We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Night's Stay”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed overnight at the Penn Wells Hotel and enjoyed it's old charm and historic qualities. The feel of the hotel is that of stepping back in time. Although old, the rooms and hotel were very clean and comfortable. We also enjoyed the hotel's bar which was very reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The hotel offers continental breakfast which was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJEllis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (650)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 650 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at the LODGE and really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are modern, updated and clean. If you are looking for a typical hotel to stay at in the area, then this is your place. There is a nice indoor pool, which we did not use... but a nice option. The complimentary breakfast is also nicely done.

The location is nice in downtown Wellsboro, walking distance to restaurants. And also only 10 miles from the Pine Creek Gorge.

Room Tip: The Lodge is the updated, modern option. The Hotel is the old, traditional option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAP647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What can I say about a great find? Clean, pleasant, great ambiance, wonderful caring staff. I could go on and on. It is the place to stay when in the area.
Not far from "The Grand Canyon of Pensylvania." The town, alone, is worth the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeamusOmaoflhbhail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Wellsboro, PA to ride our bikes on the Pine Creek Rail Trail. This was our second visit. The first time we stayed outside of town and this time decided to stay in town. Even though the Penn Wells Hotel did not get the top reviews we decided to stay there anyway. It is located in the very center of town in the midst of everything. The hotel is well over 100 years old. Many reviewers complained about this, but it's an old hotel. It has not been updated in years but that's the charm. It was very clean, even the public areas and the bed was a new pillow top. Dave at the front desk was very friendly and accommodating. He took the time to tell us all about the hotel including giving us a printout describing the complete history. The restaurant was lovely. It was again very old, but classy and elegant without high menu prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner. They served a hot breakfast the second morning we stayed (first morning was a discounted brunch that we skipped because we wanted to get an early start). It was delicious. Mary, the lady who serves the breakfast actually bakes homemade muffins every day that were delicious. She even gave us a bag to take some with us for our ride home. We enjoyed this hotel much better then the place we had stayed a few years before that had cost us double. I would highly recommend this hotel to those of you who like old places. The only thing I can say negative is that the room was somewhat small, but we didn't spend much time in it anyway. And again, that was part of the charm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Betty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room was clean and a suite, so plenty of room, full size fridge and Keurig coffee maker. Bed was comfy. I would stay there again. However, the inside of coffee maker (where you pour the water) was not clean, looked like someone poured coffee in it and it wasn't cleaned out. Also the 2 women that brought our towels were mumbling something when they left about us requesting towels. We asked for more because there were 2 in the room and 4 of us sleeping there. The other odd thing was that one of the women that brought us the towels found us in the pool area and came in to tell us to take our beverage out of the pool area like it said on the sign (sign was hidden behind some big object covered with a sheet) and she was barefoot and her feet were filthy. We asked if she worked there and she said yes and went to the front desk. The rest of the staff at the desk was extremely helpful and friendly and clean and had their shoes on. The continental breakfast was acceptable, wish there were eggs of some sort.

Room Tip: The suites were very nice with a bedroom with 2 beds, a pull out couch and a living/kitchen combo. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatDenosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had a lovely stay in the Penn Wells Hotel. As soon as you step inside there is a welcoming smokey smell. We loved the American flag made out of light bulbs. This hotel was the perfect base for us to hike Pine Creek Gorge. There were lovely old photographs lining the walls of the dining area. The hotel reminded us of the overlook hotel from The Shining- I don't mean that in a bad way! The staff were incredibly friendly and we had a tasty breakfast. Those homemade muffins were to die for. There is an awesome small cinema almost next door to the hotel and the Wellsboro diner is just across the road. My only gripe was although Wifi was complementary it only allowed one user at a time per room to access, so my boyfriend and I had to take turns to check facebook etc. We really loved this hotel and had a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Ladies,
The room is very spacious! We had a suite, 2 queen beds and a kitchen living room. Very clean! Vanity is outsider of the actual bathroom so there is privacy. Only 1 mirror in the room, so you have time things if you have more than 2 needing a mirror. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They allowed all 16 of us to check out separately. The pool police was not very pleasant. No drinks in the pool area, plastic container or not.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#2 of 7 in Wellsboro
189 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
12 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
QUALITY INN & SUITES
QUALITY INN & SUITES
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 7 in Wellsboro
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing