We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for pets,nothing fancy,nice pool”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2008

well, we been to wellsboro many times in the last twenty years and this is the first time we had stayed in the lodge.we stayed here because we have a dog and thay take pets.we normally stay at the sherwood next door which is nicer [place in our opinion.anyway,the room was small and it smelled musty but it was clean so was the over all property.the staff was nice and the pool was verry clean.the only other thing that we did not like was the fact that the room did not have a microwave or a refridgerator in it.over all it was a good stay,

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank PAULO91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Penn Wells Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

641 - 645 of 645 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2008

Date: July 2, 2008

Having spent several nights in the Penn Wells Hotel some years ago, we decided on this trip to try the Lodge. I booked the room by phone directly with the Penn Wells staff & emailed them to ascertain that the room had internet access, something that we always insist on for both business and personal reasons. On 5/20/08, I received an email from the Penn Wells that said "Yes, we have free wireless internet access at both the hotel and the lodge. Just ask for the user name and pass code when you check in".

We checked into the Lodge and though it was clean and servicable, it was a bit dated. There was a letter in the desk drawer from the General Manager touting the upgrades that were happening at the property and asking us to call him if we had a problem. The only upgrade that we noticed in our room was a newer AC/heating unit. We found that we did not have internet access so I went to the office to find out why and was told that only some rooms in the lodge have internet and ours was not one of them. The only solution offered by the clerk was that I could "bring my laptop to the lobby". Well, it was late in the day and I thought it better to wait until next morning, when I would chat with the General Manager.

Next morning I called the extention for the General Manager and left him a message, asking him to get back to me. No one ever returned my call. Late in the afternoon, I called the front desk again asking for the General Manager and was informed that he no longer was employed there. I was turned over to a senior clerk at The Lodge who was not a bit sympathetic, though she did admit that WiFi was clearly advertised even though it was not available in our building. She finally offered to give us another room. Since it was late in the afternoon and we had plans for the evening, we declined as we would be leaving in the AM.

In short, the Lodge was OK but nothing fancy and without the charm of the Hotel. I suggest that, if it is important to you, make sure the room you reserve has Internet access. Better yet, we checked out the Sherwood Hotel next door and found the rates to be less and the facilities seemingly much nicer. The clerk we spoke with was very helpful and we found that the Sherwood had amenities lacking at the Penn Wells Lodge. We will not stay at The Lodge again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arkay53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2007

We are "regulars" at the Penn Wells, having celebrated close to fifteen New Year's Eves there. They have a nice pakage deal that is very reasonable - does not include open bar but that is OK by us. We're in our forties and most of the guests are older, much older, but we love the big band music!!! We check into the Hotel early in the day, shop the quaint village, have lunch at Native Bagel (highly recommend - GREAT sandwiches) and enjoy the pool/spa/workout room at the Penn Wells Lodge. The Hotel itself is always decorated so beautifully for the holidays and we enjoy cocktails in the pub where there is always a fire in the fireplace. The evening begins with a delicious buffet dinner in the lovely dining room; the best prime rib. Then they turn the dining area into party central for the remainder of the evening. You can order drinks from the bar or go back and forth to your room ( cheap champagne is provided at midnight). The next morning, they serve a wonderful Brunch, included with your package - eggs benedict, fresh Belgian waffles and a chocolate fountain plus lots more.
True, the rooms in the hotel are "vintage" but, quite frankly, that's part of it's appeal to us. The carpet and furniture are worn and have both seen better days. They have renovated some common areas and some of the rooms. Some have updated bedding and new TVs. When booking, we always ask regarding what rooms are available, what has been renovated, etc.... We also know which rooms to avoid as some are on the small side. You can book the Lodge down the road for the package but we really like having a room right in the hotel, upstairs from the party. The lodge is OK , more modern but certainly not luxury acommodations. A littel drab and musty.
The staff are very nice and the location, right in the center of the village is perfect. The village streets are lined with gas lit street lamps. Very "It's a Wonderful Life" during the holidays.
We travel to Wellsboro other times of the year to bike and X country ski the Pine Creek Trail. The PA "Grand Canyon" is a sight to see any time of year. On those trips, we opt for lodging at the Canyon Motel as it better meets are needs but I can't imagine spending New Year's Eve anywhere else but the Penn Wells Hotel . It's not a crazy party atmosphere with drunken first timers falling all over the place. It just NICE .

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2007

As a family we traveled to the Wellsboro area in late October to view the the beautiful foliage and the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania. We stayed in the Penn Wells lodge. The building maintenance was just above average. However, the indoor pool, jaquzzi, and exercise room were clean and well attended. The lodge employees were very cordial and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ninety-nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

Wellsboro is our last stop for our road trip from DC-Toronto/Niagara Falls. The town is very well maintained and quaint thus quite charming.

Based on the reviews, I tried to book a night for us (my husband, 2 kids aged 5 & 7) at Colton Point but it was booked. I finally reserved a night at Penn-Wells Hotel & Lodge. I only wanted to book the lodge as suggested by other reviewers and there was only one room left.

Pros: Penn Wells Hotel and the Lodge (the lodge is a block from the original Penn Wells Hotel) is on the Main Street and the Main Street is where all the craft/antique shops, restaurants are .... 1-2 blocks long with charming street lights ... clean. The location is convenient. There is CVS/Dunkin Donuts and a grocery store across the street. The staff was VERY personable and friendly. The swimming pool was huge. They were checking the 'chemical levels' at the pool. It seem like it was well maintained and fairly clean and of good size though it was old. 10 to 15 mins drive to one of the vistas for Grand Canyon. The vistas and the views of the surrounding areas were really amazing.

Cons: When we first walked into the room, there was this strong odor ... seemed to be of dampness ... or just something very old .... I immediately checked the sheets and they're okay. The smell seems to come from the carpet. The place "looks' clean though dated and pretty old. There was no vacancy anywhere so we had to stay. We asked for air freshener and it just disguised the original smell. The staff said it was probably from the carpet. We had to leave the sliding balcony door open while blasting the AC to manage the odor all night long (we couldn't get rid of it after having the door opened for a few hours). It can be just an isolated incident but .... the strong odor makes it one of the worst hotel/motel room night stays we had. We paid about $100+/night . It is not the most expensive hotel night we had but it was the worst for value. I will not recommend it despite of the very very nice people who work there.

3  Thank bolityzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
136 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range: $107 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing