We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very, very comfortable and good food too” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very, very comfortable and good food too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Wayne Hotel and they were very enjoyable. The hotel, on the historic registry, was very nicely decorated in early Americana (beautiful chandeliers in lobby) and very clean. Rooms were spacious with a comfortable bed. Continental breakfast did not have any hot items, but the pastries were the best I’ve ever had, very light, flaky and not covered with sugar – great touch!! The hard boiled brown eggs in egg cups were a nice touch also. I had dinner in the hotel restaurant and although somewhat pricey, there was a nice selection of items and dinner was good. Wi-Fi reception was great and large conference room comfortable. Front desk loaned out an umbrella on a very rainy day which prevented me from being caught in a downpour on the way to a business meeting - many thanks! Within walking distance to the hotel are small shops and restaurants. The King of Prussia Mall is about a 20 minute drive away. Minor inconveniences were lack of parking at hotel around 6pm-7pm and the combined shampoo/conditioner provided in room was not of the quality I’d expect of this nice Hotel – I’ll bring my own shampoo and conditioner next time I stay here. Overall, a very nice stay at a reasonable price for this area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 34678Love2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    59
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
72
36
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The hotel came as a recommendation from the fine folks at Valley Forge Military Academy. Little did they tell me that this hotel was last updated in 1988? It seriously needs updating furniture wise as it reminds me of some Laura Ashley meets The Waltons and Falcon Crest re-runs taking place in real time. The food and service makes up for the lacking in quality rooms which should be lowered in price a few 10 spots.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWatchmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is lovely. I had a decent room but there was no mirror in it which made dressing a little difficult. My sister had a wonderful room in the front of the hotel but unfortunately they were jackhammering the street the entire night so she got no rest. The front desk staff were polite and accommodating but I must say that my experience with their restaurant and the men that serviced us was EXTREMELY disappointing to say the least. I have never dealt with such arrogant people in my entire life so I would steer anyone away from dining there.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the front as they are bigger but do ask if they are doing any construction because yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank platooo2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed here for 4 days while visiting the area. We both loved the antique feel of the place. Had a corner room on the 4th floor with lots so windows. It is not a place for families as there is no pool or anything for children. But for a couple's get away, this is a great place to stay. One good thing about the location is several great restaurants just around the corner. It is also located beside a grand old church with towering steeples that you can see from a distance so you know you are getting close when you are not familiar with the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

Honestly, this hotel could be better.

The rooms were immaculate (but too inexpensively furnished.) The bed comfortable. The bathrooms clean and functional (but small and not upscale. Just functional.)

The location is superb, especially if you are playing golf at Merion, or visiting Haverford or any other local college. You can walk to local restaurants, nail salon across street, Italian deli.

Free parking is limited. If you return and their personal lot is full you need to use the public pay-for-parking lot. Inconvenient.

And there is no easy pull up to the hotel, you need to truck your bags up a ramp, around a corner to get to the reception desk. I know that is a picky-sounding statement, but it would be an issue if I had more than just my rolling carry on.

Continental breakfast comes with the room, very standard yogurts, bananas, apples, juices, croissants and bagels. Coffee too. Just not exceptional. Could have been.

Decor is fantastic. Loved the flower arrangements, modern. Loved the spacious, upscale New York look of the entrance lobby and dining rooms. The bedrooms were new furniture, in the Williamsburg look.

I will return, as the location was perfect, the entire place was clean and efficient.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank othello1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently hosted a bridal shower for our future daughter in law. The restaurant was lovely with excellent food and a great wait staff. The accommodations in the hotel were great as well; highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We always stay at the Wayne when we come to the Philadelphia area. It is set right in the middle of a nice area of cute little shops and great restaurants, but is on the Main Line with easy access to Philadelphia. The hotel lobby and new restaurant are beautifully updated, and the rooms are a nice size with comfortable beds, and nice traditional décor. The staff are friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. The continental breakfast buffet includes a variety of delicious fresh pastries, fruit, cereals, and more other items than you would expect. We visited in the spring a few years ago when the plein-air art competition was going on, so we got to watch artists on every street corner painting, which was really interesting to see. We also went to the art museum that week end where we saw the prize winning finished pieces of art displayed. We visited the Barnes Collection on this same visit, which is worth a trip in Philadelphia in itself; the large collection of European Impressionistic art there is magnificent. Go see Valley Forge and the Liberty Bell when you are in the area, too.

Room Tip: Book ahead of time. The rooms fill up fast, especially in the late spring when families are coming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathyhappytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E. Lancaster Ave., Wayne, PA 19087
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Located just 18 miles west of Philadelphia on the affluent Main Line, the hotel is within walking distance to many restaurants, cafes, bars, boutique stores, spas, salons and a movie theater. Following a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from a wonderful new restaurant (opening September 2011), the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, forty inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and twelve off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing