We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good motel for a one night stay near pine creek gorge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sherwood Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sherwood Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A good motel for a one night stay near pine creek gorge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We were looking for an accomodation near pine creek gorge, so we were lucky that the Sherwood Motel in Wellsboro had a vacant room for us.

Unfortunately there was a general warning in the Wellsboro area that water had to be boiled before drinking it due to the weather conditiions during the last days. Therefore we got a small complementary bottle of water each when we were checking in.

We had a room with two doubles and that was quite ok. In the morning we recognised some problem with the flushing tank and reported it to the reception.

Apart from this the room was ok, comfortable and clean, the staff was friendly, there was no breakfast in the morning but free coffee at the reception. So we were very satisfied with the motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rheinland-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    52
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
47
95
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Erie, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Last year we ended up having to stay at another property because we didn't book in advance! This year I made sure we had a reservation, and then when we wanted to stay an extra night they were more than happy to accomodate us, even though it meant moving our stuff to a different room. There was someone with a disability that had already reserved our first floor room, but it was a very minor inconvience to move upstairs. Super clean place! We enjoyed it so much that we booked 3 rooms for a return visit next year with some friends.

My only comment is that coffee is only available in the lobby from 7-9AM. When we first arrived I thought they meant 7AM-9PM, as it is customary if it is not in the rooms to make it available in the lobby. If they added a Keurig it would be pretty much perfect for a small town Hotel.

Room Tip: There are 3 buildings, the one farthest from the street is king rooms and the one's closest to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atyger7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This motel is ok. The location is great! The rooms are generally clean and comfoartable. The staff was not very helpful and seemed to resent the fact that I was staying there. I was curious why this was one of the only motels i could book last minute.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nemlas1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

We were in on a motorcycling long weekend in Wellsboro this past weekend (May 19-21) stayed at the Penn Wells Lodge next door to the Sherwood. We booked 4 rooms at the Sherwood a few months ago for June 23rd as a stop over on our way to West Virginia. My husband was also in Wellsboro the weekend before and confirmed with the Sherwood that the 4 rooms were booked for us on the 23rd. He was told YES!!! When our friends went to confirm again this weekend we were told by the lovely lady behind the counter (hopefully you can hear my sarcasim) that the rooms were booked for the 30th..I don't think so.... we will be in West Virginia on the 30th. Strange how something like that can change from one weekend to the next.... hmmmm... But she did tell us that she had a wedding and golf tournament on the weekend of the 23rd... I can just imagine the nightmare if our group would have shown up after riding 8-10 hours on the 23rd and no rooms were available. Maybe it was decided that the other two groups could fill up her hotel and our 4 rooms were not important... oh well!!!! Therefore, long story short... we cancelled and went down the street to the Canyon hotel...

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank hettymcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Almost every Spring I bring a group of friends to Wellsboro for a rafting trip. We generally book 4-5 rooms and have always had exceptional service and very clean rooms during our stay. The value is very good too. I was reading some of the other reviews and now wonder what planet Gene G comes from? The prices have been close to the same for over 10 years now with slight increases as expected. Gene needs to sleep in his car and stay out of Wellsboro since he is obviously the dim light on the Christmas tree. LOL

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuck517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We were visiting family and found the Sherwood to be a very good choice for our needs. When searching for hotels, I was surprised at the high prices but learned that this is due to the influx of gas workers. Once I got over that, the Sherwood looked to be a bit better value than the others and after our trip I would say that it was.

The room was very clean and had a microwave and fridge. It was small, but enough room for the two of us (a two-bed room). Everything worked great - TV with many stations, wi-fi, shower, etc. It was very clean, though dated. The owner was helpful with tips about restaurants, etc. If I were coming back to Wellsboro I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara9889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

This is my favorite place to stay when visiting Wellsboro, the owners are friendly and take pride in their property. My room has always been clean and comfortable and the price is truly a value when compared to other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
0.0 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#5 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sherwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sherwood Motel

Property: Sherwood Motel
Address: 2 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1619
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sherwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
42 Non-smoking comfortable rooms conveniently located in downtown Historic Wellsboro. AAA approved. 15 Minute drive to the PA Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Sherwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing