We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodations for such a small town”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Katy, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great accommodations for such a small town”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Will certainly stay here again. There is a brand new section that has great rooms and comfortable beds. Great location for walking to nearby spots to drink and eat. The free breakfast was great and the indoor pool an nice touch for the cold winter days. The gym is one of the best I have seen at any big chain hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gentry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    221
    100
    44
    32
See reviews for
166
325
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The newly renovated section is nice, brand new, almost still has that paint smell. Was a one night stay in transit so can't comment on too much else. Stay on the higher floors as main level floor is cold. Price expected for a nicer hotel in a oil and gas town.

Room Tip: Stay in the new section for good/clean rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank chunerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The staff there needs to be recognized for the great work that they do. They went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. The rooms were very clean and the new beds provide a peaceful sleep. The breakfast was fabuluos with so many choices available. It was a great experience and have already booked for Summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annegchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I stayed at the Penn Wells Lodge last night for a business trip. I barely got any sleep. I woke up at 2 am to the sound of the heater breaking down. It sounded like it was going to explode, or maybe it was on its last legs. I didn't want to call the front desk to fix it and then be up for the next hour or so while they would (maybe) come check it out. So I turned the heat off and went back to sleep. Then I woke up at 4:30 to the sounds of someone slamming a door on their hand and screaming. Half an hour later, I heard people in the rooms around me flushing their toilets and showering. My neighbor may as well have been in my bathroom. The sounds like the neighbors sounded much louder and closer than they do at most other hotels.

I stayed in the old part of the lodge. Perhaps my stay would've been nicer if I had gotten a room in the newer section. They put me on the 2nd floor, and there's no elevator in the old section so I had to drag a heavy suitcase up the stairs.

Only good things I can say is that they had a free breakfast with Starbucks coffee. The pool looked nice too, but I didn't get a chance to use it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mbrown602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have been staying here for years - I mean years as in decades. I think this last weekend will be our last. The room prices have skyrocketed. $125 a night for two dinky double beds, bathroom with patched walls, sink that didn't drain. We had one of the unremodeled rooms - which I could deal with - if there had not been trash left from the last tenant under the sink, and if the sheets actually fit the bed so that you did not have to get up several times a night and remake the bed. The new "breakfast" - some old stuff you get from any chain hotel did not make up for the increased price and decreased care. Someone or something had vomitted in the tanbark before we arrived on friday, it was still there on Sunday. Absolutely disgusting. Workers were using a pile of snow at the end of the parking lot as a walk in fridge to chill their six packs. Classy. I was told the rooms go up even more for the summer.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Playswdogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah Valley, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I am comfortable with historical structures. My main issue is that the hotel is clean...and it is. Old, Yes. But clean nontheless. We stayed at the hotel (not lodge). The team of Tom and David at the front desk were very accomadating. There are no bells and whistles, but there are great big Windows, radiator heat, quaint little elevator and awesome light fixtures. And the location is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mountains2beach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel! We agree that we have a great staff who is always ready to help our guests and make sure their stay is as comfortable as possible. As you say, the Hotel is historic, and so some people prefer the more updated Lodge, but the Hotel does have its own brand of charm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altoona
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We hadn't stayed at the Penn Wells (lodge) in several years. ( you ABSOLUTELY don't want to stay at the hotel!), and decided to give it another try. It's the most expensive motel in the area, but they did do some some extensive updating and expansion because of increased demand from the fracking gas workers in the area.
They did a beautiful job on the lobby, but unless you're in the new part, it's the same old run down hotel once you head down the hall.
Antiquated heating system.
Peeling paint.
Not filthy... But not clean.
Wrong size sheets.
Cheap soap and shampoo.
Indifferent customer service (a trademark here)
Turned the heat off during the day while we were gone.
This may seem like nitpicking, and at $70-$90 a night like the other motels in town it would be ok. At $120-$165'a night it is not.
Bottom line: they did a beautiful job with the 'big things' and a terrible job with training, customer service and all the 'little things' you should be able to expect form a property in that price range. We will go back to the Sherwood (right next door) and enjoy a cleaner, friendlier experience.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay here, stay in the newer section.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aca32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
96 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing