We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Becoming a Favorite”
Review of Matador

Matador
Reserve with OpenTable
Matador is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #35 of 115 Restaurants in Wayne
Price range: $14 - $28
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lancaster Avenue
Description: Stop in and enjoy the delightful atmosphere along with delicious Tapas and Specialty Spanish dishes that the Matador has to offer.
Wayne, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Becoming a Favorite”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Third time is usually a charm and Matador continued to deliver as it did the first two times we have eaten there. Sangria is the drink here, after all the theme and food are more form from Spain than Mexico.

Service was friendly and correct and tapas came in proper sequence. Scallops followed by Lamb chops - we then went for paella. We were four so it ended up just right. We did dessert churros with melted dipping chocolate, flan and a mousse and all three: good to excellent. Prices are not cheap so no one will forget you are in the heart of the main line but all in all one gets good value as the quality of the fare does not let you feel cheated in any way.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg_from_Wayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    44
    38
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Upscale Mexican tapas”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I were married in Mexico last year and decided to celebrate our anniversary with a dinner out at a Mexican restaurant. We chose Matador because of its proximity to my work and its interesting menu. We were seated upstairs and promptly greeted. We decided to start with the Matador margarita. We enjoyed them. We then decided on sharing 4 small plates and some chips and pico de gallo to start. Everything was very tasty, however, everything came out on top of each other. I understand it was tapas style but we were done with our entire meal in 30 minutes! We would have preferred if there was more time between dishes so we could have enjoyed our anniversary dinner a little longer.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melissa350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Came for my birthday dinner and had a great dinner. Waiter was great and gave good recommendations. Had a nice mixture of lobster, crab, chorizo, steak, chicken tapas and also shared some great desserts - guava sorbet, flan and chocolate mousse. Was a bit expensive, but nice for a celebration:)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch At Matador”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Food is great --- however, service is slow. Everything came out "one thing at a time" -- appetizers were the same. We were a party of 4, so it shouldn't have been a big deal to have everything at the same time -- understanding when a larger party. Main lunch entrees also came to the table one at a time. The 4th and final came to the table when everyone else was 99% finished with their food. If you're looking for a quick in and out for lunch -- suggest letting them know that WAY upfront so they can try to accommodate. Would not recommend the tableside guacamole -- it is seriously just mushed up avacado with lime juice. No onions, no cilantro, etc. BLAND.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMF1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good Tapas”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Friday nights can be tough in this town if you don't have a reservation! Matador has a nice Mexican ambiance, though downstairs is a bit loud. Margaritas were great. Make sure you order enough food, though!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Matador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing