We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colton Point Motel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Penn Wells Hotel(Wellsboro)(Great Value!)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Canyon Motel(Wellsboro)(Great Value!)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sherwood Motel(Wellsboro)(Great Value!)
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penn Wells Lodge(Wellsboro)
$125
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$149
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
QUALITY INN & SUITES(Mansfield)(Great Value!)
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
66
34
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
34
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaddle boatsfor salefire pitnice pondbreakfast servedroom was cleanlabor daygas grillgreat ownersmini fridgewithin milesqueen bedpine creekin townmake reservationsnice place to staywould stay again
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 105 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Colton Point Motel as we took in the sights of the PA Grand Canyon. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and the owners, Nancy & Ron were friendly and accommodating. Quiet location and great to sleep with the windows open. The hotel is located very close to the entrance to the Canyon and is ideal location for snowmobiling trails. They offer AAA rates and a great reasonably priced breakfast. We ate lunch at the diner in Wellsboro and brought back subs to eat at the picinic tables located around the pond. Great shops in Wellsboro and in Mansfield, the next town east of Wellsboro. If we get some good snow this winter, we'll be going back.

Room Tip: We had a room on the front lower level of the motel. Sat outside to visit with other guests.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Kathy,
Thank you for taking the time to review us at Colton Point Motel. Location is a big plus sometimes, and hopefully this winter it will work out well for you and other snowmobilers. We hope to see you when the snow starts.
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Loved the atmosphere, and the serene surroundings. All of Nancy's recommendations were great, we weren't disappointed! I especially loved sitting up by the pond taking in the view, and watching the fish jump! This is a great place to bring children, and hoping to come back next year with our grandchildren. Plenty to do outside, so you don't feel like your stuck in a room the whole time. Thank you Nancy & Ron for making us feel at home! I already miss sitting up by the pond :)

Room Tip: Our room was right out front. We had no problems with it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Kim,
We certainly hope to see you again, with the grandchildren. We enjoy having a motel, that is family friendly.
Nancy & Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We met Nancy and Ron last year through friends of ours and stayed there last summer. This year we decided to call them and ask permission to get married at Colton Point Motel and they said YES:) We had a Camo wedding and after we were married on the boat dock we jumped into the lake. We were so excited to be able to use the property, lake, and beach area for our wedding day. They are such wonderful people along with Cinnamon the Colton Point Motel dog (she is such a sweetheart)! Our wedding was huge success and everyone had a wonderful time. Plenty for everyone to do. The kids used the paddleboats, laid by the beach area, swam, and just enjoyed the beautiful atmosphere, beautiful mountains, and a very well groomed property. If you want a great place to stay, great breakfast made by Nancy herself, then call Colton Point Motel for a breath taking view and an awesome, warm, place to stay in Wellsboro. Thank you again Nancy, Ron, and Cinnamon! We will see you again very soon.

Dominick and Denise Tucci

Room Tip: We love number 9 in the house portion of the hotel as we enjoy the view. But all the rooms are fantastic. All are very clean, well taken care of and there are no bad room.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisedewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Denise and Dominick,
We were delighted to have you as our FIRST EVER, wedding. We look forward to your next visit!
Nancy, Ron and Cinnamon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a charming, intimate motel. We stayed in the drive up portion and it was great, clean, welcoming, two double beds and a double sized day bed. The windows were open and cool breeze wafted in. It is not the Ritz, but if you are going to the area then you aren't expecting it to be. Our favorite part was being 2 doors down from the little resturant. We left the kids showering and went down to enjoy a quiet cup of coffee. The fog on the mountains was breathtaking from the window. Calm, relaxing, friendly, close to the best part of the PA Grand Canyon. Super place, can't wait to get back...and we don't usually go to the same place twice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vangie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review us. There is nothing like our clean mountain air. Hopefully, you can come back and enjoy it again.
Nancy & Ron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to visit the area for our anniversary. I was debating a large chain hotel in Williamsport (which would have been free with my rewards points) or this place. I am very glad I chose the Colton Point Motel. The owners are very friendly. Rates were reasonable. The room was clean. Maybe a bit outdated, but it was comfortable and relatively quiet. The property was really nice, with the pond and paddleboats, volleyball nets, fire pits, hammock, horseshoes, lovely wildflowers everywhere. I almost felt like I could have spent a day just enjoying the motel! Breakfast was great and very reasonable. It was about 10 to 15 minutes to get into Wellsboro, and 5 minutes to get to Colton Point State Park. We did some hiking and exploring and really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: We were in Room 8 which faced the side and was pretty quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nltyson, Owner at Colton Point Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

We do have people who spend a good portion of a day here at the motel. We try to offer something different, such as campfire pits and horseshoes. We appreciate your time in reviewing us.
Nancy & Ron Tyson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews