We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Folks Look Elsewhere”
Review of Sherwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We read all the good reviews and I guess ignored the bad ones. Seriously I have never wrote a review in my life but had to here. The people were very snobbish, the rooms were musty and run down. Walls were so thin you could hear people talking in the next room. We had a room with a whirlpool tub, it was filthy. The water was brownish. I could go on but just look elsewhere

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mchesko, Owner at Sherwood Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Like all of our reviews I respond back directly to the person who has sent in the review. But, I also wanted to address this online as well. I was shocked by the review not only from the whirlpool comment but, also the run down comment. Our number one priority is cleanliness and we get a lot of comments on how clean the rooms are. If this was correct it is not acceptable and wish we were made aware of this at the time to see it for our self so we could address it right away. We would have taken care of it, moved the guest and/or refunded the money if we were shown. Brown water, no one else had said they had this issue so it would have been helpful to see this and if there was a problem we would be able to fix it. We have to rely on people in the room making us aware of things like this in case of a plumbing issue for us to repair. Of course, we also rely on our housekeepers as our first eyes so that we can maintain all of our rooms also. We do go through the rooms and do preventive maintenance and touch ups as well in between major renovations.
Regarding the run down comment I would like to know which room this guest is referring to as we had renovated all our rooms with new furniture, new carpet, new wallpaper, ceiling, paint, bathroom flooring so I am confused on that issue.
We take pride is maintaining our property and work hard at making it a very clean and comfortable establishment while people are traveling while still being one of the less expensive in the area.
I am sorry that this guest did not have a good experience but, I am a bit confused on all that was said given all the renovations and upkeep that we do. We are not perfect by any means.
I know if I had experienced all that this person had I would have been talking to the management to show them not only to see what they would do but, also to make sure it was addressed.
We appreciate all reviews given as it shows us what our travelers need and expect.
Thank you for all that take the time in writing reviews and please remember if there are problems to let the establishment know then so they can address them before the next guest arrives.
Thank you again
Marsha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

The staff at Sherwood Motel is great! They will always go out of their way to assist you and make sure you have everything you need. The location of the motel is near walking distance to restaurants as well as other local shops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is a very nice motel, reasonably priced and motorcycle friendly! About 10 miles from the PA Grand Canyon and great restaurants and shops within walking distance. Would love to stay again in the fall!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdsadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at the Shewood over-night. We were greeted immediately and made to feel very welcome. We arrived by motorcycle and this is definitely a cycle friendly Motel. We were provided with a kickstand rest and there was a covered area with soap, hose and towels to clean our bike. Our room was clean and inviting. The pool area was also very clean. It is "family" friendly. They are situated right in the center of town and within walking distance to a lot. I would and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fransac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent 4 nights here. We were a little apprehensive because it was our first time staying at a motel, but decided to give it a shot over other area hotels after reading the reviews. Room was very clean and in very convenient location with attentive cleaning staff.Along with hiking we spent time at the pool with a large group of golfers staying there also.We had so much fun we already booked a two night stay this September.Thanks Sherwood!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roughiechik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The Sherwood Motel was our home for a short, but relaxing night before starting a weekend backpacking trip in the Grand Canyon of PA. We arrived in time for a late dinner nearby and then retreated to our room, which was on the second floor in the farthest building. It was nicely-sized, quiet and felt recently renovated...the decor was typical but it was very clean and the bed was quite comfortable. In anticipation of the upcoming days of sleeping in a tent, we appreciated the good night's rest and the awesome shower!

Room Tip: Our room with a king bed was on the 2nd floor in the building at the very back of the property - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We when there with 12 other couple for a two days of golf. Only problem was it was 95 degrees on the course, too much heat.

But after golf half of us got into the pool and had a great time.

Wellsboro nice friendly town, that you can walk to dinner from the motel.

Coffee in the morning

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#3 of 7 in Wellsboro
650 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.5 mi away
QUALITY INN & SUITES
QUALITY INN & SUITES
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
118 reviews
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $94 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing