We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GROSS, GROSS, GROSS”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GROSS, GROSS, GROSS”
Reviewed September 12, 2009

Do not stay here. My husband and I checked into the hotel and had a room with a queen bed. The room was very small and very grungy. They were doing work on the main road so we asked to be moved to the lodge. We had to pay an additional $8.00 (no big deal) and got a room with two double beds. The room did have wifi but room was very gross. The carpet was so dirty that I had to keep my shoes on at all times. The bathroom was actually the cleanest of the whole room/building. We were told that the work would not be going on in front of the lodge but guess what, it was and it want on all night long. I would not recommend this hotel/lodge.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaver_PAJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    219
    100
    43
    32
See reviews for
165
322
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed at the Penn Wells Lodge in June, because of the pool for our son. We wanted to have a nice relaxing stay and were told the Penn Wells was the nicest in the area....what a complete lie! First when we called to check for availability, we were told we had to get to the hotel immediately if we wanted the room, they wouldn't hold it for us on our credit card because they said it was a busy weekend, so we rearranged our plans headed right there, checked in, only to find out once we pried our way into the room that the maid wouldn't be cleaning the disgusting room for 3 hours, we had asked for a non smoking room, which had been smoked in, and smelled like a combination of mold and cigarette smoke..the bathroom tub, toilet and sink never did get cleaned. Our key cards didn't work (in both doors), we were told we did not know how to use them, and then the manager couldn't get the key cards to work either- (but never apologized for giving us a hard time) OR would the actual metal key work so-we were told maintenance had been called and would come soon...maintenance never showed ever over the course of 2 days!!! It was the weekend of the car rally so we were in and out of the room all day both days and we waited 45 minutes everytime we needed to get into our room for the manager to act all annoyed while trying to figure out how to get the key to unlock the doors. We weren't allowed a room upgrade, knowng full well there was a room available; I asked if there was an available room after overhearing the clerk tell someone on the phone they had a room available, but was not allowed to switch. Also they wouldn't let us have the key so that going in and out wouldn't take us just under an hour to get in to our room, and they wanted us to prop open our door so they could figure out how to fix it- no one ever apologized for any of the mishaps and we were given blank stares everytime we asked to speak to the owner. And then when we got the owner to speak with us, she wouldn't do anything about the situation. We didn't even get a full refund for wasting our time and money!!! I have never had such a horrible experience with a hotel in my entire life and I have traveled around the world and stayed in many hotels.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizzytish25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Stayed here for two nights in the Hotel in an upgraded room. To be honest I was a little disappointed. The room was very small and I thought overpriced for what it was.
There was nowhere to put your suitcase that wouldnt have been in the way (we ended up stacking them on the desk) and if you left the bathroom door open you would knock yourself out coming into the room.
There was however plenty of towels and ample hot water any time of the day.
Would highly recommend eating in the restaurant as the food was excellent and unlike the room not overpriced.
The lobby was also nicely appointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lyncal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We were told the two-room suite we reserved in this charming looking, early 1900's historic hotel was "totally refurbished". They didn't say what year!

The lamps and furniture are 1980's and cheap. There is no decorating in the dark-dreary rooms to make it welcoming or pleasant. It certainly did not fit the charm or time period of the outside of the hotel!

One of the double beds was comfortable, the other sagged deeply in the middle. The sheets and pillowcases were clean and nice.

The bathtub was disgusting with dirty grouting, rusty faucets, and stains on the tub floor. The shower head dripped all night, no matter how hard we tried to stop it.

I'm not a germ freak and in all my travels, I've never been leery of walking on the floor barefoot....not on this grimy carpet!

The second room of the 'suite' was long and narrow. It had a well-worn sofa-bed and chair, and nice sized TV on the wall 4 ft. from the sofa! The room was too narrow to open the sofa bed.

We were told the suite was the best location in the house. The window air conditioner brought in noise from the outside....loud motorcycles, trucks, even voices.

I didn't see a fire escape plan or extinguisher. Maybe I missed it. The original, old elevator was very slow. Sometimes it worked... We gave up and used the stairs.

The men at the front desk tried to be helpful, but certainly didn't present an attractive first impression or appearance for the hotel.

We were traveling in an SUV with a small motorcycle trailer behind it. The manager said there was not room for both in the hotel's parking lot. We'd have to park in his other lot 5 blocks away that was stone and mud. Eventually, we parked in a nearby, private blacktop parking lot with "no parking" signs posted! Thankfully it was the weekend and the lot was empty.

The swimming pool and fitness room were also 5 blocks away in this hotel's other faciltity. I don't consider this an onsite gym and pool. We didn't investigate the other facility, but the outside of the buildings did not look appealing.

The hotel's restaurant looked fancy from a distance, and their buffet sounded good. We asked for recommendations in town and no one suggested this hotel. We didn't try it.

Because of its central location downtown Westboro, we had planned to stay 3 nights at this hotel. We only stayed one night and moved down the street for the next two nights.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thelma53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

The man said room was renovated on phone. Paid extra for renovated room. Well the room was not renevated and was not as described on phone. Carpet stained, shower fixture circa 1900. Some pealing paint. Bed was bowed in. Checked in then shortly after checked out with refund. Went down the street to the Canyon Motel, room is very spacious, a tremendous improvement for less money.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ABreviewer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2009

Rooms wer terrible, bed was the worst i ever slept on. Shower curtain was molded. Would have checked out and stayed somewere else but everything was booked. Should of just slept in vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WestVirginiaJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

My husband and I spent Friday and Saturday backpacking and camping out. We reserved the Penn Wells Hotel fot Saturday evening. Much more comfy than a tent! The lobby and dining area are beautiful and full of character. the staff was friendly and helpful. Our rooms were very clean but old and outdated (and very small). The carpet in the hall to our room was very stained. All in all it was an enjoyable evening. If you are simply looking for a place to sleep with out alot of frills this is a great value.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
76 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
30 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing