We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get Happy at George's!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Georges' - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Georges'
Price range: $30 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Conestoga Rd
Transit: .5 Mile from Septa's Strafford Station
Bayside, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get Happy at George's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great happy hour! Kettle One Vodka specials. The service is up and down. Mostly friendly and swift, but sometimes slow and surly! Food is very good, consistent.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grace151405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    9
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Shame”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have been going to this restaurant for many years. We typically sit at the bar and order dinner there. Tonight was a great disappointment.
When we first arrived, a waiter was arguing with a customer. The lights were way too bright in the bar area.
The bar was filled with older men trying to impress younger women. The caliber of bar tender has greatly decreased. They are not very professional. We witnessed another argument between a bar staff and a kitchen worker.
To top it off the menu has changed. They only had one special for the evening. They used to have a terrific calamari salad. That went away some time ago. The salad selection is lame. The pizza selection has dwindled.
We ordered a antipasta salad, which was okay, a hamburger and mussels with frites. Two wines apiece and the bill was $100.00.
Bar scene very old, food non inspired, staff not professional. Try someplace else.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KBK82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia
1 review
“Love it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Love the new menu. Thanks for the choices. Ignore those ignorant and nasty people. Karma Karma. And Michael You were a gentleman, a pleasure.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A good restaurant spoiled”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

The food is the same but the introduction of small plates is just a plain rip off. It is suggested that one orders 3 or more small plates to allow for variety. Remarkably this variety also costs about 30 percent more than the old menu. If you want to spend $9 for a small plate of olives paired with a tiny $14 shrimp and crab salad and another $10 nondescript vegetable, this is the restaurant for you. You can take our place because we won't be going back.I guess the manager figured the recession is over and anything goes...... not true. No one wants to be ripped off in the name of variety.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nellenesor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stay Away.. until they fire the manager or change the menu!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

First let me start by saying my wife and I have been going here since it opened (and even before the name change years ago from La Mas Perrier). It has had its ups and downs, but this was the worst!

The service was terrible and slow and the manager (Michael) was argumentative. This partially explains the empty tables all around us.

The manager claims that they just changed the menu to "small-plates" in response to customer requests and removed some of the most popular staples on the menu. From the disgruntled customers we could hear around us, this was not a popular decision, nor did it sound like anyone was pleased. The portions were disgracefully small. This is a thinly masked attempt to make smaller portions yield higher check amounts compared to the old menu prices. If you have a good product, raise the price. People will pay for what they want if it's good. Don't try to rip them off under the guise of small plates...

The calamari duo tasted like it came out in dish water on one side and the fried side had no flavor and desperately needed the accompanying sauce to help. When I complained to the manager, he told me everyone has been raving over this dish for the last 5 weeks since it was put on the menu and I must not know what I'm talking about. REALLY??

The salads were the biggest waste of money I have ever seen.. 15 to 20 pieces-1/3 of a dish of lettuce for $8 each. And what about $18 for 3 crab cakes that were less than silver dollar size.

Good thing the Angus burger and fries were good, but do I really need to go here for a good burger and fries? $16 worth?

Hopefully they will be able to stay in business long enough to last until the menu changes again. Also, maybe they should bring back Giuseppe the old manager instead of this idiot Michael... Before they put themselves out of business.

The menu even states that you should order 3 small plates to equal one entree. This way you can think you get a lot for your $50 - $60 when you really should only need a decent sized entree.

Georges Perrier, if you are listening, this is what absentee ownership will get you...
LET ME REPEAT..
Georges Perrier, if you are listening, this is what absentee ownership will get you...

Go back to your restaurant and fix it.!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank BusyTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing