We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaahhhhh”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
ny
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Aaahhhhh”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

A quick overnight and what a find,a bouquet hotel within walking distance of fine stores, minutes off 476, a stunning lobby, hip restaurant, large rooms, very bright with many lamps, lights in the large closet, large bathroom, thick soft towels, bright and super clean. Can't go wrong if you want cleanness, safety, and hip stylish surroundings.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beentheredonthatNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    63
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
76
36
14
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hotel just off villanova campus provides a hip alternative to Radner Hotel.
Completely re-done bar area is beautiful with sophisticated bar fare, and scene reminiscent of a more adult W Hotel.
Rooms well,appointed with high end touches
Staff pleasant
Only problem is limited parking

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistolepeete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been here several times over the past couple of years and it is so good to be back again. The Hotel has recently been renovated and looks fabulous. There is no "Grandma" look about this place. The rooms have been upgraded and are fresh and comfortable. We ate dinner and had Brunch at Paramour. Both meals were amazing. For Dinner we had everything from the Gingered butternut squash soup and flatbread to the scallops. The sliders and Chop Chop salad were very well done. We left full.

Brunch was wonderful as well. The appetizer bar is very well done and delicious! We had the Parmesan scramble, poached eggs, eggs Benedict and the omelet. The Bloody Mary bar was great, you can put whatever you want in it. The ambiance of the bistro bar and dinning room were perfect, we felt relaxed and did not want to leave.

Housekeeping was very accommodating and did a wonderful job with the room.

We had a great stay as usual and WILL be back, soon hopefully!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at the Wayne Hotel. It's very clean, comfortable and the staff, especially Tom at the front desk is very friendly and accommodating. He was knowledgeable about local dining places. He made reservations for us at Margaret Kuo's which has fantastic Chinese/Japanese food. Would recommend this hotel. The one downside is that there is no fitness center.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradyboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Ranches, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here just after Sandy because our downtown Philly hotel lost power. The wifi speed was decent but the breakfast in the morning was disappointing. It was cereal, a couple pastries, coffee and bananas. Our room was pretty clean, but it only had one very small window and the ceiling was vaulted and very low in some places ( I guess because of the roof line). Between the tiny window and this ceiling effect the room felt claustrophobic at times - even though the size of the room was fair. As other people have mentioned maid service is slow. The restaurant on property is pretty nice. I had three meals there and all were good albeit a little too salty. My fiancé got very sick the night before our checkout ( I think maybe from shellfish at a restaurant downtown), and was up all night sick. We were supposed to be out by 12 the day of checkout and that was just not possible. The front desk called no less than six times and the maids came to our door four times. Each time I said we were packing but that he really was not feeling well and I needed a little more time. They even offered to have someone "pack our things for us." After spending three nights and the hotel and eating lunch and two dinners in the restaurant I felt we had patronized the place to a significant enough extent to not be treated so abrasively. When we came downstairs to checkout the front desk clear unapologetically charged us a $50 late check out fee for the one hour and fourty-five minutes we stayed past their noon deadline. I think I would have accepted the harassing phone calls and door knocking OR the $50 fee, but together, this hotel has lost my business. Trying to get a sick person up and feeling better, pack a hotel room and fielding harassing phone calls was just a little too stressful for my last day there. Goodbye Wayne Hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jabentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mesa, az
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Wayne hotel is nice, kind of grandma like decorations, as another reviewer said. It was very clean, although the housekeeping does take all day to get finished. We were in and out several times one day, each time surprised to find that the room had still not been cleaned. Called the front desk and they said that housekeeping goes until 6PM so they would get to it. We ended up just asking for some new towels because the room was not dirty really. One really great feature is that the train station for Wayne is just up the hill from the hotel, a very easy walk in like 3 minutes. We flew to PHL airport, took the SEPTA train from the airport to 30th street station, then got on the Paoli/Thorndale line which stopped right at Wayne, for $10. Then, there are tons of restaurants that are an easy walk from the hotel. We went to the White dog cafe and Jules pizza and Chipotle. We were in Wayne for a wedding, so other meals were farther away so I won't mention the restaurants. Although I will mention that we had wedding brunch at the Radnor hotel which is about 1.5 miles away down Lancaster Avenue, we walked there and the brunch was huge and pretty good if you like a lot of breakfast meat and eggs and stuff. And after seeing the lobby of the Radnor, I was glad we had decided to stay at the Wayne since both hotels were booked for the wedding guests. The Radnor was typical big hotel, the Wayne has more charm and sophistication.
For our hotel rate, we had breakfast included, it was pastries, bagels, toast, jelly, dry cereals, whole fruits, tea and coffee. My husband is very particular about his coffee, so we walked to Gryphon coffee shop, just a couple of blocks away and had fantastic coffee and muffins. It is right next to a movie theater and we also went to a movie while we were in Wayne. It was nice to be out walking and see the movie theater and spontaneously decide to go to the movies.
The only thing strange about the town of Wayne is the stop lights with walking signals, it seems like you never get the go ahead to cross the street, so when you go for it, cars honk at you. There were a lot of hurried drivers in that town, lots of honking at each other.
The hotel is located on the "main line", which means that it parallels the train line, I was always wondering why people were referring to the main line all the time.

Room Tip: we were on the side with the church, so heard the bells and singing on Sunday morning, could be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveler232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Recently stayed at the Wayne Hotel for 2 nights as I had business nearby. The hotel is situated right in the town which is very quaint. I had expected a nicer room more based on the reviews. The traditional furnishings were more grandma-like than historic and the ivory bedspread was slightly stained so I wasn't sure if it was permanent or just not washed recently. The quality of the bedding was not as good as the mid-priced hotels. There is no coffee maker in the room so you must get coffee from the restaurant which opens at 6:30am for breakfast for the hotel guests only. It's basic continental but the croissants were amazing. There's no gym. There's free wifi but not really a proper business desk. The restaurant looked very good but I didn't dine there. I think it's nice for people visiting the Wayne area but when I go back there on business I'll be staying at more of a business hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 5 in Wayne
385 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Best Western Plus The Inn at Kin...
#2 of 16 in King of Prussia
934 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
790 reviews
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Property: Wayne Hotel
Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing