We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and centrally located”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Stayed in lodge - amenities were clean and location was great. Nice breakfast and the indoor pool and spa was also nice. Would recommend if looking for a place to stay in the Wellsboro-PA Grand Canyon area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ScreenNameAvailabl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 624 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed one night in the hotel (not the lodge which is a block or two down the street). The lobby is nice with a bar and restaurant. The hotel is very old but I was pleasantly surprised to not notice it too much once we were in our room. The room was very small and the bathroom is classic: pedestal sink, high ceilings, etc. The room was very clean and thankfully did not smell old.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dbish33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Old world charm. Beautiful place inside. Food was fantastic. Staff was very friendly. Rooms are on the smaller side but it is an old building. Lounge was fantastic, with a great atmosphere. Will stay there again with no hesitation. Rooms were clean too.

Room Tip: You can stay in the hotel which is the older building but doesn't have the pool or you can stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

Clean and modern facilities, friendly staff, pool and hot tub all lead to a relaxing wonderful stay. Highly recommend if visiting the area of Wellsboro- Pa Grand Canyon area, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fredric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

The hotel was dated, but clean. Fine for our purposes. Mattress was comfortable, room was small. Window airconditioners, which may have helped block out unwanted noise so we didn't mind. We happen to enjoy funky, out of the way, unique places so we were happy with it. If you're looking for 5 star hotel accomodations, look elsewhere. It was great being in town with restaurants and shops in walking distance. We arrived in town rather late, travelers should be aware that there doesn't seem to be anywhere in Wellsboro that serves dinner after 9:00 p.m. so plan accordingly. We did manage to get a decent meal in the lounge after nine. There was a good jazz/blues band playing, nice, small crowd and it was pleasant. The breakfast buffet was adequate; nothing more. One of our party suffers a gluten intolerance and luckily she nabbed the last gluten free yogurt, otherwise there would have been nothing for her at the breakfast buffet except for fruit and juice and coffee. A hard boiled egg would have been nice! If you have a great need to be "connected" be aware that the wi-fi is slow and apparently only one person from a room can be connected at a time. We would definitely return to the Penn Wells Hotel, it was a pleasant experience overall. Take it in context of the area and town you are visiting and enjoy! Small town America isn't meant to be the same as urban America!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Suzanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night before heading to the finger lakes. This was a very charming place to stay and definitely affordable. Great location, right in the middle of Wellsboro, next to the movie theater. We enjoyed walking around town and exploring

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jldissinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Spent a weekend here with a group of friends. Went to the hotel first only to be informed we would be in the lodge. Our room was in the new part of the Lodge and was clean and modern, some of our group were in the older parts and found their rooms clean and well kept but in need of some updating. We would meet in the hotel bar prior to eating and found it to be a really good place to have a drink and socialize. The included breakfast was sufficient.

Room Tip: Find out prior to going if you are in the hotel or lodge as they are a couple of blocks apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
210 reviews
12 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
33 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 7 in Wellsboro
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sherwood Motel
Sherwood Motel
#4 of 7 in Wellsboro
217 reviews
3 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Wellsboro
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $111 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing