We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleep in your car instead!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2009

This is the second time because of availability that I had to stay at the Penn Wells. They have noisy radiators in every room, I know because i have been moved 3 times between 2 stays. They have slow if any internet at all. They have no business capabilities at all. No business center, no copy machine and no email. They check you in on a computer running DOS and have the original prototype for a fax machine and that's it. Sleep in your car if your booked here. The rooms are tiny and dirty to top it off. I now know that some version of hell is a clicking radiator.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler12345678919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 650 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2009

Filthy dirty everywhere you look. Elevators, hall ways, and roaches in our room. This place needs a million dollar renovation. 6 miles into Manfield and you'll find a spotless Comfort Inn with a really beautiful Italian restaurat to walk to. Or Wrens Nest in downdown. I was looking for more character in a hotel, but found nothing but filth so I checked out early and went to Mansfield. I've traveled everywhere and I've stayed in everything from a Ritz to this. Don't make a mistake! $89 will get you a clean room.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandTFugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2009

The lobby , bar and dining room were very nice. But upon exiting the elevator on the 3rd floor, the carpet was stained and dirty. When we opened the door to our room, there was a musty, unpleasant smell. Our room was very small. Furnishings not at all as expected. Was only one light in room, on night stand. No ceiling light. Closet was very small. Not much room to get around the bed. The bathroom was ridiculous. Wallpaper was peeling, your legs were literally under the sink when you used the toilet. The sink was very low. Had to bend over to brush teeth or wash face. No tub and the shower was very small. Had breakfast in the dining room. Horrible. Omelet was swimming in grease. Was slimy and didn't even look right. Couldn't finish eating it. Prefab sausage and home fries. Was expecting the food to be as good as the dining room looked. Will never stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kabPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2009

very clean, not much noise at all...there was a biker rally there and you couldn't even tell. Room was nice and price wasn't bad either. Very close to the Canyon

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Janjanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Do not stay here. My husband and I checked into the hotel and had a room with a queen bed. The room was very small and very grungy. They were doing work on the main road so we asked to be moved to the lodge. We had to pay an additional $8.00 (no big deal) and got a room with two double beds. The room did have wifi but room was very gross. The carpet was so dirty that I had to keep my shoes on at all times. The bathroom was actually the cleanest of the whole room/building. We were told that the work would not be going on in front of the lodge but guess what, it was and it want on all night long. I would not recommend this hotel/lodge.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaver_PAJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at the Penn Wells Lodge in June, because of the pool for our son. We wanted to have a nice relaxing stay and were told the Penn Wells was the nicest in the area....what a complete lie! First when we called to check for availability, we were told we had to get to the hotel immediately if we wanted the room, they wouldn't hold it for us on our credit card because they said it was a busy weekend, so we rearranged our plans headed right there, checked in, only to find out once we pried our way into the room that the maid wouldn't be cleaning the disgusting room for 3 hours, we had asked for a non smoking room, which had been smoked in, and smelled like a combination of mold and cigarette smoke..the bathroom tub, toilet and sink never did get cleaned. Our key cards didn't work (in both doors), we were told we did not know how to use them, and then the manager couldn't get the key cards to work either- (but never apologized for giving us a hard time) OR would the actual metal key work so-we were told maintenance had been called and would come soon...maintenance never showed ever over the course of 2 days!!! It was the weekend of the car rally so we were in and out of the room all day both days and we waited 45 minutes everytime we needed to get into our room for the manager to act all annoyed while trying to figure out how to get the key to unlock the doors. We weren't allowed a room upgrade, knowng full well there was a room available; I asked if there was an available room after overhearing the clerk tell someone on the phone they had a room available, but was not allowed to switch. Also they wouldn't let us have the key so that going in and out wouldn't take us just under an hour to get in to our room, and they wanted us to prop open our door so they could figure out how to fix it- no one ever apologized for any of the mishaps and we were given blank stares everytime we asked to speak to the owner. And then when we got the owner to speak with us, she wouldn't do anything about the situation. We didn't even get a full refund for wasting our time and money!!! I have never had such a horrible experience with a hotel in my entire life and I have traveled around the world and stayed in many hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lizzytish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in the Hotel in an upgraded room. To be honest I was a little disappointed. The room was very small and I thought overpriced for what it was.
There was nowhere to put your suitcase that wouldnt have been in the way (we ended up stacking them on the desk) and if you left the bathroom door open you would knock yourself out coming into the room.
There was however plenty of towels and ample hot water any time of the day.
Would highly recommend eating in the restaurant as the food was excellent and unlike the room not overpriced.
The lobby was also nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
192 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
12 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
QUALITY INN & SUITES
QUALITY INN & SUITES
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 7 in Wellsboro
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing