We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly service and great location. Hotel is dated.”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
WORCESTER
Level Contributor
644 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly service and great location. Hotel is dated.”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed at the hotel, not the lodge. We found the hotel to be clean, and new furniture in the room but the hotel was very dated. Our room had green rug that looked to be about 20 years old, but it was clean. There was no artwork on the walls, which was odd, it felt like a college dorm. Especially considering how his historic this place is, how much in the local area there is to photograph, I was surprised. The floors creaked as you walked around in the room and the floor in the hallway was very uneven. We stayed over 4th of July weekend and we chose not to stay at the lodge because it was twice the price of the hotel, but I think we should have just stayed at the lodge. However I loved the location of the hotel, great to walk downtown. I wish we had more time so we could have enjoyed a drink at the bar, it looked really nice. And we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the dining room. I thought the dining room was beautiful. The ceilings need work in the dining room but everything else is beautiful.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room overlooking Main street, otherwise you will get a room looking into t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbugsforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    217
    98
    43
    32
See reviews for
164
318
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

I noticed that most if the more recent reviews were great so we gave this place a try on our way to the PA Grand Canyon. Followed the advice of others on TA and picked a sweet in the new section on the lodge. The people were friendly, the room and lobby were clean, the price was very reasonable, and the breakfast was filling. Couldn't ask for a better night's stay!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Penn Wells Hotel and enjoyed it's old charm and historic qualities. The feel of the hotel is that of stepping back in time. Although old, the rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the hotel's bar which was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The hotel offers continental breakfast which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJEllis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
224 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the LODGE and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are modern, updated and clean. If you are looking for a typical hotel to stay at in the area, then this is your place. There is a nice indoor pool, which we did not use... but a nice option. The complimentary breakfast is also nicely done.

The location is nice in downtown Wellsboro, walking distance to restaurants. And also only 10 miles from the Pine Creek Gorge.

Room Tip: The Lodge is the updated, modern option. The Hotel is the old, traditional option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAP647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What can I say about a great find? Clean, pleasant, great ambiance, wonderful caring staff. I could go on and on. It is the place to stay when in the area.
Not far from "The Grand Canyon of Pensylvania." The town, alone, is worth the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Wellsboro, PA to ride our bikes on the Pine Creek Rail Trail. This was our second visit. The first time we stayed outside of town and this time decided to stay in town. Even though the Penn Wells Hotel did not get the top reviews we decided to stay there anyway. It is located in the very center of town in the midst of everything. The hotel is well over 100 years old. Many reviewers complained about this, but it's an old hotel. It has not been updated in years but that's the charm. It was very clean, even the public areas and the bed was a new pillow top. Dave at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. He took the time to tell us all about the hotel including giving us a printout describing the complete history. The restaurant was lovely. It was again very old, but classy and elegant without high menu prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. They served a hot breakfast the second morning we stayed (first morning was a discounted brunch that we skipped because we wanted to get an early start). It was delicious. Mary, the lady who serves the breakfast actually bakes homemade muffins every day that were delicious. She even gave us a bag to take some with us for our ride home. We enjoyed this hotel much better then the place we had stayed a few years before that had cost us double. I would highly recommend this hotel to those of you who like old places. The only thing I can say negative is that the room was somewhat small, but we didn't spend much time in it anyway. And again, that was part of the charm.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room was clean and a suite, so plenty of room, full size fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Bed was comfy. I would stay there again. However, the inside of coffee maker (where you pour the water) was not clean, looked like someone poured coffee in it and it wasn't cleaned out. Also the 2 women that brought our towels were mumbling something when they left about us requesting towels. We asked for more because there were 2 in the room and 4 of us sleeping there. The other odd thing was that one of the women that brought us the towels found us in the pool area and came in to tell us to take our beverage out of the pool area like it said on the sign (sign was hidden behind some big object covered with a sheet) and she was barefoot and her feet were filthy. We asked if she worked there and she said yes and went to the front desk. The rest of the staff at the desk was extremely helpful and friendly and clean and had their shoes on. The continental breakfast was acceptable, wish there were eggs of some sort.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice with a bedroom with 2 beds, a pull out couch and a living/kitchen combo. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatDenosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#4 of 6 in Wellsboro
39 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
30 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing