not sure we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure and emphasize that they cannot change your room or you may be surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WilliamF525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    21
    10
    3
    6
See reviews for
22
111
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
274 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the "Inn at Whitewing" for 4 wonderful nights, this B-n-B is a gem located in Brandywine Valley. The grounds are spectacular and close to all local sites; Longwood Gardens, Winterthur, Mt. Cuba and Brandywine Valley Museum. We stayed in the Tack room which was lovely, very clean and well decorated. Breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. Lance is an excellent cook and made the most delicious French toast souffle, banana crepes and blueberry pancakes, all were our favorites. Lance, Sandy and Samantha have a true talent for making guests feel at home. They are very friendly, personable and helpful. In the comman area "The Barn" are self-served drinks and snacks to enjoy while relaxaing after a day of visiting the sites. There is also a book which gives a summary of local restaurants, their menus and comments from the guests about their experience at the establishments. The book is a great idea especially for guests not familiar with Brandywine Valley. We would highly recommend this "gem" of a B-n-B if you are planning a trip to Brandywine Valley. We look forward to our return visit in the winter. Larry and Mary

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJMAN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston VA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I booked a weekend get away for our anniversary. We stayed in one of the suites and had a lovely weekend. While were were at the b-n-b we discussed the pros and cons of it. We usually stay at hotels as we mostly travel with our two children. Only one time have we stayed at another b-n-b, so we don't have much to compare with - but here are our thoughts.

PROS:
1) The property is magnificent. We could not ask for a more relaxing and beautiful view. The grounds were well maintained, away from busy roads, and very tranquil. It looks just like the pictures on the website - no disappointment with that.
2) The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Sandy gave us great suggestions on things to do and places to eat. They were also interested in our feedback when we returned, so as to keep their knowledge of the places balanced and current. They were hospitable and great!
3) The room (one of the suites) was absolutely beautiful. It looked as pictured on their website. I am a big fan of yellow and blue - so I thought the room was lovely. We were not disappointed in that. The fireplace in the room was also a big selling point for us. It took the chill off at night and in the morning, as well as gave the room a cozy and romantic atmosphere. The room was spotlessly clean and made up nicely while we were out each day.
4) The snacks and drinks available in the lovely common room was a nice plus. There was a mix of healthy and sweet and a choice of drinks (non alcoholic though).
5) The location was really central to everything we wanted to do in the local area without being on a busy road or neighborhood.

IMPROVEMENTS:
Things we thought would have made us give it five stars (can't really call them cons - because they were not things advertised in the amenities but things that could improve the b-n-b and make it exceptional).
1) A choice at the breakfast. Doesn't need to be a restaurant, but two items from which to choose each day would be ideal. The yogurt/fresh fruit cup served before each breakfast was very yummy on both mornings. The muffins served each morning were also nice. Each breakfast entree came with fresh fruit and the watermelon was cut into heart shapes. The presentation and the fruit were lovely. The coffee was also wonderful! We had french toast soufflé the first morning with sausage - which was very taste. But a bit heavy on the carbs and sweetness. The second morning we had a broccoli/vegetable egg bake. I did not like any of the veggies in that, so I was a bit disappointed/hungry. These are taste preferences, but still dimmed the experience a bit. It would be nice if there had been a choice. We were asked about food allergies or eating issues - to which we had none... but for picky eaters (like me) - the lack of choice is a problem.
2) It would have been nice if the room came with a more modern clock/radio - lets face it - a lot of people would really appreciate a docking station/speakers for iPods or iphones. For the room price it would be nice to have a more up to date option.
3) The same is true of the bathroom. Nice long vanity to sit at and fix makeup in the morning, but only a standup shower. In a room and place of this caliber - one would expect a soaking tub or at least the option of a shower or bath. The bathroom while totally clean and functional was just that. It would have been nice if it was luxurious.
4) The placement of the tv was weird. It was parallel to the bed so you had to lay on your side to see it or turn your head sideways (a full 90 degrees). If there were two of you - one had to look over the other. That was a bit awkward.
5) The room was filled with a wall of books which added charm to the room. However, being a reading couple - we inspected the books. My husband felt they were really heavy on the chic lit and felt a bit let down that there was very little selection for him.
5) It would have been nice to have a few more nice touches tossed in... turn down service, chocolates on your pillow, wine available with the evening snack (especially given all of the local wineries - show case them), fresh flowers in the room (especially when people say it is an anniversary or birthday or special occasion). Those type of touches can make the difference between being great versus exceptional.

Would we return? We would have to think about it. Not an immediate yes, but also not an immediate no. There were enough things we liked to really consider it. But there were enough improvements that we would be tempted to see if we could find of those things (value) for our money. We would probably see what other b-n-bs were in the area and do more comparison, before making a final decision.

Room Tip: The suites were large and extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RestonRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

April 2nd and 3rd we had the pleasure stay at the Inn at Whitewing. The friendly owners Lance and Sandy went out of their way to make certain we were comfortable and taken care of.

We opted for the Clydesdale Suite and were extremely happy. Super clean, quiet and well thought out.

Sandy even threw something my way that was not necessary but greatly appreciated.

Go! You will not be sorry!

Room Tip: Go for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BikeBum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevose, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful inn in the beginning of March. The innkeepers, Sandy and Lance and daughter Samantha made us feel very welcome. They were so helpful and friendly. We stayed in the Daily Review room which had an outside deck, which I’m sure would be nice in warmer weather. The room was nicely decorated and super clean and had a very comfortable bed. The grounds are amazing. The breakfasts were yummy, even had my favorite of waffles with fresh fruit. The inn is located only a couple of minutes from Longwood Gardens. We are looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooversville, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I used to live less than a mile away from Whitewing Farm on Locust Grove Road and often walked by the stunning property on Valley Road before it was turned into a B & B a few years ago. The countryside is breathtaking and surprisingly unspoiled on this road. The "stable" room we stayed in was very clean, with a wall of contemporary paperback novels adding charm. We stayed Saturday and Sunday; Saturday the hosts put out a lovely "tea" in the late afternoon, but on Sunday -- when we were one of only two couples there -- only a pot of coffee was available. The Sunday breakfast dishes hadn't even been done in the kitchen off the lovely common room. Of course if you stay in a stable room, you have to go outside and upstairs to get to it. And the breakfast was quite mediocre, compared to many B & B breakfasts we have enjoyed. The French toast "souffles" hadn't been sufficiently soaked in the egg/milk mixture and were dry and hard! The fresh fruit seemed to have been around awhile also. There were three tiny pastries on a plate and the souffles came with maple sausage links, also, but it was TOO much sweet, unhealthy stuff. Nothing healthier was even offered, like yogurt or cereal.

A few small suggestions to the owner hosts for the stable rooms: add a floor reading lamp at the armchair so one can read there; otherwise guests can read only in bed. The TV was on the side wall parallel to the bed, so only one person can really see it comfortably, and then looking to the side. It should be hung on the wall facing the bed so both can see it from the bed. The marble floors in the bathroom were beautiful but freezing cold, with not even a little throw rug for comfort as I put my makeup on in front of the sink. And on Sunday, when we returned from the Philadelphia Flower Show around 3:30, our bed hadn't even been made and the tiny bathroom trash can was overflowing. At 4:00 the host knocked on the door to tidy the room. Really? Too late .,.. I was taking a nap. But she did go back upstairs to get us fresh towels at my request.

I've read many of the rave reviews of the Inn at Whitewing, which is why my husband chose it. Maybe this was just a fluke or a down weekend, but for the money, we were disappointed and won't return, even though we have lots of family in the area.

PS -- we didn't bother with breakfast on Monday morning and went down the road to Hank's (route 1 and Creek Road) where Andrew Wyeth used to eat breakfast. Always wonderful breakfasts, especially their wonderful pancakes!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindaDeLia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy S, Owner at Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We are so sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at Whitewing Farm. Since we took over the inn in 2011 we have strived to provide our guests with exceptional accommodations. Thankfully your experience is not the norm, as most guests give us rave reviews.

Coffee, tea, soda and water along with assorted snack items are available in the Hay Barn 24 hours a day. Afternoon Tea is served from 4:00 – 5:00 pm. We expand the offerings during this hour to include various appetizers and desserts. The offering is ample for the number of guests staying with us, but it is not refreshed during the hour. As you were napping at 4:00, we are assuming you arrived late in the hour, or possibly after 5:00 when the additional items were cleared.

Our breakfasts are designed to be indulgent. That said, we ask all of our guests during the reservation process whether they have any dietary restrictions, and offer a variety of alternatives to accommodate them, upon request. Yogurt would have been available had you asked. Ensuring that our guests are better informed about our alternatives is something we will act upon.

Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our rooms and offering improvements to their functionality. We agree that a few of the rooms would benefit from your suggestions and are looking into making these and other minor adjustments.

We are embarrassed that we ran late in getting to your room to clean it. We have 10 guest rooms and there are times when housekeeping is delayed to attend to more immediate guest needs. We were fully booked the Saturday of your stay so every room required cleaning on Sunday. We prioritize our room and kitchen cleaning based on new guest arrivals and current guest schedules which we typically determine by the cars in the lot. We should have gotten to your room earlier yet we were surprised to find you in the room as there was no car in the lot. Clearly we need to alter our process and will do so.

Again, your feedback is very much appreciated as it allows us to continually improve services to our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were visiting Longwood Gardens in early March this year and it was very cold. Rather than stay in a chain hotel we picked this B&B. Arrived late afternoon on Sunday and left around 10.00 the next morning.

The young lady who ran the B&B was very welcoming and extremely helpful. She assisted us in finding a restaurant open on a Sunday evening and even called to check. Next day she also spent time helping us sort out where we wanted to go to see more of the local area.

We stayed in a "stable" room. It was well decorated, clean and comfortable..Very cosy and warm.

Breakfast was juice and a large waffle covered with fruit plus lots of coffee.

Nice touches were the complementary coffee and free snacks. The main sitting room was warm and there was a good wi-fi service there (though not in the room).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Chester
4.9 mi away
Brandywine River Hotel
Brandywine River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chadds Ford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.0 mi away
Inn at Mendenhall, an Ascend Collection Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
Hilton Garden Inn Kennett Square
#1 of 2 in Kennett Square
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kennett Square Brandywine Valley
6.6 mi away
Hotel Warner
Hotel Warner
#1 of 7 in West Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
7.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Glen Mills Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B

Property: Inn at Whitewing Farm B&B
Address: 370 Valley Rd, West Chester, PA 19382-6969
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > West Chester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in West Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A good B&B to stay at, while visiting nearby Winterthur. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn At Whitewing Farm Hotel West Chester
Inn At Whitewing Farm Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing