We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Water Challengers, Lehigh river bike trip (5 hours) GREAT”

Whitewater Challengers
Book In Advance
More Info
$54.95*
and up
Poconos Weekend Dam Release Whitewater Rafting Adventure
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Weatherly
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whitewater rafting on the Lehigh River is an exciting adventure through the Pocono Mountain Region of PA. Choose from a variety of outdoor adventures from mild to wild. Our most popular trips are our Family Style Whitewater (ages 5+)and Our Premier Whitewater Trip (ages 9+). Great for experienced rafters and first timers. NEW for 2017 is our Premier Plus Whitewater Rafting Trip which offers a smaller, more personal trip option through the class 2-3 rapids of the Lehigh Gorge State Park. Try a more challenging experience with our Whitewater Marathon that takes you through 25 miles of the Lehigh Gorge State Park or our NEW Inflatable Kayaking (Ducky) Trip. No matter your experience level, the Lehigh River offers a trip meant for you! Join us at the Lehigh River Adventure Center to combine your rafting experience with camping, biking, hiking, paintball, and more. Onsite dining services provides three meals a day for a reasonable price. It's the most fun you'll have all year!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
134 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“White Water Challengers, Lehigh river bike trip (5 hours) GREAT”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

We used White Water Challengers to help a family of 4 to do a 5 hour trip along the Lehigh River in PA (Lehigh River Gorge State Park?). The price was the same for the 5 hour trip as it was for the 3 hour trip. We did the 5 hour trip. White water challengers had good quality safe Raleigh bikes and fitted us all properly including helmets! Also provided us with a water bottle and some tips on where they could be refilled, where good stopping and hiking places are along the way. They got us out promptly and also picked us up very promptly (earlier than the usual pick up time at our special request. Recommend pack a lunch and stop along the river to eat- very nice! The trail itself is a easy ride- very flat well maintained paths. Overall the trail averages 2% down hill the whole way. We took a lesiurly pace, stopped to play in a waterfall, eat lunch and still finished in a about 4 hours. It was 90+ degrees, but due to breezes from the gorge and the down hill grade it was a easy ride. Also of note, the "upper" area of the ride is different from the "lower" (3 hour ride) trail. It's trees are larger and it is not as populated with other bikers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    46
    10
    3
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The River Runs Wild”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was my second time rafting with whitewater challengers and my husband's first and we had a great time! We went with another couple to the Leighhigh river location because it was whithin a 2 hour our drive. It was a full day as we arrived around 11:15 and didn't leave until 5:30. This river was noted as a Class I-III rapid.

Reservations were extremely easy to make and I received a very pleasant follow up e-mail thanking us for our reservation. They seem to push purchasing the prepaid lunches, but we chose to pack our own. They provide you with a bucket for the raft that you can place all your food/snacks in and it will remain dry. When arriving at the white water challengers adventure center we were very pleasantly greeted and provided with clear directions on how to proceed. We were shuttled to the rafting start location and had 3 great guides! One in particular was very outgoing and always had a smile on his face - wish I could remember his name.

When choosing our raft, we found a newer looking raft with only 2 seats. We did not want to have to share a raft with strangers, which a couple people had to do. We were also glad we snagged a newer raft because some of the other people's had holes in their rafts and they were constantly bailing their boats throughout the trip. We took in very little water. They do provide you with a bail bucket that also serves as a "Splash Bucket" to splash other boats. It was a little chilly the day we went so we weren't into the slashing game and people were curtious enough not to splash boats that weren't engaging in the splashing.

We floated down the 9 miles of river with about 30 other rafts which made it a little slow at times. Because of the large amount of rafts we had to stop and wait for the back of the group to catch up which was a little annoying after the 5th time but I understand that we can't lose anyone on the river! It turns out that because the water was low, our roughest rapid was only about a class 1 1/2. In my opinion, the most challenging part about the rapids were avoiding the rocks and avoiding other boats that got stuck on the rocks. We had one near "out of boat experience" because we were trying to avoid another boat stuck on a rock. We were happy to have added a bit more excitement to the ride and we had a good laugh after it.

We will definitely travel up to New York for our next trip for some more challenging rapids. However, the leigh high river was a lot of fun and we would recommend it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Black river ny”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

It was our first time rafting and we decided on black river with whitewater challengers. We had tons of fun! Brandon, our guide was awesome! I would highly recommend them! :-) midway through the trip you have a snack by the waterfalls, then they served bbq at the camp. Floating lazily through the river in our life jackets was my fave.

Helpful?
Thank Budiski7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun day!”
Reviewed May 27, 2012

The workers are very nice,the rapids were kinda weak..good for kids, but if your goin with adults go do class 4 rapids somewhere else.I had a fun time there tho

Helpful?
1 Thank hahailockeduup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I did a group tour here and we had a blast”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

A group of us from Suburban Philly Events and Adventures spent the weekend camping and rafting. Although it rained on the second day we still had a great time. the river was rocking and everyone was having a lot of fun. There was a slight problem with our reservation and they could not make corrections until Monday but they let us enjoy the weekend and we did correct the problem after the weekend was over. The staff was great to work with. They played a movie for the kids at night. Even in the pouring rain they had a live band playing music under a tent .. We will be back there next year

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnathan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitewater Challengers also viewed

Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
Jim Thorpe, Pocono Mountains Region
 
White Haven, Luzerne County
Tannersville, Pocono Mountains Region
 

Been to Whitewater Challengers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing