We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WELLSBORO'S BEST”
Review of Sherwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“WELLSBORO'S BEST”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed the first weekend in October. Town was very busy. So glad we made reservations months earlier. As usual the room was spotless and the staff are the best ever. The rates are really reasonable especially for the neatness and cleanliness. We always stay here when we vacation in Wellsboro. If we do not get our room reserved in time, we change our trip to another date. YOU CANNOT FIND BETTER IN WELLSBORO.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all the reviews we get and always enjoy our repeat guests.
We strive to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable.
See you next time
Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    52
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
95
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Wow a real motel experience just like it used to be but brought into today's world. Very comfortable,immaculately clean room . Free wifi that I had no issues with and worked straight for 4 hours on it. Staff friendly and helpful. Convenient to shops and restaurants in this quaint and picturesque setting. A major plus is how reasonable the rates are compared to the other hotels and B & B's in the area. My room was $76 with tax . The nearby Hotels/motels were $125 and up. While I was on business and only stayed the night I think the room with a fridge,microwave,table would be great for a longer stay to enjoy the surrounding area. I will certainly recommend it to friends coming to the Grand Canyon. Kudos to the owners for not upping the rates as others have done in this tracking fringe area. Don't miss the Wellsboro Diner right on the corner, an original 30's diner. You really can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OriginalBookmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Just to clarify for others the rate you had was a one person rate. But, our 2 person rate is still better comparable. (range from $89-$108 depending on room type)
We are glad you had a good experience and hope you will be back for another visit.
Enjoy
Marsha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonsboro, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We enjoyed our short time in Wellsboro and this motel fit right in with the quaint and quiet ambiance of the rest of the town. Just a quick walk to the amazing Wellsboro Diner for a breakfast that included their amazing cinnamon rolls. The price was right and the motel was quiet and clean with a very comfy bed...everything we needed for a nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Sherwood Motel is very well managed by owners, Bob and Marsha Chesko. They take pride in offering an extremely comfortable hotel where all of the employees understand and practice customer service. The room was fully equipped with flat screen TV, microwave/refrigerator, lots of hot water and was very clean. It's location was great for bicylists: access to the Pine Creek Trail, easy walking to excellent restaurants and some shopping. The pool was available and poolside tables made it easy for a lagre group to gather at the end of a day.

Room Tip: Ask for a king room in the back unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jande36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Recently spent the night after beautiful ride from Cleveland. Hotel accommodations are somewhat basic but clean, staff was friendly and bikes were welcome. Hotel provided plate for the kickstand as well as towels to dry the bike in the morning.
Good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosebud02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Great updated motel, very clean, nice pool, heat switch in bathroom, love that. Location was very convenient for walking to some really good restaurants and shops, very helpful and friendly staff. Wellsboro is a beautiful small town. Close to Grand Canyon of Pa., the reason we were there.
Enjoyed sitting on the 2nd fl walkway (after a busy day) on the nice canvas and wood chairs, no cheap plastic chairs at the Sherwood.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have trouble with stairs, ask for the first floor. No restaurant, but free c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

8/25/2013

Great location, friendly front desk. The room is nice enough in appearance, but cramped with a king bed, 2 high-backed wing chairs for sitting and a small round table. This is another motel that has its AC in a location that freezes anyone near it ... which include the desk and sitting chairs.

The bed is firm, almost hard ....but very comfortable to sleep on.

There are NO coffee makers in the room, which is a rarity in motels/hotels these days. To get coffee, you need to go to the front desk and lug it back to your room, which can be a problem if your room is at the far end of the property.

Internet is free, but how do you connect? Follow the instructions in the hotel's guide and you get connected, but not all the way through to the Internet. Bring up a browser and it wants a user name and password. The instructions just say call the ISP provider. It does have a note saying that if there ANY problems, call the ISP provider and pay for a connection if none are available at the hotel. I finally find a tent card with a user id and password, but a different ssid. Of course it is a ssid that does not show up as one available. I finally try the SSID listed in the room's internet instruction and the user id/password on the tent card and voila, an Internet connection. Of course if the cell phone service were any good in this area, I could have tethered to that, but cell service here was sporadic to non-existent (Consumer Cellular and Tracfone).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rft0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#5 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Property: Sherwood Motel
Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing