We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacks a lot”
Review of Penn Wells Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn Wells Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lacks a lot”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel this past weekend. Was a little concerned due to the other negative comments. Should have followed my gut feeling and booked elsewhere. To say the rooms were small and old is an understatement. Our room had one double bed and barely had room to walk around the bed. The bathroom was equally as small .... No room to even set down any toiletries. The windows were so drafty you could see the curtains moving. The radiators were rusty. The curtains were extremely dirty .... They were suppose to be white but were a dirty gray. The smells came up into the room from downstairs. Cooking odors and the smell from the fireplace in the lobby. The only good thing about the room were the sheets and comforter which were very nice. Another positive about the hotel were the front desk people who were extremely friendly and helpful.

We had dinner in the restaurant ... Our waitress, Miss Kathy, was not friendly at all and just seemed bothered that she had to wait on us. Looking around, other tables had waiters who were making their experience there an enjoyable one. Our meal was just so so. We still went back for breakfast the next morning .... Another big mistake. It took our waiter (Scott) ten minutes to bring us some coffee and another ten minutes to get us some cream. When asking him a second time about the cream his response was 'I'm working on it'. I finall went out to the lobby and got a cup of the complimentary coffee. We waited twenty minutes for our orange juice and the items on the buffet were not refilled at a very fast pace. We also had been given by the front desk two coupons for 10% off breakfast for two (we had rented two rooms because we had my elderly parents with us). When we tried to use them Scott our waiter told us we could only use one. Needless to say this was our last visit to this hotel and restaurant

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KMV2776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I’m sorry to hear you were unhappy with your room. In the Historic Hotel building, which was built in 1869, we do have some rooms that are very small by modern standards. We encourage guests who are considering booking at the Hotel to advise the booking agents if you desire one of the larger rooms. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    221
    100
    44
    32
See reviews for
166
325
19
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we went with friends 2 years ago and stayed at the hotel - old but quaint - the food at the hotel 2 years ago was delicious and we looked forward to eating there again but this year when we went back we were disappointed in the food. We stayed in the lodge this year the room was smelly (we opened the windows and went out for a few hours hoping the smell would go away but it didn't)
we switched rooms it didn't have a smell but the carpet was dirty. The staff was helpful they gave us a slight discount because of the inconvenience of having to switch rooms. The free continental breakfast was very good. We were scheduled to stay two nights but only stayed one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgm6544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I admit after reading some other reviews that I was nervous to book a room at the lodge. However, I am very glad we did! The facility is completely renovated and everything looks brand new. It's exceptionally clean. The rooms are large, bed was cushy comfortable, and the staff was nice. The free continental breakfast was very good - even included sausage and eggs... so it was beyond the standard coffee and bagels we expected.

The lodge also has a really nice heated indoor pool that my daughter loved. And, it is in the heart of Wellsboro, a quaint town. You can walk to restaurants, shops, or just stroll the "gas lit lamp" street. It's also very close to the state parks that make up the PA Grand Canyon. Columbus Day weekend is the perfect time to see the fall foliage.

I highly recommend this lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottstown, PA
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Penn Wells lodge underwent a massive refurbishing and expansion...unfortunately our rooms weren't part of the improvements. Upon check-in we were told we would be on the second floor. The lobby was beautiful so we were excited about our lodgings. We head to the elevators, rode to the second floor, only to find that our room did not exist. We returned to the front desk where we were told to go through a utilitarian looking door next to the front desk (it would have been nice to have been told that originally), where we entered a dark hallway, passed an open custodial closet and had to lug luggage up two flights of stairs. No elevator in this wing. Our room was very date and basic though quite clean. Bring lotion...they don't provide any and you will need it if you are doing any outdoor activities. We were charged a different amount then we were quoted though they were quick to make amends. I had emailed the hotel a few times about our group reservation and never received any return emails though they were quite attentive by phone. The complimentary breakfast was a nice surprise although both mornings we found many of the offerings had run out and there appeared no urgency to replenish. The breakfast needs to be better staffed or the staff need to be better trained (and friendlier). A bit expensive for what you get in our opinion but a good location. I hope they update the older wings; they are depressing.

Room Tip: Spring for one of new suites. Avoid the rear "motel" like rooms that aren't even attac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kp1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us! Unfortunately our recent renovations to the Lodge did not include all of the rooms, although we hope to refurbish the rest of the property in the near future. The North Wing of the Lodge where you stayed consists of our Economy rooms, which are rented at lower rates, but were built in the 1960s. In the five weeks that our new section has been complete and opened to guests, we have been and will continue to work on communicating better with guests about our variety of rooms and rates to make sure that all customers get what is important to them. We are happy to hear that you found your room clean and comfortable, though, and we hope that you will stay with us again, perhaps in one or our new rooms, which I am sure you will find surpass your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotrun, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friend and I had a 2 bedroom suite for an overnight stay. To our delight, we also each had our own bathroom. In between the 2 bedrooms was a lovely sitting room with a flat screen TV and a small refrigerator. The rooms were cozy, quiet, VERY CLEAN, and quite charming. The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Candace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed at the Lodge in the new section that just opened about two weeks ago. It was very clean which should be expected since it's new. We had a couple minor issues with housekeeping over the two nights we stayed. They did not restock any tissues or toilet paper after the first night which we had to call the front desk for more. We used the sofa bed and the sheets were never replaced after beeing stripped so we once again had to call the front desk for new sheets. They were very nice about it and came pretty soon after the call. Included in the price of the room is a free breakfast by the lobby area. They offered scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, muffins, bagels, toast, juice, and coffee. We ate it the first morning, but opted to go elsewhere the second morning. The A/C unit is very loud in the livingroom area of the suites. Overall the property was nice and the staff was friendly. They have a fitness room and indoor pool that looked nice as I walked by them on the first floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new section of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn_Wells_Hotel, Director of Communications and Marketing at Penn Wells Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear J H,
Thank you for staying with us. We are so glad to hear that your overall experience at the Penn Wells Lodge was a good one. We do apologize about the housekeeping issues, but rest assured that it is no longer an issue, as our housekeepers are now more familiar with the new rooms and the routines associated with keeping them properly stocked. We’re glad to hear, however, that the front desk staff was so helpful in quickly rectifying the situation for you. We are aware of the issue with loud A/C units in some rooms during your visit and those have been adjusted. Thank you for understanding that these issues are mostly a result of coordinating with our staff and contractor to finish up last minute details in our new building. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

After the lady at the front desk ignored me for a minute she turned to me with a look like, what do you want. Then immediately went to hospitable. Old and rough describes everything. Cracks on the wall. Rusty old hot water heaters. Little signs throughout the room that say "to better serve the environment" your linens will be washed upon your departure and place only your towels that need washed in the tub. No tub in my room, just an old tile shower. Single pain windows with a window AC and a big gap for the air to escape and bugs to enter. Not environmentally friendly. Although, they let the gas street lights burn all day as well. I guess northern PA has plenty of natural gas to waste while the rest of us pay a premium to heat our homes. Could hear the restaurant staff on their smoke break talking plainly through the single pain window. Couldn't air out the room since the AC was mounted in the window. The smell of funky commercial cleaners in the air.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
96 reviews
12.0 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
11.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Motel
Canyon Motel
#1 of 6 in Wellsboro
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn Wells Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn Wells Hotel

Property: Penn Wells Hotel
Address: 62 Main St, Wellsboro, PA 16901-1502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn Wells Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Penn Wells Hotel & Lodge offers the best in classic comfort and exceptional personal service. Located in the heart of beautiful Wellsboro, PA, just 11 miles from the Grand Canyon of Pennsylvania, our historic hotel was built in 1869 and transports guests to an earlier era with its rich decor and wood-burning fireplace in the lobby. Guests will also enjoy fine dining in our onsite restaurant and a full bar in our cozy lounge. The newly renovated lodge property is also conveniently located on Main Street, within easy walking distance of Wellsboro's shopping and dining district. The modern lodge offers 32 suites with separate living and sleeping spaces and a kitchenette in addition to standard rooms. Enjoy a complimentary breakfast in the beautiful new lobby before venturing out for the day. The indoor pool and jacuzzi, fitness center, business center and guest laundry are all available for guests at both the hotel and lodge. Free WiFi is also available at both locations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Penn Wells Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penn Wells Hotel And Lodge
Penn Wells Hotel Wellsboro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing