We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS!!”
Review of Sherwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2010

What more can I say other than FABULOUS! We stayed in room 134 over Easter weekend 2010. This motel is FABULOUS. It is clean, quiet and safe. The motel staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, fresh and clean. They have chairs outside each room to sit and relax or smoke. The grounds are maintained very well. This motel is right in town but it was so quiet that we slept like babies. Everything you need is within walking distance of the Motel. We were visiting the area for a tour up Route 6 on our motorcycle. This hotel is motorcycle friendly and it is safe to park your bike over night. We definately will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wildcat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 217 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2010

The Sherwood is THE BEST place to stay when in the Wellsboro area. We were the first ones to stay in the newly remodeled room we had. FANTASTIC. Everthing is very neat, clean, and EXTREMELY well kept. Rates are very reasonable. (We had a winter rate). Staff is very efficient and friendly and helpful. We have not been here for eight years (my brother moved to Florida and we vacation down there) but previously we visited Wellsboro at least once a year and always stayed at Sherwood Motel. It keeps getting better and better, and it is THE only place we will stay when we visit Wellsboro.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2009

Very nice Motel, the rooms are small and clean. Location is very good... right on main street and 2 blocks from all the restaurants.

Also it's a 15 minutes drive to the Grand Canyon.

I was there for one night.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GarageSaleTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I read review after review concerning how clean this hotel is, and it is! I will also add that it did smell of smoke. You could smell the cover-up scent that they use.
Why these places don't remove all the smoking butt cans outside of the motel is beyond me. If they really wanted to stop the smoking they could "fine" those that smoke in a room or at least post that they would be billed an additional $100 if there are any signs of smoking or smoke smell when the customer leaves.
I'm just sick and tired of going into a room and having our clothes etc smelling like these pigs.
Great motel otherwise and thanks for letting me vent.
Ps....don't take the bottom floor.......you hear everyone entering/leaving their room and foot steps.
You'll love Wellsboro!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justcollectingdust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2009

We decided to stay at the Sherwood Motel based upon reviews on Trip Advisor. We were quite pleased. The Sherwood Motel is newly remodeled, very clean, located right in the quaint town of Wellsboro so we walked to dine and shop, and The Sherwood Motel is very respectful to smokers (non smoking but there is a chair and butt recepticals outside your door). Debbie, our cleaning staff, was so nice and responsive. The motel does not have a coffee maker in each room, but they provide free coffee in the mornings along with cookies. There is a Dunkin Donuts across the street. The price, cleanliness, personable staff, location and value makes this the place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

My husband and I were in Wellsboro for a long weekend to ride motorcycle in this beautiful area. We had booked at another place in town that was a big disappointment.
The next morning, we were walking and happened to go past the Sherwood motel. My husband inquired about a room and lucky for us, there was a room available for the next two days. The motel owner and the desk clerks were very friendly and helpful.

We had a large room with a small refrigerator and microwave. Everything was spotlessly clean, freshly painted, new carpeting, and no odors of any kind. After a long day of riding motorcycle, the Sherwood was our comfortable little oasis, with a crystal clear, refreshing swimming pool. We were very pleased.

Parking our SUV and trailer was no problem in the ample parking lot. The motel is off the road far enough that we did not hear the traffic from the busy road going through Wellsboro, which is right on the popular Route 6. This motel is conveniently located in town and right down the street from the famous Wellsboro Diner.

We are planning on going back to Wellsboro and have already booked our stay for the autumn season!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thelma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2009

We only stayed one night and it was over July 4th weekend. I would have stayed two nights but they were fully booked the other night. I was pleased with our stay here. It was quiet, clean and had everything we needed except a coffee maker in the room. It's right in town. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJgirlonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#3 of 7 in Wellsboro
650 reviews
0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
189 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.5 mi away
QUALITY INN & SUITES
QUALITY INN & SUITES
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
115 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $89 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing