We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what you want in a hotel!”
Review of Canyon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canyon Motel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exactly what you want in a hotel!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I say this room is exactly what you want in a place to stay because the room was clean, beds were comfortable and I felt very safe. Front desk service was great. Friendly and quick check-in and answered any questions I had about places to eat/get groceries/etc. Pool area has nice size (and clean) pool, with a hot tub, sauna room and exercise equipment. Hotel is close to food and shopping, as Wellsboro is a small town. Would I stay here again if I was in Wellsboro? 100% Yes!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VaBeachLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    47
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
42
86
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at the Canyon Motel, the first being over ten years ago. This time we were three guys on a motorcycles and the motel was able to give us a small suite with three double beds, a sitting room, kitchenette and bathroom. The unit was clean and in good condition, although the facility is obviously not new. There is an indoor pool, however, we did not take advantage of it. The room rate was very reasonable, but no breakfast is offered.
The motel is right in downtown Wellsboro, convenient to restaurants, a theatre, antique shops, etc. and despite the address, fronts on Hwy 6, so it's easy to find.
The staff are very helpful and they obviously think of motorcyclists because there was a bin full of old towels for wiping down the bikes at the check-in. Thanks, guys.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I don't know how anyone could have given this motel anything but a 1 or 2 star rating. Those people giving it 4 and 5 star ratings must never travel and stay in hotels. My cousin was getting married in this small town and the Canyon Motel is where they blocked off rooms for out of town guests. I wish I would have done research and booked my own hotel. First of all it was a motel not a hotel, so that should have been my first clue. The room entrances were outside, which is creepy to me. You used a regular key for your room not a card, so anyone could have duplicated that key which makes it feel even more creepy. The room was VERY old, smelled musty, stains everywhere. The bathroom tub did not drain when I showered which grossed me out further. Obviously the maids don't clean the room well because I noticed a balled up towel laying under my bed!!! This was a horrid experience, I just wanted to go to sleep and get out of there as fast as I could. I would never ever return to that motel. I will never book a motel again, and make sure I do my reserach first even if it blocked off for an event.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here while visiting the PA Grand Canyon. It was a last minute trip, so we didn't have reservations, but the lady at the front desk was very helpful and let us see a room before deciding. The room was very clean and all of the furnishings were either newer or very well maintained. It was a basic room, but comfortable.

Although we didn't use it, there was a nice indoor pool and hot tub. Also, they showed us a more "deluxe" room with a full kitchen, sitting area, king bed, and patio. It would have been nice for a longer stay.

I would definitely stay here again. I also liked that the motel was within walking distance of the main street, so we could walk to the restaurants and shops, yet it was still just a short drive from the Canyon parks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missrachelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was reluctant to stay because of the previous feedback,
but what a pleasant surprise we had.
Clean Rooms, really nice property, especially friendly and helpful staff.

We have stayed here several times in the past two months, the price
is very reasonable,and the staff will go out of their way to please.

The hard wired internet is quite fast at 100Mbps, most everything is nearby,
and within walking distance.

The pool and sauna are excellent,and the in room refrigerators are COLD.

Front desk, housekeeping , and maintenance staff are friendly and
responded quickly to our requests for assistance.

I can highly recommend the Canyon motel.

Joe herman

Room Tip: If internet use is important, ask for a room with hardwired internet, it is fast and reliable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joe h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed in the house part in the up stairs; it wasn't too bad. There were no cups, dishes, or eating utensils in the kitchen area. But other than that, the room was good. The beds were especially comfortable! The place was very clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigjohn02435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wellsboro, pa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We made reservations in advance, and we arrived an hour after check in time. when we got to our room, it was dirty. I called the front desk to complain. There was no housekeeping staff to CLEAN the room. For our dirty room they DID provide us with something to clean the room with and knocked $20 off the room. They did not offer us another room. Their excuse for the dirty room? "we had 80 bikers check in today" they DID call us an HOUR after we cleaned the room ourselves and offer a FULL refund BUT we would have to LEAVE after we were refunded, "if it's that big of a deal we can refund your money and you can just go someplace else"

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babs2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellsboro
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Hotel
Penn Wells Hotel
#2 of 6 in Wellsboro
642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Penn Wells Lodge
Penn Wells Lodge
#3 of 6 in Wellsboro
99 reviews
12.2 mi away
Rough Cut Lodge
Rough Cut Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gaines
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Mansfield
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mansfield
11.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Mansfield
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Motel

Property: Canyon Motel
Address: 18 East Ave, Wellsboro, PA 16901
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wellsboro
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wellsboro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Canyon Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the beautiful mountains just minutes from the PA Grand Canyon, this 44 room motel will make you feel at home. We offer extended stay suites, apartments, king Jacuzzi, house suites, 2 beds and single queen rooms. We have an indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and exercise room and are within walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Our rooms are newly renovated!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Canyon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing