We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quaint hotel in a walkable town”
Review of Wayne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wayne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wayne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Wayne hotel is nice, kind of grandma like decorations, as another reviewer said. It was very clean, although the housekeeping does take all day to get finished. We were in and out several times one day, each time surprised to find that the room had still not been cleaned. Called the front desk and they said that housekeeping goes until 6PM so they would get to it. We ended up just asking for some new towels because the room was not dirty really. One really great feature is that the train station for Wayne is just up the hill from the hotel, a very easy walk in like 3 minutes. We flew to PHL airport, took the SEPTA train from the airport to 30th street station, then got on the Paoli/Thorndale line which stopped right at Wayne, for $10. Then, there are tons of restaurants that are an easy walk from the hotel. We went to the White dog cafe and Jules pizza and Chipotle. We were in Wayne for a wedding, so other meals were farther away so I won't mention the restaurants. Although I will mention that we had wedding brunch at the Radnor hotel which is about 1.5 miles away down Lancaster Avenue, we walked there and the brunch was huge and pretty good if you like a lot of breakfast meat and eggs and stuff. And after seeing the lobby of the Radnor, I was glad we had decided to stay at the Wayne since both hotels were booked for the wedding guests. The Radnor was typical big hotel, the Wayne has more charm and sophistication.
For our hotel rate, we had breakfast included, it was pastries, bagels, toast, jelly, dry cereals, whole fruits, tea and coffee. My husband is very particular about his coffee, so we walked to Gryphon coffee shop, just a couple of blocks away and had fantastic coffee and muffins. It is right next to a movie theater and we also went to a movie while we were in Wayne. It was nice to be out walking and see the movie theater and spontaneously decide to go to the movies.
The only thing strange about the town of Wayne is the stop lights with walking signals, it seems like you never get the go ahead to cross the street, so when you go for it, cars honk at you. There were a lot of hurried drivers in that town, lots of honking at each other.
The hotel is located on the "main line", which means that it parallels the train line, I was always wondering why people were referring to the main line all the time.

Room Tip: we were on the side with the church, so heard the bells and singing on Sunday morning, could be a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler232323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 251 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Recently stayed at the Wayne Hotel for 2 nights as I had business nearby. The hotel is situated right in the town which is very quaint. I had expected a nicer room more based on the reviews. The traditional furnishings were more grandma-like than historic and the ivory bedspread was slightly stained so I wasn't sure if it was permanent or just not washed recently. The quality of the bedding was not as good as the mid-priced hotels. There is no coffee maker in the room so you must get coffee from the restaurant which opens at 6:30am for breakfast for the hotel guests only. It's basic continental but the croissants were amazing. There's no gym. There's free wifi but not really a proper business desk. The restaurant looked very good but I didn't dine there. I think it's nice for people visiting the Wayne area but when I go back there on business I'll be staying at more of a business hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouiseThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Staid there for 1 night, was very good. Nie atmosphere with a Laura Ashley style interior. Can also recommend the Restaurant on the balcony, good Steaks available on an extra menu. Rooms are fairly Big with nice interior. Service was very friendly. Breakfast could have been more from a European perspective. Can recommend this place

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank Travel4Fun022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, bar and restuarant. Lovely little town with bars and restuarants within walking distance. I was on business in radnor and it was perfect for this being only a few minutes away by car. Look forward to coming back

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarlosPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed at the Wayne Hotel for a business trip recently. It's a very classy place with traditional decor and architecture. The historic building has been maintained very well. My room was small but the furnishings and bed were excellent. The bathroom was updated and had a nice big rain shower. The only downside was the lack of a fitness center/swimming pool. The staff suggested I could use the Radnor Hotel's fitness center that is a mile away, but it was not really convenient. Overall, it was a different but very good experience from the usual chain business hotels.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Free continental breakfast in the Paramour restaurant was reasonably good. I didn't try the dinner at the restaurant because the area around the hotel has plenty of restaurants. Downtown Wayne is a great place to walk around with several bars, restaurants, shops and the Wayne movie theater.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GSR07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I booked the Wayne Hotel for our wedding's out of town guests, and booked ourselves into the hotel's Askin Suite. The hotel is beautiful and our guests loved staying there, with its laid-back, classy ambience, gorgeous architecture, and the fun town of Wayne just steps away.

The Askin Suite was the perfect place for the bride and groom to stay, as it provided plenty of room for the hair and makeup and elegant and sophisticated backdrops for pre-wedding photographs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My Wife and I stayed at the Wayne Hotel Twice.
The First time was to get our son moved into Villanova & the Second time was last weekend for Parents Weekend. Both times we had a great really relaxing time which was needed after the many trips up to his 4th floor dorm room!
The Location is Great only a block away from the main drag "Wayne Ave" where all the restaurants are and shops are.
The Staff at the Hotel are very responsive to your needs, the rooms are Clean the Showers are Nice ample Hot Water and the 2 rooms we stayed in were big enough to fit our Queen Size Inflatable bed for our son to stay with us when he wanted too.
The Only Knock was the pull out sleeper sofa, glad we had the inflatable!
The other good thing about the location was the ease of getting back and forth to the University AND the "King Of Prussia Mall."
Really Look Forward to going back to vist our son the Hotel Feels Like Home!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wayne
1.1 mi away
Radnor Hotel
Radnor Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wayne
414 reviews
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Philadelphia Devon
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn at King of Prussia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of Prussia
Hyatt House Philadelphia/King of...
#1 of 16 in King of Prussia
884 reviews
4.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia-Valley Forge
4.4 mi away
Philadelphia Marriott West
Philadelphia Marriott West
#1 of 1 in West Conshohocken
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wayne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wayne Hotel

Address: 139 E Lancaster Ave, Wayne, PA 19087-3596
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Wayne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Wayne
Price Range: $117 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wayne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wayne Hotel, which opened in 1906, is listed in the National Register of Historic Places. Local entrepreneur Stephen W. Bajus purchased the property over 25 years ago and now, after a complete refurbishment, the hotel has been re-invented to offer accommodations with amenities expected by the modern traveler. Apart from its wonderful new restaurant, the Wayne Hotel offers a private room for dining and meetings, 40 inviting guest rooms including two luxury suites and 14 off-site luxury furnished apartments for longer term stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wayne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing