We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughed the whole time !!!”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Laughed the whole time !!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I spent our 35th anniversary here ..normally we hang in the poconos so we decided to venture out and my husband and I do the train rides and lo and behold there is one in the neighborhood. The stay in the Penn Wells was so charming ...we loved the history surrounding the hotel and the town. The people who work within the hotel are so vey nice and help with any questions you might have. So we would whole heartedly recommend a stay at The Penn Wells Hotel and enjoy the town of Wellsboro. Thanks to Chad the coolest server ever who was so very nice the night of the crazy prime rib dinner, lol!!! He was the best ...ty Chad, :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeseheadrocks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Penn Wells. We pride ourselves on the quality of our staff, so it's nice to hear positive feedback! Hope you see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    219
    100
    43
    32
See reviews for
165
322
18
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have stayed here twice with good experiences both times. Most recently (Oct 26, 2012) we experienced a nice fish dinner, live musical duo in the tastefully Halloween-decorated lounge with a fire in the fireplace and themed drink menu followed by a restful night in a clean, comfortable, historic hotel room. Good, ample breakfast the next morning.

Room Tip: If you need more modern accommodations, try the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Would recommend the newly renovated suites at the Lodge. You get a little nervous when you see the adjacent wing to the lodge that looks like it needs repair, however, but the so called tower rooms are great....complete suite. Nice size kitchenette with a larger fridge then most. Comfy living room and bedroom. Ultra spotless. More than just continental breakfast. Hotel more pricey than most in the area. Location is excellent...you can walk through the City of Wellsboro on Main Street...shopping and eating within walking distance. Just a few quirks...our dresser was missing the knobs in the bedroom (on order); our television was not getting good reception (they reported it to the local cable company; and the heating unit did not work at night. Hotel personnel very friendly. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catnyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in the hotel on our way to see the PA Canyon and it definitely has its character - it literally is like traveling back in time. Overall, our room was good: it was clean and the bed was comfortable (as was the rocking chair we had in our room). The only things that weren't so great were the bathroom sink (it had two taps - one for cold water, the other for hot) and the windows weren't insulated that well - even the heater sometimes wasn't enough. But we enjoyed our stay. Staff was very friendly and food at the restaurant was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KI-J23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel this past weekend. Was a little concerned due to the other negative comments. Should have followed my gut feeling and booked elsewhere. To say the rooms were small and old is an understatement. Our room had one double bed and barely had room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was equally as small .... No room to even set down any toiletries. The windows were so drafty you could see the curtains moving. The radiators were rusty. The curtains were extremely dirty .... They were suppose to be white but were a dirty gray. The smells came up into the room from downstairs. Cooking odors and the smell from the fireplace in the lobby. The only good thing about the room were the sheets and comforter which were very nice. Another positive about the hotel were the front desk people who were extremely friendly and helpful.

We had dinner in the restaurant ... Our waitress, Miss Kathy, was not friendly at all and just seemed bothered that she had to wait on us. Looking around, other tables had waiters who were making their experience there an enjoyable one. Our meal was just so so. We still went back for breakfast the next morning .... Another big mistake. It took our waiter (Scott) ten minutes to bring us some coffee and another ten minutes to get us some cream. When asking him a second time about the cream his response was 'I'm working on it'. I finall went out to the lobby and got a cup of the complimentary coffee. We waited twenty minutes for our orange juice and the items on the buffet were not refilled at a very fast pace. We also had been given by the front desk two coupons for 10% off breakfast for two (we had rented two rooms because we had my elderly parents with us). When we tried to use them Scott our waiter told us we could only use one. Needless to say this was our last visit to this hotel and restaurant

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KMV2776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room. In the Historic Hotel building, which was built in 1869, we do have some rooms that are very small by modern standards. We encourage guests who are considering booking at the Hotel to advise the booking agents if you desire one of the larger rooms. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we went with friends 2 years ago and stayed at the hotel - old but quaint - the food at the hotel 2 years ago was delicious and we looked forward to eating there again but this year when we went back we were disappointed in the food. We stayed in the lodge this year the room was smelly (we opened the windows and went out for a few hours hoping the smell would go away but it didn't)
we switched rooms it didn't have a smell but the carpet was dirty. The staff was helpful they gave us a slight discount because of the inconvenience of having to switch rooms. The free continental breakfast was very good. We were scheduled to stay two nights but only stayed one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgm6544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I admit after reading some other reviews that I was nervous to book a room at the lodge. However, I am very glad we did! The facility is completely renovated and everything looks brand new. It's exceptionally clean. The rooms are large, bed was cushy comfortable, and the staff was nice. The free continental breakfast was very good - even included sausage and eggs... so it was beyond the standard coffee and bagels we expected.

The lodge also has a really nice heated indoor pool that my daughter loved. And, it is in the heart of Wellsboro, a quaint town. You can walk to restaurants, shops, or just stroll the "gas lit lamp" street. It's also very close to the state parks that make up the PA Grand Canyon. Columbus Day weekend is the perfect time to see the fall foliage.

I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
77 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
30 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing