We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Excuse For A Zoo”
Review of Animaland Zoological Park - CLOSED

Animaland Zoological Park
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Poor Excuse For A Zoo”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were enjoying our weekend trip and saw signs for this zoo, so we decided to give it a shot. This Zoo, if that's what you should call it, was nothing more than a few glorified small cages with poor, helpless, frightened animals in them. The odor was just sickening. I do hope that they could hire better staff who truly care about the animals and their wellbeing. There might be hope for this zoo yet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    7
    12
    64
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spring Mills Pa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrible cat urine smell”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We had a girls weekend and two of the girls had never been there before so we thought we would stop in and see it. I was there 9 1/2 years ago and it was very nice but on 8/26/13 it was so gross. As soon as you opened the door you got a big strong smell of cat urine smell and as you walk to look at the clothes they are covered in cat hair. And a cat was laying on the sweatshirts they had for sale. I would soon hope that they shut the place down... Those poor animals need a better home and people that will actually take care of them..... Please someone step in and SHUT THEM DOWN!!!!!!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg pa
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dropped by on weekend”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We saw the zoo on the way to PA grand Canyon, Stopped and went through the zoo. It is small,,but the animals appeared clean and seemed well cared for, Staff was friendly, was We thought the price was fair. Didn't walk away feeling like we wererobbed by a roadside show.
Overall, a good way to spend a few hours,,

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank nurse15601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahopac, NY
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cat urine smell!!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

God we stopped by this place after going to another site nearby. What a dump! As soon as you walk in the place there was a OVERPOWERING small of cat urine!! We left after a few minutes. We didn't go to see the animals, but with the smell of the place, we felt really bad for any that may be there!! KEEP GOING!!!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank stroza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

During a trip to Wellsboro, we thought the kids would enjoy a visit to the Animaland zoo. Big mistake. If you like to look at deer in fenced-in fields, this is the place for you. They must have had 100 deer of various sorts. Once you get past those, there is a very tiny cage with a very depressed looking tiger in it, and across from that is another tiny cage with a bobcat. In between are cages with two kinds of monkeys, who look terrorized at being in such close proximity to the big cats. They also have two bears pacing in a cramped enclosure. Everything felt very shabby and dirty. There are coin-operated machines selling animal feed throughout the zoo, but no hand sanitzing stations anywhere. Just a mess of a zoo.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Siusanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animaland Zoological Park also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing