We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Sherwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I enjoyed everything about my stay at Sherwood Motel. Very clean rooms, good location and value. Additionally, the staff is very friendly and helpful with questions about the town and places to sight-see and shop

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremiahPotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 217 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

Room was lovely,clean , and well maintained. Nothing shoddy or showing wear. Staff was friendly. Within walking distance to restaurants and shops in Wellsboro. Reasonable rates. Will be staying there next time we travel to the area. No fancy bells and whistles, just a lovely place to rest after the day's activities.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gramere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

This is a review of a 2 Queen Bed Guestroom. We stayed midweek for 2 nights in February on business travel. Midweek rates in winter (off season) were reasonable at $80.00 plus tax. This was a savings of about $40.00 per night over the Penn Wells Hotel which is next door. Both places offer AAA discounts. The Penn Wells Hotel offers a complimentary breakfast, an indoor swimming pool and a fitness center which we did not need. We spent the savings on dinner.

The Sherwood Motel is accurately and fairly described by its web site. For 2 adults the 2 queen room was, indeed, spacious, when compared to similar spaces in Best Westerns or Comfort Inns. There were bedside tables at bedside heights on each side of each queen bed and there was another located in between the beds. Each table had a drawer and a shelf. Nothing fancy but very functional. There were electric outlets that you could reach between the beds for convenient plug in of stuff. This is a convenience that I appreciate. The beds had been made up of true bedspreads. There were prominent full sized headboards and wall hanging framed country landscapes above. First impression was excellent upon entry and there were no smells. I thought the beds were firm and reasonably comfortable. The pillows, 3 per bed, were also firm and very comfortable, especially when supporting your back against the headboard as you worked on the laptop. Our room's wireless internet access worked flawlessly.

The room was heated by hot water baseboard units which I love. No fussing with hot air extremes of hot one minute and then cold the next. We never needed to adjust the thermostat during our stay. The room had 1 screened window which could be opened for fresh air. This is another room amenity that I give high points for.

Our room was equipped as advertised, with a reasonably sized under counter refrigerator with freezer and a single slice microwave. The carpeted living space was comfortable on bare feet and left no black on white socks. The 32 inch Viore model cable TV swiveled to be viewed from a circular table. There were 2 wing back chairs for sitting at this table but not comfortably for very long. They were not meant to be desk chairs and the table was not meant to be a desk, but we made do, and it was much better than having no space at all. The ideal use of this space was for snacking or staging take out meals.

The bathroom space was floored with linoleum and it was divided by a pocket door, with the toilet and shower on 1 side and the single sink and vanity on the other. A hair dryer was provided. We had acceptable water pressure out of an oversized showerhead that was sparkling clean (no rust, no corrosion, no clogs). The water could get very hot (maybe no scald guard). There was acceptable floor space for toileting for a right hander but a lefty would have some problems as the toilet was located pretty close to the wall on that side. There was discoloration evident on the bathroom floor and the ceiling showed obvious evidence of repair. There was no grab bar for help stepping over the bathtub wall. The ventilation worked appropriately. There was shampoo and conditioner provided. There was acceptable lighting of both bathroom spaces. For muffling of toileting sounds you needed to turn up the volume of the TV.

The carpeted living space and the linoleum bath space were separated by a giant piece of floor molding, which I tripped over several times in bare feet.... a painful experience that took some getting used to. The room had a modest closet space and a reasonably sized chest of drawers that doubled as the TV stand.

Summary. The 2 queen room at the Sherwood Motel provided us with an excellent value and it was spacious, as advertised, at about 350 s.f. of living space and adequate bathroom space. There was excellent artificial lighting and comfortable carpeting. The window opened. The only negatives to report are that there is no coffee/tea maker in the room and there is no grab bar in the bathroom. The wireless access to the internet worked great and parking right outside our door was a great amenity, especially for wintertime. I loved the hot water baseboard heat. We hope we can return to the area when Spring arrives and maybe try out the heated outdoor pool. BTW, the location of the Sherwood Motel offers guests the chance to walk to "downtown" shops and restaurants. I recommend the Dunkin Donuts across the street for early coffee. Be very careful crossing this street. Complimentary coffee was available in the lobby of the Motel from 7 to 9AM. We were not happy with breakfast at the Wellsboro Diner. We did enjoy drinks and dinner and the bartender at the bar at the Timeless Destination Restaurant. The best meal we had was the South of the Border Burger at the Wellsboro House restaurant.
Happy travels!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the second floor since there is no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauiman98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

A group of five of us rode into the Sherwood last Spring while visiting the PA Grand Canyon. Morgan, the young lady who greeted us, was very friendly and efficient. She even offered us towels to wash our motorcycles. As others have said the motel is clean, comfortable, and convenient. We've been to this quaint little burg several times and never tire of the sense of stepping back into slower, friendlier times. Although the fracking crews have jacked-up the economy in this region, there was no evidence of the price gouging plaguing similar boom towns like Minot, ND.

Room Tip: If you ride a motorcycle, always ask for a first floor room with parking just outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you like our area and our Motel.
Although some industries might have raised prices due to the gas businesses in the area we do not do that. We try to keep our rates reasonable for everyone. We have not changed our rates in several years. Also the gas business has slowed down tremendously in the past 2 years. Hope to see you back again at our Motel and area.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Clean, comfortable and convenient!
The room was very clean. Bed and chairs were comfortable. Convenient in-town location. Friendly staff. Our cleaning lady was super nice. Having a small frig and a microwave in the room came in handy. Since it was December, I really loved the fact that the bathroom had an extra heater in it.
This wasn't our first stay at the Sherwood and it certainly won't be our last! It's the only place we stay when in Wellsboro!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel is an excellent lodge (clean, quiet accomodations at a reasonable price, especially the AAA rate) for a night or several if you are visiting the Wilds of PA. Restaurants and/or taverns are within easy walking distance (two or three city blocks). If you want pleasant lodging at a reasonable price the Sherwood should be first on your list. If you want luxury then you shouldn't be in the Wilds of PA in the first place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roadtraveled101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed here on our getaway to explore the Grand Canyon of PA and the surrounding areas. Our stay was very pleasant and our room was very comfortable and clean. The bathroom had a fan and heater, which was a nice amenity. The bed was perfect and our room was quiet. The Sherwood is in a very good central location for all the nearby activities and is easy walking distance to many restaurants and other shopping.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marltondonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking your time to send in a review. We appreciate it very much. We are also happy that you had a good experience and hope you come back to the area for another visit.
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
210 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#3 of 7 in Wellsboro
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
QUALITY INN & SUITES
QUALITY INN & SUITES
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
118 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing