We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners on location and very helpful. A slice of Americana left here.”
Review of Sherwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I just stayed two nights, July 6 and 7 of 2014. The motel is very maintained and clean. The sheets, towels, bed and pillows very good grade. The pool very clean and nice size. My husband and I traveled with two other couples on motorcycles across rt.6 from the west. All 6 of us were very happy here. They provided a pavilion and hose to clean the motorcycles. 24 hour Dunkin Donuts across the street and mini market down the block for gas, hand made subs or anything else needed. Grocery stores and restaurants walking distance. No breakfast served but coffee, tea and oatmeal. There are plenty places to eat here. We ate breakfast one morning at the Wellsboro Diner and no one was happy except with the coffee. We ate at McDonalds in town the next morning. Ask the locals for a better breakfast stop. We stopped to see the grand canyon. Colton point was my favorite view. This motel was calm and quiet.

Room Tip: This is a motel and there are single story rooms behind the Main House and then a two story motel in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank tgr1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to send in a review. We do appreciate you sharing your experience here at our Motel and town. Hope to see you again.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 215 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2014

We were in Wellsboro to visit the Pine Creek Gorge. We saw an ad for this motel in a AAA publication. It was close by and in an excellent location - in center of town. We could walk to the church, restaurants, etc. The motel was very clean and had all the amenities you would expect from a pricier motel except for a coffee maker. However, coffee was available in the lobby at 7:00 AM along with some hot chocolate and instant oatmeal. The beds were very comfortable and there were extra pillows and big fluffy towels. The internet was fast and steady and the flat screen TV was a plus. The furnishings could use an upgrade but that was not important to us. The property had beautiful landscaping around the office and the staff was warm and friendly. Chairs were provided for sitting outside. We did not use the pool but it was very nice. All the motorcycles were a turn-off for us at first, but this motel proved to be very quiet. We did not hear a thing during the night. We wished we could have stayed longer than one night. The town was lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank QueeniebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Every few years my Husband and I go to Wellsboro to visit the PA Grand Canyon and just to hang out. And when we do, we always stay at Sherwood Motel. This is a privately owned Motel and the owners do a fantastic job of maintaining the property. The rooms are always clean and nicely appointed. Our favorite building is where the pool is located, but when we stayed a few weeks ago, the only room available was in the single story building. The rooms with just one queen bed are a bit on the small side but still very clean and accommodating. The wifi is great, always a plus for me. And talk about location, the Sherwood is located in the heart of Wellsboro. You can walk everywhere within a matter of minutes. Right across the street is a great little Italian restaurant, a Dunkin Donuts and the landmark Wellsboro Diner. So, in a few years when we go back to the region we will definitely stay at the Sherwood! GREAT MOTEL!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank purplehuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed the town and our Motel. We are sorry you did not like our furnishings we just bought all new for all rooms over the past couple years. All rooms have been totally refurbished with new carpet, wallpaper, paint and furniture. We had done the bed a few years back that was the most important that they get done quickly after our purchase. We are glad to hear though that you would like to come back and we hope to see you again.
Have a wonderful summer.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed here 4 nights in May, in a King room. As usual, I will give you the pros and cons of my stay.

Pros
• Room, bed, linens, towels very clean!
• Digital thermostat makes for fast heat or cooling
• Clean microwave and mini fridge
• Great water pressure – tons of hot water
• Plush towels
• Huge dresser, as well as a small table with 2 sitting chairs
• Flat screen TV, clock radio, iron and board

Cons
• Toilet paper is extremely rough. I haven’t seen such harsh stuff since I was in Cuba.
• No coffee-maker, and no mugs to heat water in the microwave for coffee or tea
• Light switch for bedside lights were way high and out of reach. The effort it took to hang out of bed to turn off the lights would get my heart racing, which is not conducive to sleep. (I saw another room that had a light switch within easy reach. They should all have that).
• Biggest issue for me: Oddly, although it was very quiet between the rooms, you could hear everything going on in the washroom next door, and every time the next room used water, the pipes clanged loudly. One night the neighbor’s toilet was running or something, and the pipes clanged every 2 minutes ALL NIGHT LONG. Even with ear plugs, I got little sleep. This only happened one of the 4 nights I was there, but was enough for me to lower my rating of this otherwise very nice motel.

Tip: Eat at Timeless Destination - 77 Main st. Not something you'd likely go in at first glance, but has great food!

Room Tip: Eat at Timeless Destination - 77 Main st. Not something you'd likely go in at first glance, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blue-J-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your detailed review for future travelers. I know a lot of people use this in determining where to stay.
I am sorry the toilet paper was bad. We actually got a bad case and did not realize it until someone said something to us. It was packaged on the outside the same. We have also switched over the Angel Soft so has not to have that happen again. Please let us know when you are here and we can take care of most everything to make your stay enjoyable.
Also curious if you were staying in the building by the pool. Again someone let us know about noises from the pipes and we hopefully fixed that as well. Maybe that is why you only had problems with that noise one night.
To all travelers it is always helpful if you let the front desk know about anything that you question, do not like or have a problem with. We would like to take of you but, if we do not know we can't fix it. :-) Thanks!!
I am glad you had a good time though and hope to see you again.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

A good motel with lots of rooms and had nice touches such as facial wipes and coffee and oatmeal in the morning. Really close to Tops and other stores. The beds were comfortable and chairs were available for sitting outside. The wifi reception was very good and fast. The rooms were clean but a bit cramped with two beds. Good sized bathroom with good pressure and hot water. They also provide paper towels for wiping down your motorcycle.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us a wonderful review. We hope you will come back to visit us again. It is always nice to hear that people have had a nice visit and enjoyed their room.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stay here a lot on business, and although it doesn't compare with the Hilton in Scranton, etc., the Sherwood is an EXCELLENT choice if you stay in Wellsboro. Decent rooms, great location within walking distance of everything, and a nice (outdoor) pool, which is wonderful in summer if it gets warm enough. Great poolside chairs, and some okay balcony chairs, and definitely very excellent staff. Best choice in Wellsboro (but to be honest, I also stay down the street at Penn Wells a lot... its an olde historic place, and overall not bad, but Sherwood is a great family-run place, and generally better overall)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BenDareDunDat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to send in your review. It is always nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and the area. We hope that you will continue to stay with us when you are in the area.
Thank you
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed just for one night, but we wouldn't hesitate to return if we were in the area again. Our room (#112) had everything a person could possibly want or need - 2 comfortable full size beds, a table, 2 chairs, TV, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, and an ironing board with an iron. Everything was very clean and in good working order.
There is a outdoor pool on the premises (which we didn't try), and we were told that coffee and other beverages are served in the morning in the lobby.
The motel is close to the main shopping district, and there are lots of restaurants and shops and even a movie house in easy walking distance. It is located off a busy street, but our room was very quiet and we slept well.
When we were checking TripAdvisor for a place to stay in Wellsboro we were impressed by the many comments from the owner of the hotel. Please keep up the good work!

Room Tip: We liked #112 (see description above).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reiselust1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to send in this wonderful review. We are pleased that you had a good experience and that you enjoyed your room and the area. We hope that you will visit again.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
649 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
165 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $94 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing