We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Variety for a Fair Price”
Review of Golden Corral - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Corral
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Smithsburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of Variety for a Fair Price”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times since we've moved to the area. The variety on the buffet is pretty good and most of the food is decent. The price is ok too. Most of the staff is friendly but the lady manager is a bit bossy which put us off for a while. We still eat here occasionally but not as much as we used to.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phebe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Bypass the temptation”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Golden Corral and other all-you-can-eat buffets do not exist in my part of the country, so when traveling it is difficult to resist the siren-call of such establishments. Even though I know what to expect in terms of quality, cleanliness and flavor, and lower my standards accordingly, I was unimpressed with this particular G.C. Food items were unavailable, the carving station was unmanned, the fresh fruit and vegetables were neither fresh nor plentiful and the dessert bar--which should be the highlight of the trip--was dirty and disorganized.
I only get one or two G.C. trips a year and it was a shame to have wasted it here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Kids loved the dessert”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We've only been to one other Golden Corral and in comparison, this one felt small and a bit dark. The food at the buffet was OK, but nothing amazing. The steak, served at the kitchen window, was surprisingly good and tender. The service was extremely attentive and we never had an empty glass at our table. Many establishments cannot say as much. The real star for our young kids is the desserts: chocolate fondue fountain, cookies, ice cream, etc. If you have a sweet tooth, be sure to save lots of room for dessert!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harleysville_Bill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Will Not be going back!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have visited this place a couple times and every time I'm there they seem to not have a very good selection of food! The food is always over cooked and sometimes has no taste! Just a big let down!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trippy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Golden Corral in Waynesboro, PA”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is a lovely Corral with trains running around over your head! The food is always hot and service is terrific. Our only complaint is that this past summer there were lots of flies in the restuarant. We feel they could handle this, and told them about it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cyndi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Corral also viewed

 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing