We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This hotel is like a blast from the past. It was very charming and quaint, but definitely old. The elevator has a maximum of 4 passengers. We traveled with another couple, and were given adjoining rooms, which added to our pleasure. We laughed at the TV in the other room, as it was only about 21 inches. We did appreciate the free WiFi, but no flat screens in this place! Our rooms were clean, and we did not notice any cigarette butts like a previous traveler.

Our room was small, but adequate and pleasant. The staff was very polite to us. The biggest drawback was the lack of parking spaces. When we returned from dinner, there were no parking spaces available in the lot, so we had to drive around until a space became available. The movie theater patrons use the same lot, so there is a shortage of spaces. Regardless, we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    215
    98
    43
    32
See reviews for
164
315
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
126 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Driving along Route 6 - the scenic route through Pennsylvannia - we stayed here for one night - the housekeeping was not as good as one would like - there was a broken chair on the balcony and I swept up the cigarette ends outside our room. The reception staff could do with lessons in friendliness. The room was clean and the situation was good - we were able to stroll around down before dinner in one of the few restaurants available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We recently booked a king suite at the Penn Wells Lodge. The room was modern, clean and very nicely decorated. It had a separate bedroom and bathroom and a living room kitchenette. The staff was friendly and accommodating. We stayed 2 nights and met friends who also stayed at the lodge. In our living room there was a love seat/couch and a nice comfortable chair. There were also a table and chairs for dining. Since we wanted to hang out with our friends in the room one night, I asked the ladies at the front desk if it were possible to borrow another comfortable chair from a vacant room near us. I wasn't sure if I was pushing the envelope or not, but they were so kind and accommodating. We were able to have the extra chair for the rest of our stay and it made it a great place to meet up with friends and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed in a new room, hotel being updated. King size bed and spacious room. Breakfast had everything you could ask for! Including omelette crepes!! No elevator...stayed on second floor. Lodge is across street from Wellsboro Diner...Excellent food...charming little town.

Room Tip: Ask for a king size bed...so spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snydersville
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

and this is a welcome surprise. The Wells Hotel is charming and welcoming at the end of the day. The rooms are a little small and folksy. I had an issue with the heat - it was handled promptly and professionaly.

There is a restaurant on the premesis that serves country food. It was good ... quick ... uncomplicated. The perfect end to a busy travel day.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trisha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, Trisha. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful and responsive. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel...interesting to read about its history. We fairly enjoyed our brief stay of one night. Rooms were small, but lovely. No iron in room though, as well as the windows were very dirty. Food at the Sunday brunch was not worth what we paid for it. Bisquits hard, Eggs Benedict terrible, omelet made wrong...just very inferior food all around. Service very slow and seemed disorganized. It really was a shame because this old hotel is quite beautiful and the ammenities should match up to that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brewerbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I’m glad you enjoyed the Old World charm of our Hotel. Should you stay with us again and find yourself in need of an iron, please just call the front desk and we would be happy to provide you with one. Many of our rooms come equipped with them, but some do not. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the quality of the Sunday brunch the weekend you were here. This is a long-standing tradition at the Penn Wells and we typically receive great reviews. If you stay with us again, I hope you’ll give our Sunday brunch another chance so we can show you that your first experience was atypical.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Wellsboro for Labor Day weekend and stayed at a suite at the Lodge. The room was clean and spacious but for $200 which was by far the most expensive lodging in the area one would expect the amenities that go it. The room had no skin cream, shower cap or anything else in fact there was a machine to buy this stuff in the lobby. If you are charging 5 star prices in a 1 star town you should give the customer the little extras.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nanart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications & Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us this Labor Day. I’m sorry you were disappointed with the amenities we offer in our suites. We do offer many amenities appreciated by our guests including quality shampoo, conditioner and body wash, in-room Keurig coffee makers, a full-sized refrigerator, plates, cups and utensils, upscale furnishings including high thread count bed linens, a pillow top mattress, a luxurious duvet and cover, and flat screen TVs in both the bedroom and sitting room. In addition, our Lodge offers guests access to our full-size heated indoor pool and Jacuzzi, new fitness center, saunas, business center and a hot complimentary breakfast every morning. Occasionally we do find a particular amenity that a guest would like that we do not offer, and although we do not usually get requests for skin cream or shower caps, we will certainly consider your suggestion of adding those to our offered amenities. We also stock a large variety of sundries and snacks in our market in our newly renovated lobby. Our suite prices are higher than most other standard hotels in Wellsboro, including the standard rooms offered elsewhere at our Lodge, but those rooms are newer, more spacious, and offer many more amenities than our counterparts. In comparison to similar hotels in nearby cities such as Mansfield, Williamsport and Elmira, our prices are comparable, if not lower.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.1 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#5 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing